We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I felt safe at this apartment-hotel when I had some medical work done. It is near the hospital and clinics and my husband and I didn't want to be isolated in the mountains at a recovery facility. We had a full size refrigerator, stove and microwave in the kitchenette, which we prefered to make our meals. A grocery store is about .5 miles away. It is not in a tourist neighborhood, but a bank and Burger King are about .25 mi away.
Arturo is bilingual and very helpful arranging the free transfers from the airport, some medical tests and taxi rides to where we wanted to go. We were upgraded to the Master Suite at no extra charge! We feel all of the staff is friendly and would definitely return if ever staying in San Jose again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonDy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

My husband and I spent our last night in Costa Rica at Plaza Real. Arturo, at the front desk, was more than helpful. We arrived around 9pm and had to have a shuttle to the airport at 4:30am the next day. He helped us find food to order, and actually ordered it for us, and arranged the shuttle as well. The room was more than adequate with a wonderful shower and beautiful wooden floors! We got more than we paid for staying here. We are normally hostelers but if we needed, this would definitely be our first choice for a hotel in San Jose! Really great!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_blom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is a business hotel. We stayed here for one night on a weekend because we had an early flight the next day with NatureAir. The hotel was totally empty, we did not see any other guests! So, it was really quiet, we felt almost lonely :) The room was huge, clean and well equipped. The hotel could offer transportation also. It seemed that the cost was always $15 regardless where you went - be it Heredia or domestic airport. The location is good if you are going to domestic airport (like us). There are restaurants near-by, 10 mins walk away. I have to say that the hotel looks awful, it looks like a fortress or jailhouse with all those high fences, no lawns nor front/backyard but looks can deceive you. From the inside the hotel looks nice. We had a nice and relaxing stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to huge and fairly similar. Our room was in the second floor, not in the same wing as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

If you are going to San Jose to do any kind of business, you have to be prepared for trouble.
Immigration, insurance, and even getting a driver's license in Costa Rica is a painful, expensive ordreal.
That being said, the one good thing about my recent trip to San Jose was the Hotel Plaza Real.
It was a little piece of heaven in a confusing and nasty world. The management bent over backwards to accomodate me and my friend with special needs. The room was quiet, immaculate, and spacious. The Plaza Real is more like a European hotel than a chain. It is quaint, clean and personal. The taxi service was prompt and affordable. Breakfast and simple and nice. Mostly, I just loved the staff attitude, can do, helpful, courteous. A very pleasant change from the stonewalling and obfuscation at Costa Rican government agencies. I would happily select this hotel again, a little island of sanity in a sea of craziness.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff. They have many rooms available, some are small apartments and others just nice r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermione_Cathexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed here for one night and we were pleased.

The hotel is not in the city centre, but, a short cab ride away. It is not fancy, but it's nice. Modern and very clean, with everything you could possibly need. There are a couple of restaurants not too far away (Denny's being one of them). But again, you are not far from the centre and can easily get there.

The gentleman at the front desk was really nice, too. Helpful and friendly.

I recommend this hotel very much, especially if you are at the tail-end of your trip to Costa Rica and are looking for a place to relax before flying out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Very clean, spacious, well appointed rooms, huge bathroom, and small kitchenette should you want to keep something cold or warm something up – very comfortable! Also offered excellent service – all staff were sincerely friendly, and couldn’t be more helpful.

The breakfast room is on the top floor (4th), and offers coffee, juice, a small plate of papaya and pineapple, toast, and cold cereal. For a very small price, you can order hot items such as eggs ($1.50 each), with sausage for a $3, or pancakes for $2.50. There’s also a terrace outside the breakfast room to catch some sun and view the mountains.

The hotel is very secure, and a short walk takes you to a few restaurants, small grocery store, pharmacy, gift shops, and casino. It's a short drive to airport, central San Jose, or onto the Interamericana highway if you’re exploring the country.

The only con is the noise level from the highway, so if you’re sound sensitive, request a room facing the back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lar289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at the Plaza Real for 2 nights of our trip in Costa Rica. The hotel staff was more than accommodating and helpful. We were trying to plan a trip to Tortuguero (remote island in Costa Rica) and they went above and beyond, helping us make calls to other hotels and assisting us in researching on the internet. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast could have been a little more plentiful but we had busy days planned so there wasn't a lot of time to sit around and enjoy a big breakfast anyway. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda29181736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
276 reviews
1.3 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#41 of 78 in San Jose
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
#44 of 78 in San Jose
424 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites

Address: | Diagonal 25A & Ave. 31, San Jose 3794005, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £52 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the central business area La Uruca in a very convenient location, just 15 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport and 10 minutes from San Jose City Center. We offer both apartment-type rooms and classic hotel-type rooms. The Apartment-type rooms are fully equipped with a full size fridge, a kitchen or kitchenette and all the necessary utensils to provide a pleasant and comfortable stay. Both of our types of rooms are equipped with coffee makers and have A/C. We specialize in providing services and the apartment-type rooms to those who are staying for long periods of time while they are being medically treated in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing