We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice backyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa Rica Backpackers
amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice backyard”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

To make it short, a average backpacker hostel with everything you need:
- public kitchen
- free wifi and internet
- big comunal area
- TV lounge
- little restaurant and bar
- free lockers inside the dorm
What makes it very nice to me is the very big garden with swimming pool, hammocks, bonfire and sitting area. Just perfect to hang around and to chat to your fellow travelers.
The only downside: The beds are not the best and the furniture looks a bit shabby.
But the next time in San Jose I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karsten b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    125
    92
    39
    34
See reviews for
12
90
107
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2012

First thing... location sucks. If you'd like to sleep past 630am than this place may not be for you. There is a train that passes by the hostel what seemed like every 5 minutes starting REALLY early in the morning. It sounded like an alarm clock you just couldn't shut off!

The beds are alright... nothing bad, nothing great either. We didn't check out the bar, but the restaurant was pretty yummy... the taco con queso was YUMMY -- not a taco at all, but sooo good!

The property itself is pretty sweet -- I love the pool and lounging area for everyone to hangout -- its a really nice escape from the city.

Wifi -- doesn't really exist, unless you're at the restaurant. Airport transfer costs as much as a taxi, if not a bit more...

Nothing terrible, but I would probably go elsewhere if I had to stay at San Jose again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginaPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is a decent hostel, most things about it are average. The computers/internet suck hard. Staff are excellent. Bar is average, beds are average, toilets are average, location is average... you get the idea. Not very memorable but useful if you're just passing through.

Room Tip: Room two has decent wifi, other than that there's no signal anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insertnamehere31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The hostel itself is nice. The common areas are great, but our bed in the downstairs private room had bedbugs and my girlfriend is full on bites now. We even used a sleeping bag cause it was cold, so now we have to get the bugs off the bag aswell. I really can't recomend unless you like to itch.

Thuogh i have to say, the staff was VERY nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeSCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed two separate nights at this hostel as we were travelling through San Jose. They have free bus station pick up if you call before catching your bus and tell them the time and terminal. We stayed in a dorm for 4 persons and also a dorm for 8 persons. The bunkbeds are old style but the mattresses are comfy. You are given linen and a blanket and have to make your own bed. There is a personal locker for each person in the dorm and they give you a lock with your room key. The hostel is about 5-10 minutes walk from the Avenida Central. They have a small swimming pool and a nice kitchen. The staff are very helpful and well informed about bus departures.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emelie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed at Costa Rica Backpackers for 4 nights and I have to stay that was enough. We are not coming back. Since then we have found alternative accommodation in San Jose. The rooms are in serious need of maintenance. Room 11, the only one with a private bathroom is really runned down with a hole on the wall, etc. The hostel shared kitchen also needs a serious makeover. It is poorly equipped and has cockroaches every well, disgusting. I didn't feel like cooking there at all. This really had an impact on our budget as we ended up eating out most of the time or ordering food at the onsite restaurant called mochila. They do really nice food by the way. The prices are reasonable.
We also found the service average. We basically think there are much nicer places in San Jose for the same price. However if you fancy the social aspect and pool and don't care about the rooms and shared kitchen then maybe this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Any room except number 11 and the ones downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

You know how sometimes it seems that what can go wrong will? That was our experience at San Jose Backpakers. We arrived late afternoon and the receptionist treated us as if we were a nuisance. Our room was dark and damp. The bathroom was clean and the common areas were as well. After about 15 minutes in our room we were told we would have to move to another room in the bottom of the house. This room was darker still and not worth $12.50USD a night. The bathroom smelled like urine and was dirty. The internet was very slow even when I was the only one on. Two out of the four computers didn’t work. We tried to make the most of our time and went out for dinner. That night, we were unable to sleep because of the noise and smell of smoke from the employees who smoked in the non smoking area. I got up to complain at midnight and there was no manager on duty. The person behind the desk was a traveler as well. He apologized but said there was nothing he could do. We eventually had to go across the street to sleep and pay another night in a different hotel. It was much better and we got a good nights rest. I recommend San Jose Hostel to those traveling alone and who prefer to spend their time in the common areas and don’t mind noise and the smell of smoke in their room.

Room Tip: the rooms on the bottom floor of the house have little to no windows. Upstairs is probably your best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikaavellaneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,417 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 76 in San Jose
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 82 in San Jose
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 82 in San Jose
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 108 in San Jose Metro
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Property: Costa Rica Backpackers
Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing