We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is great but there are few problems”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights there. The first night we got there the clerck gave us the low floor room which was average, didn't have AC but the room was clean. We had a private parking for our ace. The second day there was another guy with dread locks which was just unpleasant and rude.he didn't help at all and barely took attention to us. We asked to move to another room after we sensed terrible smell coming from our room (perhaps it was economics) the girl gave us the up level room that was much better and had AC and costs the same. Breakfast was very poor. The hotel is in downtown , close to main attractions such as the national theatre. There's a great restaurant across the street.




  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007theshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Rooms weren't a bad size with 2 small double beds. Our shower to the upper floor was very slow, but the kids faired better in this on the ground floor. Limited breakfast of rice and beans + scrambled egg, help yourself and very limited space to sit. Only stayed one night as part of a tour, arrived late and left early so can't comment of the surrounding area.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

it is a basic hotel, stayed here for 3 nights with a tour splitting the nights so had two different rooms. pool looks nice, not huge. rooms are clean but basic, dont come here expecting flat screen tvs or ones that work. breakfast is fine, stuck to the fruit and toast (toasters only did one side)but there were scrambled eggs and rice and beans. Area is ok for downtown san jose, great restaurants across the road and nearby. I think it might be 10 dollars per night dearer than it should be. Had the front room on 3rd floor first time and there was a bit of street noise (sat night) so if you are a light sleeper, try to get the back. had the 2nd floor equivalent the 2nd time but there is no window so it was quieter, but it was darker too. Overall, if you are on a budget and looking to stay in a safe hotel, its ok, dont expect any frills

Room Tip: rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Little to recommend this place. Shabby, basic, expensive for what it is, location is ugly. Feels more like a hotel, but not hostel prices. Room was clean, but really shabby. All expense spared.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Colonial is a nice hotel without pretention. The rooms are not very spacious, but clean. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is ok (at least if you like rice and beans ;)! Nice swimmingpool.
William, Senta and baby Ella from Belgium

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We thought clean basic rooms but ended up wit about 100 bug-bites! The staff is friendly and helpfull but please do something about the bugs!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyWolf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 15 days. When I read the reviews I was very surprised...it is a nice hotel, clean and has a good location. They no longer charge for the use of the computer with internet. The tv in our rooms worked fine and had several english channels. The staff was professional. The only complaint I will make is that for the 15 days we were there, they served us the SAME breakfast every single day: rice and beans, eggs, toast and coffee. It got old after the third day. Anyway, I would recommend the hotel to people!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.8 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Tournon
Hotel Villa Tournon
#49 of 78 in San Jose
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#26 of 78 in San Jose
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,345 reviews
4.0 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Behind La Soledad Cathedral, San Jose 10106, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £48 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're your perfect hosts for a restful vacation in cozy surroundings, a restored neocolonial building nearly a century old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing