We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and complete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 6 February 2009

This hotel had all the comforts of home. Very clean, complete, and comfortable. Close to museums, parks, and central district. It also has its own casino and is close to several others. Great television sets and cable coverage.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cincorobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2008

Okay hotel as long as you do not need any help from reception staff. It is located within a couple of blocks of the downtown commercial area. The property has continuous security surveillance and free parking area.

The rooms were ok, more or less what you could expect of some normal business hotel. The bathroom was also fine. TV was available in the room and internet access just in the common areas. They claim to have a shuttle to the airport but it turns out that it is only at very limited hours. Apart from that, the atmosphere at the hotel was a little strange, as there were mostly old men together with young ladies, most likely hookers.

We arrived around 6 pm and our room was not yet ready, we had to wait for 10 minutes. We asked in the reservation for a king size bed and got two queen beds. We tried to send a couple of postcards and asked for help to the front desk but the receptionist simply said that they did not sell postcards and we had to go the day after to the closest post office. As we were flying out of the country early in the morning we asked him but refused to do anything. We asked front desk for a wake up call next morning at 5am because taking a flight and they completely forgot or simply did not give the call. They offer complimentary breakfast and in theory a cup of coffee at the lobby, but when leaving at 5:30am they had run out of coffee and receptionist just say sorry …

In summary, an impressive total lack of service and general bad attitude of the front desk staff. Quite pricey hotel for what they offer and if returning again to San Jose I would rather choose to go back to the Best Western Irazu, where I stayed the first night, than to this one. At the end the area this hotel is located is quite unsafe during the night and you can not even going out from the hotel premises.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank delfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

This hotel is PERFECT! Not an expensive 5 star place, but for the money is it perfect! Great busienss and tourist hotel. Very clean, and clean to US standards. Convenient location to downtown area, plenty to do within walking distance. Breakfast included, and very good not the typical crap thrown out on a fly ridden table; fresh eggs, fruit, cereals, juice (not watered down), very nice. The front desk staff very nice and the bellman (Tomas) goes out of his way to assist (without a hand held out!). Casino adjacent to hotel if you are into such. The rooms very modern, clean, quiet, great hot water, good cable TV with plenty of movie channels. You cannot go wrong here!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WorldWiseTrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon...just came to San Jose to go whitewater rafting. The hotel was really clean, hotel staff were polite and the casino/restuarant being onsite was a big plus! The casino was fun and the food at the restaurant was inexpensive and yummy. We ended up spending our last night in San Jose after they cancelled our flight home and we returned to the Sleep Inn. I would definitely return to the hotel on our next trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sopcc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Very nice hotel in a great location. Walk to National Theatre and Jade Museum and Gold Museum.
NON SMOKING casino in hotel and larger casino adjacent.
Nice breakfast room and comfortable beds. Attentive and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Scotty-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

We booked the Sleep Inn hotel for our first 2 days in San Jose because the Marriott Courtyard wasn't available (where we stayed after here).

And we were extremely surprised how nice this hotel is!

There are mixed reviews on trip advisor, but we had a truly first class experience. For the price this is a fantastic hotel!!!

It's in a good location in the heart of downtown, with the security needed given that this is Costa Rica, and free secure parking.

The rooms are very nice, to the same standards of Marriott Courtyard which was a big surprise.

The only possible fault I could say, was not at all the hotels fault, but there were about 10 American teenagers staying there who did make a fair bit of noise in the hall knocking on each others door and acting in the typical fashion.

Overall, if we go back to San Jose we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

I stayed in San Jose one night to make my flight to the US the following morning. A friend who stayed in San Jose before me described it as "the strangest City she had ever seen." She was being nice. San Jose is like a big ghetto. I can say that because I live in New York City and there are plently of ghettos here. A ghetto doesn't mean the people are bad, or mean, it just means the infrastructue is lacking, and uninspired. Basically a blighted area that people with money and power don't care about. The fact that the hotel is surrouned by an electronic fence, lends to my assertion. I arrived at night, so I suppose there may be nice things there, but I didn't see any of it.

The hotel was new and clean. I chose this hotel so I could use frequent flyer miles, so I didn't have to pay cash. It also had an airport shuttle included which was important to me. The inclusive breakfast was quite good.

The only and main problem was that the "non-smoking" room smelled of smoke. The front desk claimed there were no additional rooms, so I had to suffer. They were nice enough to come spray in the room, but nothing can cover up days of smoking. It was a joke.

The food in the casino was very expensive, but I was hungry. A shrimp ceasar salad was $20. This was not Paris, London or New York, so that was pretty ridiculous!!! It was probably so expensive because they know that guests will not leave the "compound."

The casino was smoke filled. It was pretty gross, but I guess that's par for the course outside of major US cities.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank harlemvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#19 of 77 in San Jose
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#15 of 77 in San Jose
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#20 of 77 in San Jose
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas

Address: Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y 11 | Costado Este del Parque Morazan, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £60 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sleep Inn San Jose Down town is conveniently located in the heart of the city, only fifteen kilometers from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. It is only a short distance from tourist attractions like the Teatro Nacional, Museo de Jade, Museo de Oro, parks that are part of our national heritage, and many others.Our guests can start the day with a complimentary full American buffet breakfast, from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
San Jose Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn San Jose Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing