We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great Vibe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Costa Rica Backpackers
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great atmosphere, lovely place to hang out and relax, and the food at the cafe behind the hostel is delicious! The only thing I would improve is the bathrooms/showers could be cleaner. I appreciated the friendly staff and access to lots of good information about Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hostel is NO.1 hostel I've been stay. 今迄に泊まったバックパッカーの中で1番よかった。
There is a big pool and big kitchen .  大きなプールと大きなキッチン、PCもテレビも、何でもある。
Great garden make you relax and happy. 広い庭でゆっくり休め、楽しい時間が過ごせる。
All of stuff are very kind and helpfull.  スタッフはとても親切で、ツアーデスクもある。
8 minutes walk from city center, not so far. 中心部から8分ほど。パナマへのバス停も近い。
Great value ! こんなに安く泊まれて、申し訳ないくらい!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oyaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thanks to every body! I nice place and a good staff!
I'll recommed that backpackers to people travelling in Costa Rica.
On my own, i won't stay too many days in San Jose: Costa Rica has so many beautiful places to see!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff was lovely with me, experienced high client service. Due to a misunderstanding with the bookings, they had to kindly ask me to move bedrooms- in order to compensate all my hassle moving my things around, they put me in a bedroom just for me for the rest of my stay. That to me is top client service. Also, both the night gentleman and the lady during the day went above and beyond to help me book my bus journeys etc. It was my first time ever in a hostal, couldn't have started any better! Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was staying there 3 times, perfect location, nice chilling area, very kind staff, nice backpackers from all over the world, familiar and very helpful staff! Just the core of pura vida
Gracias chicos y hasta luego

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Costa Rica Backpackers in a good choice when staying in San Jose for a day or two. The is a lot going on, nice size kitchen, small hostel bar near the kitchen and a restaurant at the back of the property. Lack of smoking areas is the only problem if you are a smoker.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

good atmosphere, desk staff extremely helpful at all hours, bathrooms clean and spacious, beds comfortable. outdoor area good place to hang out :) if you need a place to stay for a night or two en route to elsewhere in the island and youre on a budget then this is a good sociable option. free coffee! 30 mins drive from san jose airport though which is actually not in san jose itself!

Room Tip: we had downstairs room, next to large bathroom always clean and free. Other reviews said about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 78 in San Jose
300 reviews
0.8 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 80 in San Jose
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#4 of 80 in San Jose
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms
0.5 mi away
Selina San Jose
Selina San Jose
#11 of 80 in San Jose
44 reviews
2.6 mi away
Capital Boutique Hostel
Capital Boutique Hostel
#9 of 80 in San Jose
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 80 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: £10 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing