We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice people, shame about the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Rica Backpackers
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice people, shame about the noise”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I liked this hostel because there was great service and friendly people. The downsides were the loud music playing until 11pm some nights, and the sound of the train every morning around 5am! Not great if you want to sleep late or are really tired.
Kitchen is big and plenty of hammocks to relax in!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beegirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    125
    92
    39
    34
See reviews for
12
90
107
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, and were woken up between 4 and 5 each morning by trains passing by (very close by) the hostel. The room was simple, but clean. The bathrooms left a lot to be desired - they weren't awful, but weren't very clean. The communal kitchen was always crowded, and wasn't kept very clean. They do have free coffee, and decent wi-fi. The staff was nice overall, except in the bar/restaurant where it seemed like serving us was kind of an imposition for them. The shuttle to/from the airport is about $25, and the hostel is at least a 30 min drive from the airport. There are lots of other options for hostels closer to the airport with cheaper (or free) shuttles. We were planning on returning to this hostel for a night or two before leaving Costa Rica, but cancelled our reservation and are now staying somewhere closer to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Really nice place, clean rooms, lovely garden area with outdoor bar and large pool. Staff were friendly enough. Good drink offers at Happy Hour. Offers classes/lessons in Yoga/Spanish/Cooking. Also has computers with internet access and TV lounge area. Only popped by here, location was fine, out of the centre but within walking distance to centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have booked private room, but they put me to the dorm, but I was there alone so finally private. Its not far away from center - 8min walk. The worst thing about this place is near railway thats goes on the ordinary street with traffic jam, so the train horns couple of times per hour. If you want to sleeping in the morning its almost impossible!!!

Room Tip: Dont sleep in the back house, its near the railroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Offer quite an expensive airport shuttle service at US$24 (other hostels around $11) and had to wait quite a long time after I had arrived until the shuttle actually turned up, event though I was the only person. The guy who the hostel had assigned to meet me at the gate asked for a tip on top of the price of the shuttle and then rode in the shuttle with me back to the hostel.

Beds are OK. Everybody seems to go to bed ridiculously early - 2 older men in my dorm were asleep by 7pm one night I was there.

Kitchen and bar area quite fun and good place to meet people. No power sockets in the dorms so have to charge phones / cameras in the communal areas.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgwilson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Good location for walk into central area.
Seems like place has tendency to overbook rooms. We booked private room through hostel bookers, but they didn't have this available so put us in a dorm room with two four bunk beds in the downstairs area. This was private for us so didn't have to do dorms. On the last day there it was very busy as again rooms had been overbooked and people were shuttled to different areas.
Breakfast was charged extra on top of room price so we ate out.
Place was clean and beds comfy. Bathroom clean with hot water.
Lots of hammocks around central pool.
There was a policy of quiet after 10pm, this wasn't respected however as bar is right above the downstairs rooms and loud music/talking was going on past midnight. Good for party hostellers, we prefer quieter places.
Summary: Good enough for short stay, good location and clean. Pretty noisy and overbooks rooms.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Before going into details about the hostel itself, I need to mention that I arranged a pick up from the airport with the hostel prior to arriving in San Jose because my Spanish was non-existent. In the email they sent me they said to only go with [insert name here] who will be holding up a sign with your name on it, and only go in the hostel-emblazoned van. Well, neither did I meet the intended gentleman at the airport nor was I ascorted to the hostel van - rather a different guy led me to an unmarked car where another man said he'd take me to the hostel. When i asked where the original guy who was supposed to pick me up was, he pulled out his cell phone which had my name and flight number displayed in a text message on the screen. Call me paranoid but I wasn't very consoled by this. And on top of that the man with the sign then asked for a tip after I was handed over to mystery man number two. It all worked out ok in the end, I got to the hostel safely, but for me arriving as a solo female traveller in a foreign country it was a bit stressful after a long flight.

I stayed here for just one night and found it to be clean enough (if not a little dismal in the downstairs rooms), but the bar had a good happy hour going on in the evening and it was a great atmosphere to meet and greet other travellers. They have a nice little pool and a foozeball table, and I had a lot of fun for the short time I was there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank angie_travelpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 76 in San Jose
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 82 in San Jose
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 82 in San Jose
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Property: Costa Rica Backpackers
Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing