We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pura vida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Rica Backpackers
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pura vida”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was staying there 3 times, perfect location, nice chilling area, very kind staff, nice backpackers from all over the world, familiar and very helpful staff! Just the core of pura vida
Gracias chicos y hasta luego

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    122
    90
    39
    32
See reviews for
11
89
104
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cahuita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Costa Rica Backpackers in a good choice when staying in San Jose for a day or two. The is a lot going on, nice size kitchen, small hostel bar near the kitchen and a restaurant at the back of the property. Lack of smoking areas is the only problem if you are a smoker.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

good atmosphere, desk staff extremely helpful at all hours, bathrooms clean and spacious, beds comfortable. outdoor area good place to hang out :) if you need a place to stay for a night or two en route to elsewhere in the island and youre on a budget then this is a good sociable option. free coffee! 30 mins drive from san jose airport though which is actually not in san jose itself!

Room Tip: we had downstairs room, next to large bathroom always clean and free. Other reviews said about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My experience at Costa Rica Backpackers was Spectacular. I arrived in San Jose for my first backpacking trip and I immediately fell in love with this special place. Their shuttle service picked me up at the airport and safely brought me to hostel so I didn't have to deal with the taxi guys. At the hostel, my dorm room was clean and very comfortable. The hostel has a huge outdoor hammock garden with a swimming pool, daybeds to tan in, and full of great people from all around the world that I got to meet. It also had lots of computers free for me to use, great wifi connection throughout the hostel, a big kitchen to have dinner parties in all together, and also a restaurant and a bar with fun party music and cool people. One of the best features was they have this free Info Center where you can plan your tours and trips all over the country. I was able to reserve a trip into the rainforest, to the Volcanoes and white-water rafting, the guy working in there helped me so much and knows all of the best places to go and things to experience in Costa Rica. They really have everything you could want from a Backpackers hostel at this place and it was always so full of cool people. A must visit place in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Excellent and cheap dorm rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I was informed that my dorm room was $14 instead of $12 because they put me in a female only dorm (rip off!), which makes no sense form them to charge more for. I had to return multiple times to my room to check if I had bedding on my dorm bed. At night I was informed by someone who just checked into the same dorm that I had to go to the front to grab bedding myself. Multiple people (myself included!!) got bed bugs. The staff told me they already knew about the problem, but them why hadn't they done anything about it yet.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

For me, Costa Rica Backpackers is more like a well-prices hotel as opposed to a hostel. The amenities are great, especially the large pool and garden area! The restaurant on property is also wonderful--delicious food for a great price! I recommend the pancakes and the chicken kebab. What impressed me most about Backpackers is there is staff constantly cleaning and making sure the hostel is impeccably clean for the guests. I would absolutely recommend this hostel for anyone looking for a place to stay in San José. If you want, splurge a little for the private rooms...they are wonderful! The only downside to Backpackers, as many have noted, is the train that runs behind the building, but this is not the fault of the hostel and they are working to make it better. Don't be driven away by this small inconvenience because Costa Rica Backpackers is the place to be in San José!

Room Tip: Splurge for a twin or double private if you can! Worth the price for some privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Costa Rica Backpackers is by far the best place to stay in the city! Definitely a backpacker hostel, so its really easy to meet fellow travelers here! It is located in a great location walking distance to all of the main attractions (parks, museums, national theater, etc.) but not located DIRECTLY downtown where it can get a bit sketchy at night.
The place really beautiful with lots of tropical plants and lots of hammocks/lounging areas to chill out and take a nap in during the day. It also has a very nice in the ground swimming pool perfect for cooling off in during a hot afternoon.
I stayed in a dorm room for $12/night and the beds were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms/showers were also very clean. I noticed that there were staff constantly cleaning the property/bathrooms so things never got dirty.
There is also a restaurant on site with super good local food (casados, pasta, curry, burgers) for really cheap prices. I had the Caribbean chicken and it was super tasty!
Best part about this place is that you don't have to leave to go to the bar! There is a small outdoor bar with really good happy hour prices and very chill bartenders.
They also have someone working reception 24/7, which is very convenient, so you don't have to plan around quite hours or worry about checking out before the morning receptionist gets in.
I thought the staff at the hostel were all EXCELLENT! Steve at reception was really great at check-in and gave me a map of the city and directions on how to get to the downtown area. Justin in the tour office helped me plan my whole week of traveling, booked tours for me, gave me great hostel recommendations, and priceless travel advice.
I also loved the free coffee all day!
I am definitely coming back to Costa Rica Backpackers the next time I am in San Jose! Really good chill vibes and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.6 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 82 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 82 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 109 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#6 of 82 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#4 of 82 in San Jose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Yoses Hostel
Casa Yoses Hostel
#15 of 82 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Property: Costa Rica Backpackers
Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing