We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Pangea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Pangea
Southern Cal
1 review
“Good night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

I read other bad reviews about pangea and i was shocked. I had an awesome time at this hostel. Its a hostel...so i didnt expect four star treatment like these other people. The area was dodgy but its what i expected for downtown San Jose. i guess the staff was rude but i didnt care. one thing is that they really try to scare you out of public transportation in order for you to take their 17 dollar shuttle to your next destination. Take the public transportation ! its longer but way cheap and part of the experience. the bar scene, food, and pool were great. it was a sweet way for me and my friend to start and finish our trip to Costa Rica. its definately for young college students.

  • Liked — The people you meet at the bar
  • Disliked — The staffs tactics
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rpmbookeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    94
    125
    111
    150
See reviews for
11
136
142
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
enfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

The rudest staff I´ve encountered to date. OK, so they speak English, but the authoritarian attitude takes some beating. PR skills are zero.

The rooms are charmless and basic. I itched all night, plus the bathrooms are dire. There are no inside windows, and the place is joyless and devoid of any charm. The floors and stairs are reminiscent of a prison. The opposite of homely in every respect.

The food is pretty good and there are plenty of PCs, thus my 2 star grading, not 1.

Never again.

  • Liked — PC facilities and food
  • Disliked — Rooms and staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marktEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

On my second stop in San Jose, I decided to try out Pangea, highly recommended in the guide book. Well, they don't have 3 properties anymore. It's only one. There is no mechanical bull as well folks. There is a pool although I wasn't there long enough to use it. Again, there was "only a $28 room" left. It was again one of the smallest rooms i've ever seen but at least it didn't smell moldy this time! I checked out the place and it the bar looked nice, the place was clean, they had tons of internet access and a pool table. The computers were locked down though so you couldn't connect your camera to transfer photos, I was cordially advised that I could do that from the internet cafe across the street. The bathrooms were tidy. (Costa Rica doesn't have a toilet paper problem interestingly, most places have tons of it). At the bar there was a tv and a very loungy atmosphere. The view was ok, nothing special. It was a bit more of a party place here, which is fun. I didn't stay long enough but i'm sure it was a nice place in the day too. Staff weren't rude to me...but they were curt at times. It was nicely painted and decorated.

  • Liked — th
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sneekymongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

I totally regret ever wasting my time or money at hostel pangea. We've never had to deal with such a RUDE staff-- we'd were as friendly as possible and still couldn't understand their unwarranted attitude. The facilities are barren and filthy and before you know it, you're paying $35 for a bunkbed and use of the hall bathroom, where you can take an ice shower. I advise not to trust anything their website (or any guide with which they advertise through) lists as amenities. The shuttle bus to and from the airport costs TWICE as much as a regular taxi. And they do not offer free 10 minute calls to the US/Canada-- although most information sites about hostel pangea lie and say otherwise. They will pull money out of you in unexpected taxes, fees, and BS costs... It would have ended up cheaper staying at a decent place.
So, upon our return home, I wrote an honest, professional review of Hostel Pangea on another hostel guide website. A day later, Hostel Pangea wrote an aggressive and insulting email to my personal email account. They obviously blame the customer for their countless shortcomings (which are quite obvious in reading these reviews). We've stayed at countless hostels all over the world and NEVER have I had such a negative experience than with Hotel Pangea.

  • Liked — bar/ rooftop view
  • Disliked — everything else!!! especially the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maestraZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

Their website was pretty accurate. The other trip advisor reviews about rude staff are also somewhat accurate, although a few of the older staffers seemed genuinely concerned that my friend and I were taken care of.
The bar and restaurant were very nice.
The whole place is surrounded by barbed wire and there's a man who guards the front door (you have to show your wristband to gain access).
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to people who are sensitive to noise: it's not really very quite.

  • Liked — The central-San Jose location and their computers.
  • Disliked — How large it was/the party that was alway going on.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank studenttraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
129 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

Okay, so the good things:
Great rooftop bar upstairs, supercool view.
Excellent vibe, good crowd if you'd like to meet people.
Tiny, but lovely swimming pool to lounge around or to take a dip in.
Free internet.
Location during day: not too far a walk from the city center.

And now the bad things:
Horrible staff attitude. Very snooty for some reason I couldn't grasp. Take a chill pill, guys.
Nickle and diming: I realize that this is a backpacker's hostel, but come on.
The rooms have no soundproofing, so be prepared to stay up if the neighbors choose to do so.
Location during night: step out only if you'd like to know what a mugging feels like.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BaggageClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

We stayed in Pangea last night and were so dissappointed that we checked out this morning and went to another hostel.

Why didn´t we like it?

Reception staff was very rude to us at check-in (we´re a couple and not young girls; they got lots of attention by the male staff who thinks that they are the world)

Paying $28 for a dbl room without bathroom and then find a tiny little box, no fan, no ventilation, no bin, no shelves, just a bed. What a load of money for a crappy room! (they leave the room open after cleaning and before check-in, we figured out why: after a few hours strolling through town we came back to our room and the smell of previous occupants hit us in the face when we opened the door)

No kitchen use, while they boost about it on their website and the only place you can consume your own food/drinks is the pool, the garden is used as an parking area!

Food is expensive, just go to one of the 3 nice places on your left when you walk out of the hostel.

Money making seem to be their main goal; washing ONLY $9!! playing pool ONLY $2 for 30min; towels ONLY $1, you´ve got to be kiddin'!!

Free 10-calls only to America & Canada, what a load of ....... Are they the only people they cater for, how about the rest of the world!!!

On check-out we mentioned what we did not like about the room and instead of an listening ear and "oh, I am sorry to hear this, but I will pass this on to our Management" the arrogant staff member just said: " We've never had complaints before, you are the first". Sure, I don´t think they have ever visited this site then.

Maybe a nice place when you are travelling by yourself, but I would not recommend it if you are travelling with more persons.

  • Liked — Internet (when it worked!)
  • Disliked — Rude staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chickadelanaranja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 104 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#33 of 79 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.2 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#5 of 79 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pangea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pangea

Property: Hostel Pangea
Address: Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Pangea 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Pangea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pangea Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing