We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good vibes if you can get past the dirt...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Yoses Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Yoses Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good vibes if you can get past the dirt...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Friendly staff & location isn't too bad! Problem is...the hostel is quite dirty. There is a lot of grime on door handles, in the kitchen, the bathrooms. There was blood & snot wiped on the walls near my bed. The bathrooms have the smell of an outhouse that comes out into the hallway...also there were only 2 toilets to accommodate a whole floor of dorm rooms.
There was a great atmosphere, lots of nice people & a good vibe, but it was really dirty. I left after my second night.
Roaches, but no bed bugs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandgeekabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    31
    23
    13
    14
See reviews for
6
25
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at Casa Yoses for one night early august 2013. Nice place a shot bus ride away from downtown San Jose (which is actually worth a visit, in contrast to what lonely planet says - nice, cosy town). The security was very good - so good actually that we had to wait outside for the door to open for five minutes a few times - a better attention from the receptionist to the door bell had helped. Staff were otherwise very charming and helpful. Rooms were clean and airy, bathrooms were being renovated during our stay, and were partly out of water, but seemed OK. Nice big kitchen and pancake-cereal-fruit breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

There are only two hostels I'll stay at in San Jose and this is one of them. The other being Hostel Urbano which is just down the road and the two hostels work together quite often. The atmosphere at Casa Yoses has changed over the years but its always a fun place to be. The staff are mostly local college students who are always happy to meet a traveler and swap stories or show them where a good night out can be had. I've met some long time friends in this hostel and every time I pass through San Jose I pop my head in to say hello. Neighborhood is safe and the property is very secure, close to bars/restaurants/clubs but far away enough to get a good nights sleep. Thanks Casa Yoses!

Room Tip: Get a downstairs room if possible, if not, get an inner facing room, towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyBoySwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here twice with a group, coming to and departing from San Jose. The location is good; easy to get to and close to shops. It is incredibly loud. The staff and their friends up yelling, shouting and playing music until 3 in the morning both nights. The bathrooms were disgusting. We had a private toilet in our room that was broken on both stays. 2 of the 3 community toilets were also broken. One toilet is not enough for this hostel esp when people are wondering in off the steet to pee. The common areas were STICKY with cigarette butts everywhere. If you don't plan on sleeping or taking a shower it's not too bad though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretabetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed here in February 2012 twice, traveling with my boyfriend. We spent 5 days in San Jose as we were waiting to fly out of the city to Canada, and again 3 days on our way back from Canada to Costa Rica. Although most people don't like San Jose, I loved it and I think a lot of my affection has to do with Casa Yoses Hostel, which we chose based on reviews and the neighborhood. Originally we where only going to stay 2 nights and ended up extending our stay based on the staff's friendliness and our general appreciation of the neighborhood. As this was our first time in San Jose, we had a lot of questions about things to do and how to get there - the staff was more than willing to help us and answer all our questions, including making several calls to the Bus companies to inquire about schedules.

San Pedro is usually not considered within walking distance from the city center, although the staff helped guide us on how to get there. We decided to go for it and walked to the center one day (about 45 mn walk) and loved it- the transition from the Center to the San Pedro neighborhood is absolutely gorgeous, with lots of parks and attractions to see on the way. After that first walk, we walked almost everyday.

Within walking distance of Casa Yoses (10 mn), you will find San Pedro Mall and a great supermarket. My boyfriend and I love cooking, so we where happy to see that the Hostel's two kitchens where well stocked with supplies: spices, plates, utensils, pots and pans, etc.

We stayed on both sides of the property and enjoyed both. Rooms are basic but clean with everything you would expect from a Hostel. The free computers, pool table, well stocked kitchen and staff friendliness was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We didn't officially spend the night, but definitely appreciate the staff letting us crash here for a day while we waited for our flight. This is not in a super easy walking location to the city center, but it is safe (and gated), relatively clean (have seen cleaner hostels) and very, very friendly. Supposedly there are family rooms available; the dorm rooms are co-ed and can be a little loud if located close to the yard which had late night social activities. They also have a movie theater, game room, kitchen and laundry - worth it for those on a budget wanting a hostel experience and/or respite from crowds and high prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Love this place. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. Great hostel in a safe neighborhood. They let us take over the television in the common area from 9PM to after midnight to watch CNN coverage of the US Presidential elections. Everything about this place is great.Good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#14 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#24 of 79 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.0 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Yoses Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Yoses Hostel

Property: Casa Yoses Hostel
Address: Avenida 8, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Yoses Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Yoses Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Yoses Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing