We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable but quiet place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A comfortable but quiet place to stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed here for a few nights on various ocasions whilst traveling in Costa Rica. the main reason was that the project i was volunteering with had mentioned this place being easy to get to from the airport and also reasonably priced ($12 a night). The good things were that it was clean, the staff were friendly, the laundry service was great ($8 for one basket) and there were a good ammount of rooms. I found the place quite quiet though. I guess it is situated in a quieter place of town but despite the number of rooms and staying on both weekdays and weekends, it was never full. The price is good, as it includes breakfast (pancakes) and there is a small kitchen which guests can use to the own preference throughout the day. The computer area is small, and the facilities are ok but one time i stayed the wifi was down. However this was resolved by the tome i returned in the evening from a tour. The tours that the hostel offer are great, there is a wide range and they are very good at organizing these or guests. We ordered a taxi to leave for the airport on the day of our departure, and were a little annoyed that we had to remind them about this in the morning, (maybe a lack of communication between staff on night and day shifts). we paid the lady who was working in the evening, and we weren't made aware that it was one of the day staff who would be taking us to the airport, when we asked her where our taxi was she did'nt know we had booked and pre-paid at the desk the night before, so a little bit hit and miss however overall it was decent and provided everything we needed during the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissViki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    65
    35
    17
    11
See reviews for
10
51
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night and couldn't wait to get out of the place! The hostel itself is clean and good value, however there was a group of people who kept the whole hostel awake till early hours of the morning screaming yelling banging on doors and running around drunk. 2 guests said something with no apologies from the group but instead more noise - no one from management did a thing about it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexhutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I only stayed one night at Gaudy's but that was enough. The place is clean and somehow quiet, the staff is somehow friendly, but not really welcoming and they seemed to be overcharged with the work they had to do. That's maybe all ok for one night, but the room they put me in was really dissapointing. I booked a room for two people as, regarding to their booking site on the internet, they did not have single rooms. The room turned out to not have a window to open, no fan, a super rustic bunk bed, outside bathroom and the piece of furniture in there would have fit four times into my suitcase. All together with the booking fees, which of course they added on top of the total, I paid a little more than $35. Pretty pricey for a hostel, even in Costa Rica you get better for cheaper.
If you decide to stay there, just stay in the dorms, it's about the same just cheaper.
Be aware of the lonely hippie chick which seemed to be parked in the hostel talking a lot of nonsens just to talk to somebody.
One positive thing, I felt safe there even they let you know at the counter that you should keep your values all the time with you.

Room Tip: Be aware of the Arenal room, it just seems to be squeezed into the building to get an extra buck out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I've stayed in several of the private rooms and in the dorms. The dorms can get crowded with little floor space and people coming and going at all hours, some considerate, some not. The bathrooms are adequate mostly but you don't get a towel unless you are in a private room. The public spaces are roomy and okay. Light for reading is poor. The kitchen is good enough to prepare a simple meal but the refrigerator door is coming off. Private rooms vary in amenities (beds are not so hot). There is wi fi and two computers you can use. One of the computers is not really working.
My real problem is the airport transportation scam the owner is running. If two or more people need a ride to the airport at the same time and want to share the owner charges the full price for each person. Currently $24. If you don't have a lot of bags take a local bus (abourt $1.50) or if you are two or more sharing get your own taxi. You will come out ahead.
$8 for a small basket of laundry wash and dry, also pricey. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful. Gaudy's is a good location for me and so I continue to stay there when I'm in San Jose. Included is Daily breakfast of two pancakes with some chopped fruit and there's coffee and tea. You can walk to a grocery, try Mas X Menos which has more variety and is larger than AM/PM.

Room Tip: stay away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

great for budget stay inside san jose
I planned a trip over there
very friendly staff,
internet, common kitchen
good place to exchange info with guests
watch out for valuables in the dormitory.
overall I enjoyed

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilamate, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Everyone on the staff was very helpful giving directions and answering my questions. Maria was especially great. The place is clean and centrally located. They had a lot of space in their common areas. Pool table, computers to use, tv room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarmonyRosales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Super helpful staff, great place to stay in san jose. Safe and super clean, near grocery store, banks and restaurants. Best value we've found in San Jose. Lots of advice on travel and things to do as well as help with bus schedules.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adsceptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 77 in San Jose
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel

Property: Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel
Address: Ave. 5, Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636 | near Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 83 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a safe neighborhood of San Jsoe, a few steps of: 3 different banks, supermarkets open untill midnight, main street in san jose, all fast food restaurants (KFC, taco bell, wendys, subway...)2 minutes taxi ride from coca cola bus station (buses to pacif zone), ticabus (buses to all central america), sabana park (largest park in san jose)As you can see, you will all what you need close by.We also offer: free breakfast, internet, wifi, parking,kitchen, dvds to watch, cooffe and tea all day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudy`s Backpacker Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing