We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was cool and laid back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa Rica Backpackers
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was cool and laid back”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The staff here were decent.
The garden was very comfortable and laid back with hammocks and such. The kitchen was nice to have but it could be difficult to get some space in during peak hours. My partner is gluten free and the kitchen was pretty dirty on a regular basis. Our room was in decent shape and clean. The train did go by very early in the morning. the restaurant on site is not the quickest service you will ever get but the food was alright. Drinking here was fun and drink specials were awesome.
Some one did get shot or at least shot at very early one morning, down the road but still close enough to hear the shots, the fleeing vehicle and the sirens.

Room Tip: I think that the rooms downstairs might not hear the train as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    120
    90
    39
    32
See reviews for
11
86
103
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had a very nice couple of days here. met nice people. The place offers what you need. Location is good. Best part is that you don't feel like in a big city when inside the Costa Rica Backpackers. Only when trying to sleep you can be disturbed by the occasional train passing close enough so you can hear it. Wery nice garden area. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Private room not much more expensive then dorm when two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brbasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I liked this hostel because there was great service and friendly people. The downsides were the loud music playing until 11pm some nights, and the sound of the train every morning around 5am! Not great if you want to sleep late or are really tired.
Kitchen is big and plenty of hammocks to relax in!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beegirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, and were woken up between 4 and 5 each morning by trains passing by (very close by) the hostel. The room was simple, but clean. The bathrooms left a lot to be desired - they weren't awful, but weren't very clean. The communal kitchen was always crowded, and wasn't kept very clean. They do have free coffee, and decent wi-fi. The staff was nice overall, except in the bar/restaurant where it seemed like serving us was kind of an imposition for them. The shuttle to/from the airport is about $25, and the hostel is at least a 30 min drive from the airport. There are lots of other options for hostels closer to the airport with cheaper (or free) shuttles. We were planning on returning to this hostel for a night or two before leaving Costa Rica, but cancelled our reservation and are now staying somewhere closer to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Really nice place, clean rooms, lovely garden area with outdoor bar and large pool. Staff were friendly enough. Good drink offers at Happy Hour. Offers classes/lessons in Yoga/Spanish/Cooking. Also has computers with internet access and TV lounge area. Only popped by here, location was fine, out of the centre but within walking distance to centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have booked private room, but they put me to the dorm, but I was there alone so finally private. Its not far away from center - 8min walk. The worst thing about this place is near railway thats goes on the ordinary street with traffic jam, so the train horns couple of times per hour. If you want to sleeping in the morning its almost impossible!!!

Room Tip: Dont sleep in the back house, its near the railroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Offer quite an expensive airport shuttle service at US$24 (other hostels around $11) and had to wait quite a long time after I had arrived until the shuttle actually turned up, event though I was the only person. The guy who the hostel had assigned to meet me at the gate asked for a tip on top of the price of the shuttle and then rode in the shuttle with me back to the hostel.

Beds are OK. Everybody seems to go to bed ridiculously early - 2 older men in my dorm were asleep by 7pm one night I was there.

Kitchen and bar area quite fun and good place to meet people. No power sockets in the dorms so have to charge phones / cameras in the communal areas.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgwilson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.6 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 79 in San Jose
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 79 in San Jose
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#4 of 105 in San Jose Metro
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#6 of 79 in San Jose
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#4 of 79 in San Jose
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Yoses Hostel
Casa Yoses Hostel
#16 of 79 in San Jose
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Property: Costa Rica Backpackers
Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing