We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Italian!”
Review of L'Olivo

L'Olivo
Ranked #12 of 637 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Italian!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very good quality food with an extensive menu.
The waiter was very friendly and gave some good recommendations!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sairah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    86
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great dinner and even better service”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I visit Costa Rica a few times a year and after I found this restaurant two years ago I keep going back every chance I get. I would say it is the best Italian dinner in San Jose. You can’t go wrong with the fresh pastas. Bruno and his staff are excellent. Would recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

L'Olivo is the restaurant of the hotel where I stayed while getting dental work done in San Jose, and the high quality of the food and service was unexpected. We enjoyed linguine with clam sauce, grilled calamari stuffed with a caper sauce, grilled seabass....all beautifully prepared and delicious. The atmosphere was lively and pleasant, the service excellent and the prices reasonable. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zancudo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food in SJ”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My friend and I ate here together on a short trip to San Jose. I live in the country. The food was outstanding as well as the wine. Our service was very good. There was plenty of wait staff around and you could ask all of them for anything that you needed. I would recommend this place many times over.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliveincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing personal service”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We have come here often since we stay at the hotel for our medidical mission tripsand each time thoroughly enjoy the food and the wait staff are friendly and helpful. Last night special was an amazingly tender veal stew over fettucine . Other dishes we highly recommend would be the eggplant appetizer and the seafood or pasta fagole soup
Nice wine selection at reasonable prices
Do not miss this place if you are in Costa Rica

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frexinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Olivo also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to L'Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing