We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Stay Here Again”
Review of Casa 69

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa 69
Ranked #1 of 65 San Jose B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll Stay Here Again”
Reviewed 5 March 2009

After reading the positive reviews, my husband and I chose Casa 69 for our stay in San Jose based on location, price and service. We stayed two nights before joining an Elderhostel birding program that took us around the country, staying at well-known ecolodges; then we returned to Casa 69 for three nights at the end of our trip. This very affordable B&B turned out to be better than anything we expected--modern, comfortable and clean facility, efficent service, and very friendly owners. We were eager to return at the end of our Elderhostel trip for a good rest and to see more of San Jose before we left the country. We will stay here again when we return to Costa Rica.

I wanted to submit a review, because some of those posted seem to imply that the place would appeal to a younger crowd. We are seasoned world travellers, now retired and watching the budget, who have had the chance to stay in world class hotels as well as humble rooms. This place is a gem. The on-line reservation process worked very smoothly. Kurt sent very clear directions to hand to a taxi driver at the airport, which made our arrival also smooth. Even though we arrived late (11:30 pm) from the airport, we were met by a courteous Jenns, who later told us that they take turns staying up late for airport arrivals and getting up early for departures. The room was comfortable--queen sized bed, Kandinski prints on the wall, TV (including CNN), desk, bedside lamps, a safe for valuables, reasonably-priced minibar, and modern bathroom with large shower stall. I had read that some hotels and B&Bs in CR have very thin walls and this proved true at several of the ecolodges we visited; however, this was not a problem at Casa 69. We slept well every night we were there--less traffic noise than closer to downtown and no noise from fellow guests, even though we shared an open courtyard. (One review mentioned a train that runs all day--this isn't true, nor an accurate observation. The train is a small electric train that runs during rush hour--no rumbling or clattering, but sometime between 6 am and 6:30 am it does start to sound its horn when it crosses intersections. It does not sound all day long. Although we were aware of it each morning, it certainly wasn't a problem.)

Breakfast in the covered courtyard was a selection of tropical sliced fruit, a juice that was a delicious mixture of fruit, a basket of fresh bread, two delicious jams, and an endless supply of Costa Rican coffee and milk served by a very friendly staff and prepared in a spotless, recently remodeled kitchen. For a reasonable price, we added the cold cut/cheese plate one morning. We could also have opted for eggs, pancakes, and some other selections. The outside of the B&B and the courtyard are painted a bright yellow, and so our memories of the place seem very sunny.

The hotel is a short walking distance to the National Museum and Jade Museum, and not very much further to the pedestrian shopping area downtown and the National Theater and Gold Museum. The area around the hotel has several colleges with evening classes, so there was a lot of foot traffic after dark. We felt comfortable and safe walking to nearby restaurants for dinner. Kurt and Jenns gave us some great restaurant recommendations; our only disappointment was the evening we walked around and chose our own restaurant. They will also advise guests about getting around town, taking tours out of town, etc. They spend a lot of time interacting with their guests, and the guests spend a lot of time interacting with Tina, a very well behaved dog who enjoys the attention. We were able to store our luggage for several hours after we checked out the first time, but still wanted to see some things in town. A telephone for local calls is available for guests in the breakfast area, which made it easy to reconfirm our flight home.

The morning we left, Jenns had ordered a taxi for shortly after 6 a.m. for us, got up early to serve us a cup of coffee, helped carry our bags out, and gave us a farewell hug. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imabirder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    166
    56
    20
    31
See reviews for
62
297
117
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We stayed here one night upon our arrival to Costa Rica and two nights before our departure. It’s just a $20.00 cab ride to the airport. The room is clean, reasonably priced and includes a nice continental breakfast. A heartier breakfast is also available for just a few dollars. Kurt recommended several wonderful dinner places within easy walking distance. We were very pleased with the service at the restaurants and the prices were also reasonable. Two that we particularly enjoyed were Trocadero and Café Mundo. Kurt, give Tina a kiss for us if you read this. She is one of the sweetest dogs I have ever met.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinterwandererUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

i have been to Costa Rica twice and stayed in a variety of hotels. This b&b is one of the best values you will find. The friendly German owners have decorated the rooms with a modern flair, Kandinsky and the like decorate the rooms. Breakfast is basic but you can pay a small amount more for additional items. It is noisy, barking dogs, a train that blows its horn very close, but there were plenty of others hotels where we had similar noises, also. Rooms begin at $49 and up. There is no hotel sign - the hotel books up and likely most of it is by word of mouth. I would certainly stay there again. Make a reservation, but do bring earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

I was at first a daunted when my taxi took me from the airport to Casa 69, as the property was hidden behind an obscuring wall, with the barbed wire on top (which is standard in all of San Jose). But after staying there twice - at the beginning and end of my Costa Rica trip, I must say that I felt very much at home at Casa 69. Kurt and Jenns are the most humourous Germans I have even met - very professional, but also very funny if you spend time with them.

My bedroom(s) was more than I expected - surrounding an inner courtyard (although the outside traffic noise during the day is still apparent as everywhere else in San Jose) with a comfortable double bed, fan, cable TV, minbar, safe (important for those people who bring guests back, or want their valuables secured) and nice shower/toilet. The simple delicious breakfast of coffee/tea, fruit, bread and jams/butter was more than adequate for me - although there is an ala carte menu for those looking for more protein

The customers tend to be a mixture of gay men/couples and straight couples - with the gay people mixing in the dining room/lounge whilst the straight couples kept to themselves in their rooms or the courtyard. I enjoyed chatting and getting to know some of the guests during my stay.

Casa 69 is close to the Nicaragua Embassy, and is about 15-20 mins walk from downtown (depending whether you are walking uphill or downhill). I had no problems with walking in the area during the evening to the bars or restaurants - although like the rest of San Jose I would say you should be alert and careful with where you walk. The gay bars/discos are within walking distance although it is only a short taxi ride for those more cautious.

I certainly look back on my stay at Casa 69 with fondness and hope it will not be long before I am back drinking wine with Kurt, Jenns and their friends........

  • Liked — The Owners
  • Disliked — Noise - but it is San Jose!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hopsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

San Jose may not be the kind of destination you look for when you come to Costa Rica. It's a gritty, noisy city. It won't matter much where you stay, the city s pretty much what it is. It is a contrast to the natural beauty of the surrounding landscapes of Costa Rica. However, there are a number of hidden gems, like the parks, museums and in the heart of the city there is a little oasis of comfort to stay in, Casa69. It is like a home away from home - only better. The rooms are pleasant, not pretentious, there is interesting art throughout and a sweet courtyard where breakfast is served that’s bright and colourful. The staff of Casa69 are welcoming, the owner charming and knowledgeable of Costa Rica and the city, and the location is near many of the sites the city has to offer. The environment of this place invites you to meet people, yet affords you the choice to be on your own too.

Better than most bed and breakfast I have been in, as you have your own private bathroom, there is a lot of space to mingle or to be secluded if you choose to not mingle with others. There actually are two properties, across the street from each other, and offer a variety of social or privacy options. The surprising thing was, the people there were so easy to get along with that you end up meeting interesting people and much of that should be credited to the host Kirk and his staff. Either way, if you don't let yourself be seduced by the charm of this place, the owner and his staff you will miss out on a great opportunity.

We stayed for a week and that may have contributed to our sense of home and a real appreciation for the staff, owner and patrons of this place. I almost don't want to praise this place too much as it may get too popular and they may have to increase their price or loose some pf its charm.

  • Liked — staff, the owner
  • Disliked — the city's noisy lifestyle, but that's not the hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dre0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2009

First of all the train does not run all day.Kurt and his staff were truly wonderful.I felt i was at home,breakfast was excellent and dinner superb(gracias Winston).The whole staff was nothing but kind,courteous and kind,I highly recommend this place.And to all that sat at the square table by reception i miss you.hope to come back soon .Love Marcos

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing it was all great
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eliezer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

I rarely use the phrase "home away from home", but it applies so well to my stay at Casa 69. The small hotel and house across the street have been expertly and tastefully renovated to provide extraordinary comfort in casually chic surroundings. Every detail, the linens, the furnishings, the gardens, the art, have been selected for visual appeal and for guest comfort. In addition, the staff is friendly and helpful. My friend and I felt so comfortable from the moment we checked in, that we added an additional day to our stay just to enjoy Casa 69.
We were also able to meet other guests from all over the world - everyone felt welcomed here and everyone was very friendly.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 78 in San Jose
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#26 of 78 in San Jose
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,280 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 69

Property: Casa 69
Address: Calle 25bis 69 | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 69 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic house built by one of San Jose's most prominent families in 1938 is now a B&B. Let this beautiful old house be your home away from home in San Jose. Located just four blocks east of the National Museum, Barrio California, just 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. Enjoy our rooftop view deck and garden. You can walk to all museums and places of interest like National Theater, Jade Museum, Plaza de la Cultura, Simon Bolivar Zoo as well as many very good restaurants, bars of all kinds and casinos in minutes, city center and PreColumbian Gold Museum. Shopping, San Pedro mall, central market, and the Artisan Market are within a comfortable walking distance. We also have a rooftop patio where you can enjoy the sun, a coffee or drink with friends, while you look out at the sights and mountains around San Jose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Casa 69 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 69 Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing