We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OVERPRICED TOURIST TRAP” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Nuestra Tierra

Restaurante Nuestra Tierra
Ranked #99 of 589 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED TOURIST TRAP”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

don't be fooled by the down to earth look of this restaurant. it is all a stage for getting you to come in and then to take your money for ordinary food at gourmet prices. so your self a favor and keep walking to the museum.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nealcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    157
    136
    78
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

NOT 24/7 AS ANNOUNCED... my husband and I had gone to a late movie and wanted something different afterwards. .. decided to get some typical food. We remembered having seen that this restaurant offered typical food 24/7... When we arrived at 1145 pm we saw the doors closed. .. But people inside. We entered and were sent away quite rudely. We were told that for the last couple months they've been closing at 12 midnight. We left dissatisfied. It was not even midnight and customers were rejected.

I do not recommend this location at all.

Helpful?
Thank Fawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming tourist trap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Huge portions of mediocre food, supposedly typical, but definitely tourist oriented. Overpriced and the server asked for an additional tip for himself! Can't recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive restaurant for tourists!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This restaurants claims to be authentic.....nothing authentic about it. Very touristic with high prices (fruit juice 4 dollars?!). Good waiters and quick service, but how can a waiter ask for more tip if there is allready 10% service charge??!!!
Food was average, would expect more for these prices.

Better go some other place where you actually see locals eating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food but Expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I believe I tried this place about ten years ago, may be the same place, not sure. So i decided to give it a try. I had a great meal but I was surprised to find I my meal was $36 US dollars! I guess, because the location and atmosphere, I was expecting something on the moderate side. My waiter was great, but I can't say my meal was worth $36!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VNSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Nuestra Tierra also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Nuestra Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing