We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Free Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Santa Clarita, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Free Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet offered a very good selection. The room was ok and clean but a little small. Might be somewhat overpriced. The free airport shuttle and free local calls along with in-room wifi were very much appreciated. Front desk staff arranged a taxi for us the next morning to the bus terminal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaClarita_CAJakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are very happy to hear that your stay with us full your expectations. You are more than welcome any time at your new home in San Jose, Costa Rica.

Our team will be pleased to serve you again.

Best Regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    140
    83
    20
    20
See reviews for
55
104
38
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Don’t trust Barcelo Palma Real in San Jose CR to provide a shuttle from the airport, even though their web site says they offer it. We requested a shuttle pickup via email 27 days before our arrival. Our flight number and arrival time was included on the email, and also included a request for confirmation that they had received the e-mail. There was no response. I called the hotel five days before our arrival, and the woman we spoke to was not able to confirm that they had an airport pickup scheduled for us. I asked her to schedule a pickup, and provided the flight information. She said she would do it, but obviously it didn’t happen.

When we arrived in San Jose, no shuttle was waiting, and we were put on endless hold after calling the hotel. We had to find and pay for a cab ourselves in an intense lightning storm. We asked to speak to the manager several times, but he was never available. We requested to be reimbursed for $23 cab fare, but this request was also ignored.

As for the hotel accommodations, they were good, but the lack of the pickup really ticked us off. Also, a week after booking via AARP/Expedia, I had emailed the hotel requesting confirmation that we were indeed booked, but received no response to that e-mail either.

I have never posted a travel review until now…but nobody else should have to put up with the non-responsiveness that we experienced from Barcelo Palma Real.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, I want to thank your comments in this forum. Make sure your comments will be taken very seriously and take corrective measures so as not to present again a situation in the future.

I ask forgiveness on the situation presented. I not be advise of this situation to serve you personally as our policy is open doors to all our customers.

Ones again please revive our most sincerely apologies in this case.

Best Regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

OVERVIEW:
This is our second time staying at a Barceló hotel chain, and to the most evident degree, Barceló Palma Real in San Jose, Costa Rica represents the Barceló standard of excellence benchmark in every aspect. Adorned with contemporary paintings, and coupled with plants and flower arrangements, a refined ambiance overwhelms the lobby which offers a welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and well appointed; and all the hotel staff are accommodating to all our needs.

In contrast, we are delighted with the service and quality we received during our stay. We look forward staying at this hotel again next time we visit San Jose, CR.

TRAVEL DATES:
July-2012

LOCATION:
Barceló Palma Real is located in Sabana Norte district of San Jose; a few blocks from Estadio Nacional (National Stadium). Depending on traffic, downtown San Jose is a 5-10 minute cab ride, while San Jose (SJO) International Airport is approximately 20 minutes away. (MGRS Location: 16P HS 17820 – 00246) (Elevation: 3725 feet)

POSITIVE NOTES:
The rooms are clean and immaculate, decorated with cherry oak furniture, hardwood floors, and marble countertops. The complimentary breakfast buffet was exceptional, with ample selection of traditional dish to choose from. All employees are friendly and helpful, always willing to help and ensure that we have a pleasant stay. Most hotel employees are fluent in English. Javier, the daytime concierge was extremely helpful. He is the first and last employee we’ve interacted during our stay. He is a true ambassador of Barceló Palma Real hotel.

NEGATIVE NOTES:
One of the online booking agencies advertised that the hotel has a guest laundry facility. On the contrary, although the hotel has a laundry service, they do not have a guest laundry facility. I prefer doing my own laundry to avoid the usual high fees from hotel laundry service.

AMENITIES:
Continental Breakfast; Free Wi-Fi; Flat Screen TV; Coffee Maker; Mini-Bar; Hairdryer; Clock/Radio; In-room Safe; Hardwood Floors; On-Site Restaurant; Fitness Center; Casino; Laundry Service; Daily Housekeeping.

NIGHTLY RATE:
Low $80s (taxes included)

DISCOUNT ACCEPTED:
None. After browsing the internet thru online booking agencies, I decided to book directly with Barceló since they offer a better deal. In addition, when booking directly with Barceló, although a credit card is required to secure your reservations, no upfront payment is necessary. They do not charge your credit card until your final checkout.

HELPFUL TIP:
1) If you need transportation to downtown San Jose or any nearby towns, there’s plenty of minivan tour operators situated at the front of the hotel. The average rate is $30/hour; however, most drivers are willing to bargain for lower rates, especially on slow days.
2) Avoid the rooms facing the busy street. We stayed in Room 207. Our window was facing the inner courtyard; therefore, we had a quiet and peaceful time during our stay.
3) Take advantage of the free airport shuttle service. You will save approximately $30 (one way) for a taxi fare. It seems like the hotel subcontracts the same tour operators I mentioned on Tip #1 for shuttle service. Therefore, if you do not take advantage of this service, you will end up paying the same shuttle service out of your own pocket. A two day advance notice is mandatory when booking for the free arrival/departure airport shuttle service.
4) If you have any tourist related inquiries, I suggest speaking to Javier, the daytime concierge. Javier speaks fluent English since he’s spent time living in California. He is a seasoned veteran of the industry. He can guide you to the right direction towards an enjoyable time in Costa Rica.

NOTES:
Please click the green “YES” button below if you find this review helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravellingTroubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We have seen your comments on Trip Advisor and we're very happy to hear that you have a good time with us.

We look forward to serving you in the very near future and please let me know ahead of their imminent arrival to assist you personally.

Thanks



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The Barcelo is a great hotel!! You will not be disappointed, I have absolutely nothing bad to say about the staff (who are all bilingual), facilities or service We stayed for 5 nights, were greeted with a Costa Rican drink and escorted smoothly to our rooom with Jose, the AWESOME bellman/concierge. Jose helped us get acclimated, ensured we were comfortable and remembered our names and greeted us everytime we entered or exited the hotel.
We had to switch rooms because a group of children were there having way too much fun. The staff quickly and happily changed our room that same night to an equally nice room and made sure we were happy with the change.
Javier, the bellman/concierge was AWESOME in setting up our tours, giving great recommendations adn even creating a beach day for us around our schedule. KUDOS to Javier, he wasalso super friendly and personable. Jose, Javier, Christian (at the frint desk) all made us feel like family from the time we arrived until we left.
As icing on the cake the food was OUTSTANDING!! We eagerly looked forward to breakfast each morning and ate dinner one night also.
Thank you, Barcelo for an awesome vacation!!! I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: ALL ROOMS ARE AWESOME! You get either a city or gagrden view - both are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, We are extremely happy and excited to provide quality service and comfort as you experiment.

Be more than welcome on your next trip to San Jose, Costa Rica to your house.

The entire staff of the Hotel will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Again thank you very much



Carlos Ruiz
General Manager
Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here the night we arrived in Costa Rica. It is possible that we just got a room that was not renovated yet but the room was very outdated. It smelled musty and stale. The staff was very kind and very helpful when we needed anything. The breakfast in the morning was good as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Friend of Trip Advisor

On behave of all the team of Barceló Palma Real thanks for your comment , after the last visit to our Hotel.

I have shared your comments with our Housekeeper and our Maintenance Manager to check the rooms and that incidents such as this indicates not present in the future again.

Let me first thank you for your comment about the service and breakfast and expose our sincere apologies for the detail of the room.

On your next visit to Costa Rica please consider us again in order to attend to personally.

Thanks,



Carlos Ruiz
General Manager
Barcelo Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived in Costa Rica very late to start our honeymoon. We first swung over to pick up our rental car and then had to find our way to the Barcelo Palma Real. Honestly, the location from the airport was not ideal. One of the main roads was under construction and our GPS had a hard time getting us there without using that road. It was late enough that traffic was pretty much non-existant, so we arrived without incident. Lucky! Check-in was easy, but not exceptionally friendly. We didn't know where to park and ended up getting yelled at by a parking attendant in front of the casino (literally... yelling, arms flying. Oops). A tip for those staying here: you can't park along the street in front of the casino. You sort of sandwich in to the tiny space between the flag poles. Not a big deal, just good info.

The room itself was a good size and looked as if it had recently been updated. The floors were nice and it was decorated well. I struggled with using the key to get the lights turned on, but eventually figured it out. Absolutely operator error on that one. The space was clean, bathroom was functional, and the bed was pretty comfortable.

The included breakfast buffet was actually really good. The staff looked at us suspiciously for most of the time we ate, and we were one of only three tables there. The area we sat in had a lovely breeze from outside and had a really nice atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious. The cheese choices were a big hit. In fact, my husband spent the rest of our 9 days in Costa Rica trying to find one of the cheeses we ate at Barcelo to buy and bring home. No luck.

Check-out was also easy and simple. Our room had been pre-paid so we didn't expect much trouble. For being there less than 12 hours, it suited us just fine. The only real disappointment was the quiet disconcerting attitudes of every staff member we met. Not at all what we exected or experienced elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detdanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Friend of Trip Advisor,

We appreciate your comments of last June 22, 2012. Your comments really help us in performing our daily dutys, we hope to serve you again in our Hotel.

I have reviewed with each department manager your comments and take the necessary corrections, especially that of the friendliness of our staff at the front desk.

Again I invite you to visit us again and again to experience our service and changes.

Best reagards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director Hotel Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The lobby, main floor, and restaurant areas are beautifully contemporary - with paintings, sculptures, beautiful plants and flower arrangements. The staff were congenial and extremely helpful for non Spanish speakers. The restaurant serves a delightful breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, pastries, hot dishes and omelet service, The cheese bread is a must try also. The lunch/ dinner menu covers most tastes and just as delicious. The room we had was large and comfortable. It was very clean, as we were there for a week our maid was very good about working around our schedule of going to breakfast and organizing to go out for the day. The Sabana Norte is a park about 200meters south. Everyday there were runners in the park, at the east end is the Museum of Modern Art. About 300meters north of the hotel is atiny commerical area with a tasty little bakery and small convenience store -bottle water, chips,etc.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may want an interior wall room, one that is on the street can have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brinda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank each of your comments, your stay at our hotel was for a week and the experience was pleasant, to share our facilities and some good treatment of our employees is the least that we can offer you. We are available when you want to come back and visit us. We appreciate your suggestion made during your stay, it will be taken into account to improve our service provided to all guests.

Best Regards,



Daniel Navas
General Manager
Barcelo Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#42 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Apartotel Suites Cristina
#18 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Real Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Property: Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Address: AV 9 Calle 50 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 250, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palma Real Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from San Jose center, the capital of Costa Rica, and only 15 minutes by car from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Furthermore, it provides easy access to the main business, shopping and leisure areas in the capital. In 2010 the hotel was renovated and presently boasts very modern facilities and many services, especially for guests visiting San Jose on business. The hotel has a fully-equipped business center with internet access, photocopiers, fax, messenger service and plane ticket confirmation service. In addition, it has comfortable and spacious rooms that will make your stay relaxing and pleasurable. The Palma Real hotel has obtained the Sustainability Certificate, which helps to preserve one of the most virgin destinations in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palma Real Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Palma Real Hotel San Jose
Barcelo San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing