We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa 69 was great”
Review of Hotel Casa 69

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa 69
Ranked #1 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 May 2009

I have never traveled to Costa Rica before. My husband and I stayed at Casa 69 on our way out of town. I was surprised that it was so luxurious and artsy. From the outside all you see is the painted security fence, but once inside Kurt and his staff really take care of you. They were so helpful. They called us a taxi last minute and we made our flight with time to spare. Breakfast was fresh fruit (being from Minnesota, I took full advantage of the pineapple and mango!), baguettes, coffee and really tasty juice. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling through San Jose. Not only is it centrally located, but the beds are huge and comfy, the people are great and it is really quite beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2009

My boyfriend and I can not say enough good things about Casa 69, Kurt (the owner), and the staff. It is such a cute bed and breakfast with an artsy feel to it. It is walking distance to all of the bars and restaurants, but away enough that you can enjoy a little peace. Kurt was more than accomidating. We were about five hours early for check in, but were taken to our room without extra charge-which was a life saver after taking the red eye. It is honestly one of my favorite bed and breakfasts that I have ever stayed at. I highly recommend it to a charming, inexpensive, high quality place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asilecnerwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We had a lovely stay at Casa 69 our first and last night in San Jose. Kurt was extremely helpful over email ahead of our visit, providing information on transportation, directions, and recommended places to visit while in Costa Rica.

The location is in the city, and was not as difficult for taxis to find as I might have thought. It is quite hidden. The rooms we stayed in were lovely -- beautiful art, clean bathrooms, comfortable beds, and a nicely stocked mini fridge. The breakfast was simple and perfect - bread, jams, fresh fruit and juice, and delicious coffee. The staff was very helpful and polite. The rooms had satellite tv which was a nice surprise, we were even able to watch part of march madness!

The only cons that come to mind is that our room the first night was a bit noisy. But it wasn't really a big deal for us city dwellers. We would definitely go back! It's always nice to support gay friendly businesses (that are also straight friendly!).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Our party of eight: me, my husband, his parents, my parents, my son & family friend stayed on 3 different occasions over a 15 day period while traveling the pacific & caribbean sides of Costa Rica. We enjoyed just about every room this place of wonder has to offer. Kurt & Elephant we will be back! Peace & Love Idofish

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

One would expect to pay a lot more for the accommodations offered at Casa 69. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable...all with updated baths, mini-bars, cable television, wireless internet, and a large safe (big enough to hold your laptop). Kurt has invested wisely to make sure that everyone enjoys their experience. Casa 69 is conveniently located and the best option when you need a SAFE place to stay in downtown San Jose.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddd123167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

A friend and I stayed at Casa 69 for 2 nights on our way in and out of Costa Rica. We were in the main house, downstairs, with 2 queen beds. One word describes Casa 69 - CHARMING! The house is so charming with tons of character but modern amenities and furnishings.

Room: The sheets were so soft and the room was very clean. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was delightful with great water pressure. The room also had a tv (with english speaking channels), a fridge with beverages, and a safe.

Main House: The rest of the house is so comfy. The courtyard was by far my favorite and made you forget you were in the middle of a city. The breakfast is very tasty (bread and jam is incredible) and the coffee is to die for. In fact, my friend and I purchased some to bring home - it was that good.

Staff: I cannot say enough about Kurt and his staff. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. Kurt is the most wonderful host and makes you feel like you are staying with an old friend. He was very helpful and a wealth of knowledge for the San Jose area - what to do, where to eat, and so on. And let's not forget about Tina...Tina is the B&B mascot of sorts. She is such a sweet dog, who enjoys a good rub and will howl when you stop. Too cute!

Overall this B&B is AMAZING! It definitely felt like a home away from home and when I come back to San Jose you can bet I am staying here.

Kurt and Staff - You have a wonderful place and thank you so much for making us feel so welcome. We had a fantastic time and can't wait to return one day. We wish you all continued success!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC_BeachGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

My experience at Casa 69 was as pain-free as it gets. First of all, when I made my reservation, the owner, Kurt, sent me an e-mail with detailed directions from the airport to Casa 69 in Spanish for me to print out and give to the taxi driver. I thought this was a superb idea which turned out to work just fine.
My room was impeccable and large. The bathroom was also very clean, although some users might find it a little bit small. The shower was excellent! Remember to leave your used towels on the floor.
Kurt was the best host you can find. I have stayed in $200-$300-a-night hotels, and I can say the attention at Casa 69 has been the best!! Kurt in completely fluent in English, German, and Spanish, so travelers will find it very easy to communicate with him. The staff at Casa 69 are very friendly and will make every effort to accommodate their guests.
The lobby in gorgeous, and serves as a relaxing place where you can plan your day in San Jose. There is free WiFi on the main house only, so you if your are on the other house you will have to go to the lobby to connect to the WiFi (bring your laptop).
A breakfast consisting of coffee, fresh bread, fruits, and natural fruit juice is included. They will prepare more substantial breakfast if you want, but you would have to pay a modest price.
A very important note is that they accept cash only at Casa 69, so be sure to have that in mind before you check out.
Overall, I would highly recommend Casa 69 to anyone visiting San Jose. The next time I return to the city, I will not even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiggieChiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,017 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 78 in San Jose
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 69

Address: Calle 25bis 69 | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: £27 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa 69 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic house built by one of San Jose's most prominent families in 1938 is now a B&B. Let this beautiful old house be your home away from home in San Jose. Located just four blocks east of the National Museum, Barrio California, just 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. Enjoy our rooftop view deck and garden. You can walk to all museums and places of interest like National Theater, Jade Museum, Plaza de la Cultura, Simon Bolivar Zoo as well as many very good restaurants, bars of all kinds and casinos in minutes, city center and PreColumbian Gold Museum. Shopping, San Pedro mall, central market, and the Artisan Market are within a comfortable walking distance. We also have a rooftop patio where you can enjoy the sun, a coffee or drink with friends, while you look out at the sights and mountains around San Jose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa 69 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 69 Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing