We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great bargain, great people!”
Review of Mi Casa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mi Casa Hostel
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Mi Casa Hostel [reservations@micasahostel.com] is a great bargain.
I stayed a week in May 2013 and will go back for a longer stay in a few months. Located in a mostly residential neighborhood just north of Sabana Park, it has clean rooms, a restful garden and great staff. The double rooms with bath come in two slightly different sizes. The larger ones have a double bed and a stacked bunk bed. The smaller ones have just the double bed. I like the stacked bunks to store stuff. The ensuite bathrooms are spotless, and have plenty of hot water. Rooms on the second floor open onto a long balcony that overlooks the garden. Those on the first floor open into the garden. The garden has a few tables on the grass. On one side of the garden is a bar area; on the other is a spot with comfy chairs and a hammock. Both areas are under roof and shady. A huge mango tree and lush vegetation surround the garden. The kitchen has a stove, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, dishes and the usual utensils. Mornings from 7:30 (8:00 on Sunday) the ever-smiling Marialita makes pancakes; you get two. There is a pool table, plenty of lounging space, a TV and computers with an active Internet connection, and a small multi-lingual library, with books, magazines and tour brochures. The ever-friendly and helpful Karina, Michael, Vinicio and Jose will help you with logistics and suggestions.
One note, though: there is a soccer field just over the wall from the hostel and the activity can get pretty rowdy at times. What would a trip to Latin America be without soccer? Enjoy it.
Five minutes away (out the door, turn left, up to the corner and turn right and walk half a block) is a convenience store (next to the dress shop) with the usual: sandwiches, drinks, munchies. For more serious purchases, it’s a longer walk…maybe 10 minutes. Go out the door, turn left, walk up to the main street, turn left again and walk down to the main intersection. (Note: that ‘main drag’ is the Pan-American Highway, aka Calle 42.) Cross the intersection and go left. A short distance down the street is Mas x Menas market.
The bus to the airport stops right in front of Mas x Menas market. The ones marked Arajuela go to the airport. Karina says to take only those that say Arajuela-Aeroporto, but I took one that simply said Arajuela---after checking with driver that it did in fact go to the airport---and got to the airport in about 35 minutes. The fare was about 500 Colones, MUCH better than the $25 a cab will charge. I have heard that just about any bus from the airport that says San Jose will eventually get to Paseo Colon a very major street back a few blocks from Mas x Menas, but I’d check with the staff at the hostel.
Eats? I saw a sign advertising a breakfast and lunch place down the street (to the right as you exit the hostel), but I never looked for it. Other eats? Out the door, turn left, down to the street, left again and find a burger joint and RostiPollos. RostiPollos did not impress me, but if you want a great place to eat, keep going up to that main drag (Calle 42), cross it, turn right and walk down to Soda Tapia. It’s open 24/7 and has great food. Try an arreglado. Imagine a round hamburger roll make out of a many layered croissant-like pastry sandwiching a whole mix of things, including refried beans. There are half a dozen versions. Also try cas (either con agua, or con leche) for a refreshing guava-like fruit drink. Their arroz con pollo plate is also a winner. And, they DO have ice cream. There are lots of eating places further down Calle 42, including Pollo Campero, a Central American version of Kentucky Fried Chicken, if you crave salt and fat.
You can get downtown San Jose easily from Mi Casa. Go back up to the main drag, Calle 42, turn right and walk to the big street, Paseo Colon. Turn down Paseo Colon and go down a few blocks. There will be bus stops on the right side of the street. The bus labeled Sabana-Cementeria will take you down town for 190 Colones. It goes straight down Paseo Colon, crosses Calle Central, goes a few more blocks, and then turns right at about Calle 7. Get off anywhere along Paseo Colon. Paseo Colon is one way and I never did find where the bus stops that does the trip in reverse. You can get back to where you started however. Just hop on the Sabana-Cementeria bus going in the same direction you took to get downtown and it will eventually get back to Calle 42 just a block or so south of Paseo Colon. It stops at the end of a street that dead ends at Calle 42. The park is right across the street.
By the way, you can take a shortcut through the Parque Sabana going to and from Mi Casa.
So, Mi Casa is a great spot, close to buses and food, and with good, clean rooms, a friendly atmosphere, and great people. I swapped travel tips and did my hammock thing for 7 days. I will go back. If you have questions, get in touch.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms open onto a long balcony with stairs that lead down to the garden. Room 24 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surflifeenyoy, General Manager at Mi Casa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hello Bob,

Greetings from Mi Casa Hostel!

We are very thankful for your lovely review.

It was our pleasure to assist you in anything you needed and we are very happy that you had a nice time in our hostel, your home in Costa Rica, and we look forward to see you again in a few months.

If there is anything we can help you with, please let us know.

Best regards,

Federico de Mezerville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

My go to hostel in San Jose for it's convenient location, good prices, and friendly staff. Always clean and comfortable, the people who work there really make you feel at home! They are updating some of the rooms now and the new mattresses are GREAT.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelHuguet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were there for only one night. But we enjoyed the modern room and the nice bathroom. They have a nice, small garden and breakfast is included.
We missed a place to go to in the evening because there is no nice bar around. The supermarket is close by. They have a community kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I've stayed at Mi Casa Hostel a handful of times now, and each experience is just as great as the last. It's located in a safe and convenient neighborhood, close to the airport, and right on the edge of downtown San José. La Sabana, the largest park in San José, is only a couple blocks away and offers beautiful views, tons of soccer fields, and anything else you might need for a nice afternoon.

The staff at Mi Casa Hostel are always courteous and attentive, and the rooms are clean and spacious. For the price, you can't do better.

Whether you're planning to stay in San José for awhile, or just spending a night or two on either end of your trip, Mi Casa Hostel is the perfect place to stay.

Go there! You can thank me later.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I just came back from staying at mi casa, and I am so happy!
They charged me $13 for the dorm which is not bad and it included sheets towels wifi breakfast pool table and smiles.
Any questions I had they would help me and made sure that i had a good experience. I met a lot of nice people who stayed there as well. It really felt like "mi casa".

The rooms were clean except for the occasional ant or spider, there was lots of hot water and it was quiet. Waking up in the dorm was nice because you could hear the birds outside and feel the sun. The court yard was comfortable and I enjoyed having breakfast and dinner alongside the turtles.
The huge park across the street is beautiful and quiet. All the buses run just 100 meters up the street and its super close to the mas o menos supermarket.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed our first night in San Jose at Mi Casa Hostel. It was easy to find (just across from the staduim and park), the staff spoke great English and were very helpful with directions and attraction reccomendations. The room was large, clean and comfortable, but our window faced the street so at night we were subjected to street lights and neighborhood commotion (dogs barking, people shouting, car alarms, etc.). We shared a bathroom with other residents but overall it was clean. Breakfast was served on the open patio and consisted of pancakes, fruit and juice. Other guests were very friendly and we enjoyed swapping stories over coffee. The hostel was spacious; people were passed out on the communial couches, hammocks and lounge chairs. The back enclosed patio was relaxing, even the local turtle enjoyed saying goodmorning to everyone at breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug_mg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My wife and i had to stay one night in San Jose because of an early flight and we got recommendations about this place. An ok price in a safe neighborhood. The place is close to the airport so that's a bonus for some people.
Problem is, room was not clean at all, I think they just didn't clean it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimrod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 78 in San Jose
510 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#2 of 80 in San Jose
48 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casa 69
Hotel Casa 69
#3 of 68 in San Jose
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relax Hostel
Relax Hostel
#10 of 80 in San Jose
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Selina San Jose
Selina San Jose
#11 of 80 in San Jose
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mi Casa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Casa Hostel

Address: Sabana Norte | esquina oeste del ICE Sabana 175 metros norte, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: £31 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mi Casa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Casa Hostal Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing