We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, location close to bus stations”
Review of Hostel Pangea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Pangea
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Looking at the previous reviews for this place, I´m honestly not sure why so many people rated it so poorly! I returned for a second night after my initial stay becuase I was so comfortable! Not only was this place within walking distance of the two bus terminals I needed (Caribeno and Atlantico) but I found the beds themselves to be very comfortable. The dorms are relatively small and the bathrooms are clean. This hostel has a nice bar/restaurant on top that serves pretty good, though slightly expensive, food. It is said to be somewhat of a party place, but I only saw people have a few drinks and then go to bed or go out to an actual bar. Most of the staff was helpful enough and one guy even helped me find a quiet place to conduct a phone interview while I was there. Overall, I have no real complaints and definitely think you should give this place a chance. I would go back if I were ever in San Jose again.

Room Tip: Dorm room 3 faces the street and is quieter than 1 and 2 which back up onto the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeistyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

An ideal place to stay for one night max.

I stayed in the private female dorm, which was fine. I like that there's a key card to get into the room so I not only felt safe personally but also felt pretty safe leaving my non-valuable belongings in the room. However, my only issue was that the rooms faced the back of the bar so I had to try to fall asleep to the loud music being played until midnight.

The shared bathroom was ok. The water pressure is weak at times so don't expect to have a great shower.

The hang out area consists of about 8 computers, an outdoor patio, a pool table and bar, which also serves decent food. It was easy to meet and socialize with people around the pool table.

The shuttle to the airport ($12 if more than 1 person, $22 for a single person) is quite convenient when arriving or leaving Costa Rica. It's cheaper than a taxi. However, if you don't have a suitcase or anything too heavy, you could potentially take a bus (I took a Directo to Alajuela) for about 500 colones to the airport and it takes about the same time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canhazburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Accidently went there( taxi dropped me off) at the WRONG place.) Decided to stay cause the price was ok. However a BIG mistake. A very poor mannered,indifferent desk man awaited me.. The security gate man was nice although. I was assigned a bed and a locker that was taken already. Spoke with the staff about another bed and he blatently lied... His comment, 'There are no more beds" The place had numerous empty rooms( I understand why now) let alone beds!!! The Gatekeeper got me a bed eventually. thanks!
THeir food and beer prices were out-of -sight Even for San Jose! THis place felt like a prison:fortunately I was paroled out the next morning into freedom. The place looks and reads well in guide books and THEIR web site,but do yourself a favor and avoid it.
As a hostel owner myself,I learned what not to do by staying here. Bad personal experience. but a great business experience! Next time,sleeping in the nearby Morazon PArk with crackheads roaming about could be a better option

Room Tip: Just Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staff are rude to say the least, the barman only cared about what music he was choosing on his computer, any reasonable request such as "could I get a beer?" was met with contempt and rudeness. Very expensive, far too many signs everywhere telling you how you are not entitled to anything unless you pay for it etc. The place had absolutely no atmosphere as a result of the staff and the rules so nothing exciting took place. My advice is to stay away, and judging by nearly all the other reviews written here, I'm not the only one thinking this. Bad mistake.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EddieDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I arrived from Monteverde and pulled up at this hostel as it's closest to the bus station for the Caribbean transfers! Arriving at 11am, we asked the staff if there were any busses heading to our chosen town today. They said no you just missed the last one. So we reluctantly paid for a nights accommodation and walked around to the bus station to book tickets for the following morning. Alas, we found out there were several more busses heading to the town that afternoon. Happily, we walked back to the hostel (still not checked in as it was only 11:20am) and they REFUSED TO REFUND US. The staff member called the owner and he wouldn't speak to me directly, just said it's been put through the till and that's that.

Very upset at how we were treated by the non sympathetic staff. Be careful with the information they provide as they very clearly want you to book with their in-house travel agent.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AllyandChris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here one night. Was okay. A bit too big to be like other hostels. Staff weren't very helpful with ideas, they try to charge for everything, no kitchen to cook, someone tried to cut my lock off a locker. Wifi is good, location is good. Beds, bathrooms were okay. Overall was okay, but nothing special. No events on as far as I could tell and was too cold to use the pool, which didn't have many places to sit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericainottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A good starting point hostel for Costa Rica, and nicely situated. There are plenty of amenities, a good bar, superb bathrooms and the rooms are ok (if not a little bit chilly at night). The only downsize is that you have to pay for EVERYTHING.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_de_Bock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.7 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#17 of 84 in San Jose
382 reviews
1.1 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 84 in San Jose
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selina San Jose
Selina San Jose
#8 of 84 in San Jose
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#5 of 125 in San Jose Metro
399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#4 of 84 in San Jose
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Relax Hostel
Relax Hostel
#10 of 84 in San Jose
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pangea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pangea

Address: Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 84 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: £9 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Pangea 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Pangea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pangea Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing