We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient”
Review of Hotel Castillo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Castillo
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Nice quaint hotel convenient to downtown by taxi or foot. Convenient to Sportsmens Lodge and other hotels. Staff is always there 24/7. Sometimes has early traffic noises.

Has AC and cable TV along with lockable safe.

Room Tip: new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have stayed at The Castillo several times, and am never disappointed. The hotel is found in Barrio Amon, and although frequented by a good bunch of guys from Canada and the US, there are often back packers and budget hotel seekers to be found at the back bar or enjoying the light continental (included) breakfast. The hotel is broken into the older mansion and a newer "motel style" building, with a central courtyard and back bar which is open at noon except Sunday (but that may change). Air con units can be found in every room, but not really necessary, as the ceiling fans and moderate climate make sleeping easy. A mix of 2 doubles, queens, and a few king beds can be had, full bath with shower and plenty of hot water is the norm. Service is top notch, as anything that's not right, the front desk will sort out. The hotel doesn't have parking, but arrangements at a local and secure lot can be had. Rates are about $70US depending on if you pay cash or card, or if the place fills up..and it does on long weekends. There is wifi at no cost, and advice is always free. The hotel is walking distance to most places in SJ Centro, with a few decent retaurants like Lukas, Tin Jo and others within an easy and inexpensive cab ride. Security is good, and the hotel can arrange a shuttle back to the airport (or for pick up) and if you want tours or to experience the out-of-town. I find The Castillo a place that knows my name and treats me fair, so I don't look elsewhere, but the experience will be the same even if it's your first visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room out back, starting at #14 to #23 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CajonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

After a full day of inter-bus bouncing from Bocas I was more than willing to forgive a great deal in exchange for a hot shower and a bed. Check in was flawless but the room - blah ( it was a "deluxe"! In the new section) and as I was unpacking I discovered a large, dead cockroach. Crap! Now I handled pretty much everything Costa Rica threw at me for 6 weeks but this was the first 'roach and I loath them. So I called the desk and her response was spot on - up she came armed with dust pan, broom, disinfectant and apologies. She couldn't move me since they were full so I was resigned to sleep with all the lights on. Later I prepared to finally get horizontal; throw back the sheets to find - black hairs. eeeeeuuuuu! So now I have all the lights on and I am sleeping on top of the blankets. I seriously considered moving the next day but just didn't want to expend the energy for one night so I advised the front desk and she promised to give the room a good cleaning; which they did. Everything after was fine though the free breakfast sucked, dry gallo-pinto, dried fruit... The postives were it is in a great location, close to downtown and Barrio Amon, if you pay cash you get a great rate and the staff are great.

Room Tip: try an older room for atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I have been staying at the Castillo for years now and am always greeted with open arms and kind words. Terrific staff, good location above the city in bario amon where you will find various types of entertainment, dining and clubs, plenty of nightlife. The rooms in the main building are turn of the century with wood floors, high ceilings and ceiling fans in most. Hot water is plentiful, beds comfortable and the maids keep the old lady clean. If you are looking for a bit of off the beaten path adventure, I highly recommend the Castillo, it's a true classic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Hotel Castillo is a nice little hotel in the Barrio Amon district. Clean well appointed rooms in a peaceful setting, coupled with great service make this hotel an excellent choice for those who want to stay in this area and get a good deal at the same time. Perhaps more geared towards the single male adventure traveller than for families, as it is within easy walking distance to many of the cities' more exotic pursuits.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jakemogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

From the moment I made my reservation to the day I left the service was just outstanding.The staff will make you feel right at home making sure all your needs are met. I had a very pleasant stay and would book again on my next trip. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank eddie-pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hotel Castillo has been a favorite of mine since 2005. The hotel is nothing fancy, just plain and comfortable. The rooms are clean, and the manager and staff treat guests like family. For the room rates I pay, it is one of the best bargains in San Jose. I particularly enjoy the camaraderie of the other guests over breakfast and at the adjacent bar. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eulenspeegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#20 of 77 in San Jose
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#16 of 77 in San Jose
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#21 of 77 in San Jose
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 77 in San Jose
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#56 of 77 in San Jose
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo

Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £35 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests who check-in starting January 15th at the Castillo Hotel will notice many changes from the previous hotel property. Along with a new third floor, the fully remodeled Castillo is equipped with balcony suites offering an outstanding view of the upscale Barrio Amon neighborhood. Three of the penthouse suites open onto 4th floor rooftop decks. Additions to the property bring the number of rooms to 29. Consistent with the design of the original Castillo, the remodeling reflects the 19th century style of the privileged Costa Rica coffee barons, complete with wood paneled floors in the bedrooms and tiled common areas. Each room has been fully refurnished with Ashley Furniture, including a Simmons Beauty Rest pillow-top mattress. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing