We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Rinconcito Cuzqueno
Ranked #169 of 862 Restaurants in San Jose
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant twice with friends and both times it has surprised me how quiet it was. Although I am no expert on Peruvian food these were the best Peruvian meals that I have had in San Jose. I had the Ceviche de Corvina and the Pulpo al Ajillo. Both were perfect. My friend told me that he was ashamed that it has taken an Englishman to show him the best restaurant in his neighbourhood. That comment shows just how good it was and how well hidden it is. It is in a small parade of shops on the 147 immediately below the gasolinera.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We got to Rinconcito Cuzqueño to celebrate my mother´s Birthday, we were a group of 9 people . Although the place is relatively small, the menu offers a great variety of Peruvian cuisine, the attention is good and the food of great flavor in a relation price / value according to the quality of the food and the size of the dishes.
We really like Mixed and corvine ceviches, Inti Raymi with sea food and Inti Raymi with shrimps were delicious. My son enjoyed eating rice with shrimp. Chicha Morada was good too. It was a culinary experience worth repeating.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luis Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

This little hidden gem is a great place for informal occasions with awesome quality Peruvian food, again it's a humble looking place but as soon as you taste the food you'll understand why there's a loyal clientele in a regular basis. The prices are competitive $10-$25 and they accept CC.

Authentic Peruvian food cooked by a Peruvian chef, if you're looking for great food beyond a luxurious restaurant this place is for you.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

This is a really good restaurant. If you want to try real Peruvian food in San Jose, this is the place to go. The atmosphere may be not the fanciest or prettiest but the food is great from its taste to its presentation.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

I'm a regular at Rinconcito Cuzqueño which is a restaurant peruvian owned, the Jalea de Mariscos is really good, the soups are also really good, tha Arroz Chaufa is really tasty and of course the ceviches. The service is good but you would like to avoid this place if you're on a hurry because it takes a while for the food to reach your table.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David_RS_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rinconcito Cuzqueno also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
Curridabat, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Rinconcito Cuzqueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing