We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedbugs :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa Rica Backpackers
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bedbugs :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but in the end we rather should have skipped the stop in San José. First the area seemed to be ok and the pool and common area looked nice BUT the shower/toilets and the kitchen were kind of dirty. There was one toilet/shower for at least 2 dorms and some privates. We stayed at a private double room (nr 99) which we thought was ok. Unfortunately we got bitten all over our body by bedbugs :( They must have been in the matress cause my friend had bites on her face, too. As we noticed the bites on the busride to the pacific coast (as bugbites appear later on the skin) we sent an email to the staff who apologized and promised to clean the room. To get rid of the bedbugs we had to to wash and dry all our stuff including the backpacks which cost us around 100$. A week later the bites are still there even though we had to take medicine and antibiotics. So this was a really bad experience!! :(

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4Maren13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRBackpackers, Propietario at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello!
The day you checked out, the room was sold for more days. The day we received your email about it we talked to the guests inside the room and they said that they had no problems with bed bugs. We switch them into a different room for precaution and we hire a person to fumigate the room. The specialist said that the room was clean and that people bring those in their backpacks while traveling.
We apologize for the trouble this situation might have caused you but the room is clean and probably you transport them from the place before.
Again, we apologize for the situation but we can assure you it was not from here.
We hope you enjoyed your visit to Costa Rica.
Sincerely,
Costa Rica Backpackers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    120
    90
    39
    32
See reviews for
11
86
103
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Amazing from booking to departure, we managed to accidentally book an extra night and we're offered a free night another time if we needed it. Perfect mix of chilled out, lively and full of awesome people - staff and patrons alike. A++++ Would book again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nordydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRBackpackers, Director de Recepción at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for your comments!
We hope your trip to Costa Rica was amazing and full of adventure!
Hope to see you again!
Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Small room no breakfast private room expensive next to the train. Wifi realy slow

34 dollars for private its not good. Only one toilet for 40 people and you have to chare the shower.

Its easyer to find abother and chraper one in front

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmiddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRBackpackers, Director General at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your comments.
We have over 22 bathrooms in the hostel. There are maps of the hostel in the rooms and in the common areas.
The rooms are big and comfortables.
$34 per night is the standard price for a private room.
If you are looking for something cheaper you can find them right in the middle of San José with no quality in their services or the rooms. The hotel you describe across the street is rented by hours, if that´s what you are looking for...
Breakfast can be bought at the check in for $3 (continental breakfast: eggs, toasts, jam, orange juice and coffee) We also have more options in the restaurant, the more expensive about $5.
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but I can assure we are not the bad hostel that you described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great times at this very relaxing place. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Great people and good times. Their airport shuttle service was fairly priced and the driver was waiting for me as I exited the terminal. Super friendly (Francisco) and drive with him set the tone for a great stay.

Room Tip: no way around the fact that the location is by the train tracks, but not that big of a deal. Nice po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRBackpackers, Director General at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your very nice comments!
Francisco and the rest of the team are really glad people like you value our hard work.
Thank you so much and we hope your visit to Costa Rica was filled with adventures and excitement.
Best regards,
Costa Rica Backpackers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nice hostel, the staff were very friendly and always happy to help. The common areas were good for relaxing. I stayed for one night after flying in and it was a good first stop in Costa Rica. There is a nice bar/restaurant where you can buy a packed breakfast if you're leaving early in the morning

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRBackpackers, Director General at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking time to show us what you liked.
We are really glad to hear those great things.
We work hard to make our guests feel comfortable.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent workers..very friendly..nice to talk to and very helpful..good shuttle service to airport..kitchen is disgustingly dirty though...sinks plugged...many dishes dirty all the time...cockroachesbin kitchen...very fun atmosphere...would be excellent hostel if kitchen was kept clean by staff...my impression was that the staff members stay out of kitchen area and let guests handle it but they dont even provide enough scrub pads...its just gross with the sibks backing up...you have to stay drunk or you will notice how awful it is

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRBackpackers, Gerente at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi!
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about the things we need to improve.
We have 4 cleaning ladies + a supervisor all day long in charge of the cleanness of the hostel.
They are 24/7 checking all things out of place.
The kitchen is the place they spend more time, the guests are constantly using it, so they are constantly cleaning it.
We apologize if you went there and it was dirty but I can assure you it was not like that for a long time.
We use cleaning control sheets in all common areas so we can check how often they clean each space (we also have cameras)
Thank you for your comments, we hope you had a great time in the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed in the backpackers for one night only as I had to catch a bus north early the next morning. I would have definatey stayed longer if I could have.

I was having transport issues and had 3 options fall through on me even after being confirmed. Daniela at the tourism desk was AMAZING! She kept searching and didnt give up on trying to find me affordable transport with a surf board. I also spoke to other guests who she had helped alot!

The guys at reception were great too, so helpful and always available (they have someone at reception 24 hours!). I felt very welcome here. The place was also clean and my bed was comfy.

There is a great pool with outside area, communal kitchen, bar and fun vibe. Definately going to stay there on my way out of San Jose. Good value.

The train is pretty loud and its close by, but for me it wasnt such a issue. May be for you if you a light sleeper.

Thanks to the staff for all your help. You made a stressful situation easy to handle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRBackpackers, Gerente at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for your great comments!
We will let Daniela know your great words about her!
We hope to have you here again!
Thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.6 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.8 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#4 of 105 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#6 of 79 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#4 of 79 in San Jose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Yoses Hostel
Casa Yoses Hostel
#16 of 79 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Property: Costa Rica Backpackers
Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing