We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful hideaway in San Jose CR.”
Review of Casa 69

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa 69
Ranked #2 of 64 San Jose B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delightful hideaway in San Jose CR.”
Reviewed 22 January 2011

A very nice guesthouse, personal attention, clean decor and lovely linens, very good breakfast. Walking distance to Downtown San Jose. Tranquil and relaxing B&B. Wi-Fi on promises: The best price-quality relation.
The owner speak English, French, Spanish and he was very friendly and helpfull to our excursions and getting around San Jose. Great restaurants around like Cafe Mundo A+++.
We were very happy we stayed in Casa 69.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicklausFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    166
    54
    18
    30
See reviews for
59
295
117
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The staff is really what makes this place. We stayed here with another couple twice in January 2011 on our way in and out of Costa Rica. During the planning, Kurt, the owner responded to all my e-mails extremely quickly answering all questions promptly. We had the hotel arrange for pick up and drop off at the airport ($20 US each way) for a quick transition from the airport to the hotel. Once we got to the hotel, Larry ( a friend of Kurt's who fills in while he is away) greeted us and the wonderful staff helped carry our bags to our third floor rooms (9 and 10). These rooms were spacious, with king beds, wall safe, fridge, and TV. The bathroom had a large shower and large soft towels. The one negative is that the toilet and shower are on a step, the sink is one step down and the bedroom is one step lower. This caused a couple stumbles. But we quickly got used to it.

Larry was helpful in suggesting restaurants and making reservations. He also arranged for taxis and directions. The rest of the staff was extremely attentive and helpful. We would stay here again without hesitation.

The price was also great and even though Central San Jose has been said to be shady, we walked around the neighborhood and felt completely safe.

The only real drawback was the noise of the neighborhood and the 6AM train (not so bad, since we tended to have early mornings anyways). Since we were one the top floor, we heard everything, if you were on one of the lower levels, the noise would probably not be too bad.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelingas_sis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa 69 on multiple occasions throughout a 6 month trip. We absolutely loved staying there! The hotel itself is beautiful and in a very good location. It is close to all major attractions and easy to get to. Kurt, the owner, was so wonderful and hospitable to us. He will full of knowledge and knew all about San Jose and ways we could enjoy our time there. He also helped us figure out ways to save money on various occasions, which was very helpful. Overall, we loved Casa 69 and Kurt (and Janz) were so wonderful. Even Tina, their dog, was the friendliest dog We've ever met. All in all, great experience and would definitely go back/recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travelworld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Stayed one night @ Casa 69. Staff was friendly. Helped make arrangements from airport to hotel & from hotel to car rental place the next day. The rooms were comfortable & clean. The common areas, beautiful plant-filled. The included breakfast was delicious, complete with yummy fruit juice & homemade jam. You can add cooked food to the breakfast for a few USD. You'll want to pack earplugs for your sleep, as a street car that runs all night is nearby & several barking dogs are running about. Would recommend & happily return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanElaineFairchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

If this is your first experience in San Jose than you may think reviewers are crazy for recommending this place due to its location. San Jose is a razor wire, security guard, locked door kind of place. But if you need a safe place to stay for a night before heading to the more beautiful parts of Costa Rica then Casa 69 is your place. Tremendous staff and breakfast. It is located near a light rail stop so come prepared with earplugs as the train will begin honking at 6am.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Date of stay was Dec 1 - 4 2010.
Decided to stay at Casa 69 based on the great reviews I read on Trip Adviser. I emailed them and they promptly returned the email with information, rates, (Great Rates!) and offered advice on all questions I had. The manager Kurt had a taxi driver waiting for me at the airport The driver was holding a Hotel69, Casa69 sign for easy pickup. Nothing like feeling connected to your final destination upon arriving in a country you have never been to. The drive to Casa 69 took about 20 min. From the outside it is just a yellow wall with a blue door, neon sign says 69. I was buzzed in to a tropical courtyard leading to the Mediterranean style home with wide open doors breezes flowing thru. As I entered I was welcomed by staff and guests. My room was large and clean, the bed was queen size with extra pillows, the bed had a fresh clean comforter. Most hotels don't bother with the comforter and usually I remove it. This was not the case here. The room had a tile bath shower with no sign of hair, dirt, or mold, great water pressure and hot water that never varied in temp. The bath also had thick soft bath towels and good lighting.
Coffee and Breakfast is served every morning by Kurt and his staff of smiles, greeting you each morning. There was a free phone to call the US, computer wireless that works great and it was free! Kurt would make suggestions to make sure everyone had a great time in Costa Rico. There is no other place to stay, I would go on but just find out for yourself. It is your home in San Jose!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberry, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2010

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and San Jose. We stayed at Casa 69 based on the ratings and recommendations from Trip Advisor. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a great start of our first full day in Costa Rica...we loved the fresh juice. Larry, Kurt and Tina (their dog) made our stay memorable. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishtaleadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 76 in San Jose
284 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 69

Property: Casa 69
Address: 69 calle 25bis | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 69 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic house built by one of San Jose's most prominent families in 1938 is now a B&B. Let this beautiful old house be your home away from home in San Jose. Located just four blocks east of the National Museum, Barrio California, just 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. Enjoy our rooftop view deck and garden. You can walk to all museums and places of interest like National Theater, Jade Museum, Plaza de la Cultura, Simon Bolivar Zoo as well as many very good restaurants, bars of all kinds and casinos in minutes, city center and PreColumbian Gold Museum. Shopping, San Pedro mall, central market, and the Artisan Market are within a comfortable walking distance. We also have a rooftop patio where you can enjoy the sun, a coffee or drink with friends, while you look out at the sights and mountains around San Jose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa 69 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 69 Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing