We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault good sevice, clean, and value priced”
Review of Hotel Castillo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Castillo
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Despite the previous reviewers thoughts, I decided to stay at the Castillo.
And if a Hilton style experience is what ur after, then skip this hotel and many others in the San Jose area, unless you have a lot of room on your credit cards...this one was great value.
I had a room in the rear motel style unit last weekend (#17) then this weekend, (#4 and #3), and in each case the bed was comfortable, supportive, and clean...the showers were large, and with ample hot water, free shampoo too was a nice touch, the tvs, phone (free local calls) and security all functioned great. The front desk staff were very helpful, and I did enjoy the included breakfast of hard boiled eggs (huevos duro) gallo pinto, toast, fruits, and hot coffee. The best part was meeting and chatting with other visitors who had traveled throughout the country and trusted the Castillo to be their beginning and end points. There is free wifi throughout, and computer access in the reading lounge, as well, the hotel is very central and taxi rides were between $2 and $5 most times.
I will be very happy to return, and as the price was about $45US per nite..it was a great value. As to the lack of bottled water, the front desk will arrange to get some in (for a small fee) or you do have a small fridge in most rooms, and the mercado (grocery store) isn't far.There is a friendly bar at the back and a very good thai themed restaurant providing lunch and dinners. I tried the pad thai and terriyaki chicken..both good and not dried out.
3 cheers for the Castillo Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Exbeachers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Castillo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2011

Well, it was an okay stay ... but only that.

The staff are very good and helpfu with loal knowledge of where to go and what to do etc.

But the rooms lack certain features that I take as necessary. Yes, there is free wifi, TV and a double bed. But there is no drinking water, no tea/coffee, no fridge. Also the hotel has no restaurant so you need to go out to eat all the time. If you miss the free buffet breakfast then it is not possible to even get a cup of coffee on the premises!

I had a quick look around the region and it seems that there are plenty of other places to stay at a small extra cost that would be better value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The Hotel Castillo is located in Barrio Amon, probably the nicest neighborhood in San Jose. The hotel itself is well maintained and very reasonably priced. The hotels courtyard has an outdoor bar and is in a jungle like setting. It makes for a nice respite from the very urban San Jose. The La Palmas restaurant next door is a bit pricey but the food is quite good. The staff and Darren the manager are helpful and make every effort to see you are comfortable. Be aware though that most of the clients are middle-aged males visiting San Jose for the purpose of finding short term acquaintances, which is perfectly legal in Costa Rica. So if that sort of thing bothers you then you should stay at the family oriented Hemingway Inn down the street. I should mention the professional ladies are not allowed in the bar or La Palmas Grill. It's also conveniently located near the Sportsman Lodge and a short walk through Morazon Park to the "gringo gulch".

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank2008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2007

While not your ordinary hotel in the manner of layout, it works well. The price is reasonable and the clerks and managers are quite accommodating. Not far from some good restaurants and drinking establishments. Some of the taxi's may not know of the location, so having a knowledge of where it is located helps...Detras el INS. is a good start.. It is just up the street from Don Carlos and Hemmingway Hotels.. which can also help locate it. The bar/restaurant next door is quite convenient also; they had daily specials that were priced reasonably. Will probably stay here again.

Stayed: January 2006
5  Thank jbc930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grouxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#20 of 77 in San Jose
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#15 of 77 in San Jose
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#26 of 77 in San Jose
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
1,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#56 of 77 in San Jose
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#19 of 77 in San Jose
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo

Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £34 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests who check-in starting January 15th at the Castillo Hotel will notice many changes from the previous hotel property. Along with a new third floor, the fully remodeled Castillo is equipped with balcony suites offering an outstanding view of the upscale Barrio Amon neighborhood. Three of the penthouse suites open onto 4th floor rooftop decks. Additions to the property bring the number of rooms to 29, of which at least 15 rooms will be open by January 15th. Consistent with the design of the original Castillo, the remodeling reflects the 19th century style of the privileged Costa Rica coffee barons, complete with wood paneled floors in the bedrooms and tiled common areas. Each room has been fully refurnished with Ashley Furniture, including a Simmons Beautyrest pillow-top mattress. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing