We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit”

Museum of Contemporary Art and Design
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
San José City Tour
Ranked #34 of 121 things to do in San Jose
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Contemporary Art and Design Museum at the National Cultural Centre -CENAC- the old Liquor Factory.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Interesting exhibits, modern as the name says. I'd liken it to going to a couple of galleries displaying the works of two or three designers. If those artists don't inspire or "speak" to you, then you might write off the entire visit.

We enjoyed viewing the works here, and found the museum to be modest but earnest in its efforts to showcase modern art and design.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedDougH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    18
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“interesting exhibits”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

exhibits were a bit...interesting. not certain if its worth doing but if you have a bunch of free time, its not too expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gives a glimpse into present day Costa Rican art”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This museum offers different exhibitions of modern day Costa Rican artists. When I was there the exhibition was on Society and Media. Nicely done! Check ahead for exhibition as they change throughout the year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank flowriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great sculptures in lovely building”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

A peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of San Jose. When I visited there was a wonderful exhibition of 5 Costa Rican sculptors. Sadly, my written Spanish is very poor and none of the signs were in English, but that didn´t detract from the wealth of talent. And the building itself, which used to be the airport many years ago, was lovely, with high ceilings and a wooden fresco on what used to be the VIP departure lounge. Entrance is free and its right next to the main Park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nbichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Contemporary”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It seemed that local art students were exhibiting. Hence a theme of "disconnection due to the internet" or something similar. It seemed there wasn't as much originality as I'd hoped. There was also a collage themed exhibit, which was more interesting to me, more original.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art and Design also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art and Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing