We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Casa 69 San Jose CR”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa 69

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa 69
Ranked #1 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Casa 69 San Jose CR”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

location,location,location! Walking distance to downtown...close to restaurants and attractions...The staff was awesome...knowledgeable and friendly. Clean rooms and great continental breakfast. We met many friendly and interesting people during our stay...people that will be our new forever-friends. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to CR!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    164
    51
    18
    27
See reviews for
59
291
117
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed there 1 night and we will never come back.
The room smells like mildew and is not maintain properly, (door knobs are not connected well, bath curtain is in bad shape.... )
The only thing you can eat in breakfast is bread with jam or batter (if you want an omelette you need to pay extra). We couldn't use the internet because the night shift receptionist was using the single computer all night long.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shlomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Excellent! and dog friendly too, although I only say one dog there and all he did was sleep in the courtyard in the shade. I think he visits every month or so, I met at least 6 people during my week there who are regular guests. I will head straight there on my next trip to Costa Rica.
Simply Lovely

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

What more can I say than great and helpful staff, nice clean rooms and a very convenient location, a short walk from downtown and San Pedro Mall.

Somewhere I would definitely reccommend for all types of people. And somewhere I would make my first port of call when I next return to San Jose.

A great mix of interesting people stay here, tourists and Costa Ricans.

And the view from the rooftop terrace, whether it be night or day is astonishing.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for the great review. It was very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Casa 69 is conveniently located and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a small rooftop area with a nice view of the city. However, Casa 69 would be much nicer if it were cleaner!!. During my stay there were 3 cats and 3 dogs roaming around the hotel, all of which needed a good bath!! There was pet dander everywhere and the common area had a strong pet smell. Also, the bath towels should be replaced; if you decide to stay here, bring your own towels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoHarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback from our guests.
You arrived Sept 5th having booked and paid for two of our smallest rooms. Upon arrival, you were given a free upgrade on both rooms.
I arrived on the evening of the 7th with the dogs. There was no mention of cleanliness or the towels issue prior to that, and on Monday morning you approached me saying you wished to leave as you were disgusted with the dogs.
I made reservations at a very nice hotel nearby and provided directions.
Shortly after you left, we called the other hotel to ensure that everything was satisfactory. They informed us you had never arrived and had already phoned them and cancelled the room as you were staying with friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Cute property and rooms, fresh and light complimentary breakfast every morning, and convenient walking distance to museums, cafes, and bars. And got 10% off at the italian cafe up the street bc we stayed here. It was a wonderful place to start and end our holiday in CR! Plus free luggage storage while we explored the country... So convenient. Thanks for everything Casa 69 we will be back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed here on my very first trip to Costa Rica for four days (August 5-9) and it won't be my last. It is clean, comfortable, and located in a very convenient area of San Jose.

I arrived from the airport via bus instead of taxi. The bus from the airport to the city center was 535 colones and from there the taxi to the Casa 69 was 1700 pesos. So the entire trip from the airport was about $4.50. It certainly beats $25 or more that the taxis will try to charge you at the airport. When returning to the airport at the end of my trip, I did the same and took a taxi to the bus station. All the taxis will know where the Embassy of Nicaragua is, so just use that as a reference point when taking taxis. "de la Embajada de Nicaragua, 80 metros al sur".

The hotel is in a nice, older building, with the common areas tastefully decorated, and a nice courtyard where breakfast is served. I stayed in a Junior Queen room in the main house (number 7) and despite it being the smallest of the category of rooms available, it was more than adequate in size for one person. The room had a very comfortable queen size bed, a small fridge, and a small glass table with chair. There was ample closet space to hang things up, an electronic safe, a ceiling fan, and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was clean, albeit a little on the small side, with excellent water pressure in the shower. The water got acceptably warm enough for morning showers, but I wouldn't call it hot in comparison to home. I had a good strong wifi signal from my room. Prior to my trip, my biggest concern was the lack of air conditioning, but I didn't even miss it! In fact, it got a little chilly at night (even in August!) that I had to bundle up under the comforter.

Breakfast is served in the morning and it consists of coffee, lots of bread with butter and jam, one glass of fresh squeezed juice, and lots and tropical fruits to eat (pineapple, papaya, mango, banana) For $5 you can have extras like, omelettes with bacon or sausage, pancakes, or gallo pinto with eggs. On my first morning, to my shock, I asked for gallo pinto and they said it wasn't available! You don't have gallo pinto in the morning in Costa Rica? I thought that was strange. On the two other days I requested it, however, it was available and it was deliciously prepared and the fried eggs were cooked perfectly.

The hotel is in an excellent location. Walk north to the corner where the Nicaraguan Embassy is and that is Avenida Central, just turn left and keep walking and you are in downtown. San Jose is a compact little city and it was perfectly fine to walk everywhere during the day. San Jose (especially the center) may not be the idea of the tropical paradise many are coming to Costa Rica for, but it is the transportation hub for the nation and it's central location makes staying at a nice, reasonably priced hotel in the city like Casa 69 amd just taking some of the many tours available to various places around the country during the days is a great way to get a first experience in Costa Rica. Many reviewers complain about the "sketchiness" of the area around the hotel and of San Jose in general. In my opinion most of these people are Americans who have had very little experience traveling around the Latin American world. There are many places that are MUCH worse than San Jose! It felt perfectly safe at all times to walk around and explore. I walked around without a second thought up until about 11pm. I would take a taxi after that to get around. They are everywhere and cheap, and if you speak a moderate amount of Spanish, the drivers are friendly and will start the meter without even being asked 9 times out of 10, (otherwise, a pleasant reminder will be all that is needed) There is lots to do in San Jose when you are not exploring the rest of the country. There's lots of nightlife, some great restaurants (many are pricey though, especially to comparable venues in the US) and a few interesting museums. I'm not sure about what the hotel's policiy about having guests over. I didn't find it necessary to ask since I found that once you walk to the corner where the Nica Embassy is and turn left onto Avenida Central, you will encounter tons of hotels that openly offer rooms for a few hours for 5000 colones (these are actually all over San Jose) so that is a much easier and safer option if you want to get your thing on.

Of the minor issues of the hotel, that were not deal breakers for me by any means, but may be an issue to some:
-The train! Yes there is a suburban train that you will hear early in the evening and (very) early in the morning, like around 5:30AM. I noticed it, but it didn't bother me because I am not a light sleeper.
-The animals. In the small courtyard of the main house where the rooms are, there is definitely the strong smell of a multiple pet home. I counted 3 resident cats and 2 dogs during my stay. The animals were all very friendly though, and the cats would often spend their time sleeping on the chair outside my room. I should say that there was no pet smells at all in the rooms, nor in the living area, kitchen, and dining patio of the main house. I had no problem with the animals, but understand that this may be an issue for some.

Staff was friendly. The manager speaks perfect English. The support staff, not so much. But it was very easy to meet each other halfway :)

At this price point, this is a great place to stay. I am already fantasizing about my next trip to Costa Rica and would not hesitate at all to stay here again or to recommend it.

,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
922 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
845 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
4.4 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#31 of 85 in San Jose
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 69

Property: Casa 69
Address: 69 calle 25bis | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 69 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic house built by one of San Jose's most prominent families in 1938 is now a B&B. Let this beautiful old house be your home away from home in San Jose. Located just four blocks east of the National Museum, Barrio California, just 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. Enjoy our rooftop view deck and garden. You can walk to all museums and places of interest like National Theater, Jade Museum, Plaza de la Cultura, Simon Bolivar Zoo as well as many very good restaurants, bars of all kinds and casinos in minutes, city center and PreColumbian Gold Museum. Shopping, San Pedro mall, central market, and the Artisan Market are within a comfortable walking distance. We also have a rooftop patio where you can enjoy the sun, a coffee or drink with friends, while you look out at the sights and mountains around San Jose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa 69 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 69 Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing