We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Clean, nice rooms with a great breakfast. Staff is nice. 3 internet stations. Easy walking distance to the parks, museums, shopping and downtown. Small and secure Casino on site. Secured area to park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3s2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    166
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
49
133
41
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

i just got back from coats rica and staid 2 days in this hotel
the location is central , the rooms are nice and clean , free wi -fi in the loby .
the food is good
all around a very nice hotel
the only downfall is the noisy air condition

Room Tip: i was in room 314 it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiri_hirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sleep Inn hotel on arrival and departure from San Jose and had a quite bad experience. Rooms are standard and clean, but on the second day we did not have running water at all and could not even take a shower before leaving for a long trip. When we asked the reception for some sort of compensation they just said "sorry, the manager is not here there is nothing we can do". We are not talking of lack of hot water, but complete shortage of water. The breakfast is very poor, luckily the waiter was very nice and kind. We asked reception a recommendation of restaurant for dinner and he suggested us to eat at the hotel since according to him there was not much else walking distance and my friend and I were quite tired. I strongly recommend not to eat there, the food was bad and the ambience even worse (in fact the restaurant is in a casino and due to the type of guests and area my friend and I - two girls - even felt uncomfortable sitting there ). I am not sure about alternatives options for San Jose but I would definitely explore them

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We spent a night here before we joint a Costa Rica tour and two nights at end of tour. Liked the look and style of the hotel 5 star for the staff and cleanliness , casino visit was short dint feel to comfortable .. Electric gates made it feel prison like but ideal to be able to was the city areas small bar just at gates although looked run down very friendly locals no problems but would not spend to much time walking about after 10. One star of the hotel was the waiter at breakfast ...

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Mr. Audrey,

Thank you for your kindly comments, we are glad that you like our hotel, as you said the hotel its ideal to visit the city, the reason of the electric doors it to control the access to the parking lot, because we are in the heart of the city, so many people wants to parking their cars at the hotel to take a walk, thanks to our good location.

I will let know to Alejandro and Isabel, from the breakfast area about your comments, they will feel happy about this, thank you.

Best regards,

Alejandro Saborío Montero.
Marketing and Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for 7 days in February 2014 and were happy with the service and location. It is within walking distance to the Gold, Jade and National Museums as well as the National Theater, Central Park and several nice churches. The free breakfast buffet is good and they change the main entree daily as well as having fruit, waffles, cereal, eggs and rice and beans.
The staff was excellent and very helpful. All were very nice, but do not look to the desk to extend your stay as they are limited by their system to only one rate. Use Choicehotels. com. Tours can be arranged in the lobby and pickups are right outside the hotel.
The Airport-Hotel shuttle is confusing in that the website states scheduled shuttle, but it means that you have to make an international call to schedule pickup at the airport upon arrival or the day before to go to the airport for departure. If not, you pay the $30 cab fare. There should be an e-mail address to arrange the shuttle.
There is also a 24 hr. restaurant and casino located within the hotel security zone and several nice restaurants, bakerys and supermarkets close by. Also there is an international calling office on the far side of the park if your cell will not work there.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevator because there is lots of traffic by tour groups checking in and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Mr. John,

We really apreciate your comments and that you like our hotel, as you say, our location is excellent because is close to the most important cultural attractions and have so many things to do for entertaiment.
Our shuttle has an schedule because we are a green hotel, so we tried to keep the shuttle at the hotel if there is no transportations reserved, in order to help the environment, but you can make your shuttle reservations to info@sleepinnsanjose.com and you going to receive a fast confirmation.

Thank you for your comments, hope to see you here on your next visit to San José.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you need to be downtown, this is the best place for the money. American quality 3 star, 4 star by CR standards. Good free BK, airport shuttle, wifi (bring your own ethernet cord--they'll charge you & bucks to use theirs.

Room Tip: 3rd floor toward the center of the buiding facing south, very quiet. Do not stay in any room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Good morning Mr. Tomas,

Thank you for your comments, its excellent to know you like our hotel, and our breakfast, and our shuttle and all our services.

Now we have Wi/Fi internet access for free with 12 megas speed, we are strange about you mentioned about the wire connection, so we check with our front desk staff in order to offer the ethernet cable for free, so your next time in case you need a wire connection will be another amenitie for our customers, thank you and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed only one night in the hotel. Good value for money, very friendly staff, big, very well equipped rooms, and the free transfer to the airport is priceless!
The only negative thing is, that the shower didn't work

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for your comments, it is important to us to know you like our hotel, service and staff. Our apologies about the shower, this is a special situation with your room and I promise we already fix it.

Hope to see you soon at San José.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas

Property: Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
Address: Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y 11 | Costado Este del Parque Morazan, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sleep Inn San Jose Down town is conveniently located in the heart of the city, only fifteen kilometers from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. It is only a short distance from tourist attractions like the Teatro Nacional, Museo de Jade, Museo de Oro, parks that are part of our national heritage, and many others.Our guests can start the day with a complimentary full American buffet breakfast, from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
San Jose Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn San Jose Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing