We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...A Weekend Retreat...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 7 January 2013

A delightful hotel in the heart of a great city. Within walking distance to many cultural and historical sights. It was easy to get to and I was checked into my room in friendly style. The staff was helpful and saw to my every need. The room was clean and had a homey feel to it and the bathroom...pristine white. Wi-Fi signal....excellent. Breakfast was included and quite delicious. Happy hour specials revive the weary traveler. The price was most reasonable...it's an excellent location to take in the downtown scene. I enjoyed the shopping and bustle of city-life. My only regret...I didn't take in the casino...it looked fun.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alinor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Good average for the price. Recommended.

Pros:
- good location in middle of town.
- good security
- air con, room safe (extra charge), clean towels and bedding, soap, shampoo, plenty of hot water, free wi-fi on all floors, hairdryer, TV.
- lift (elevator)
- Reasonably clean
- Fried breakfast with bacon eggs, fruit salad and fruit juice, not at all bad. (Breakfast room a bit scruffy).
- Nice people (although no doubt underpaid, and you may have to work a bit to get behind the masks of a couple of "cool dudes")

Cons:
- rather tired and scruffy
- dated decorations
- musty smells
- battered and dated furniture
- big old 80s TVs
- through-the-wall 80s air con units, noisy, cheap and old
- crummy metal-framed windows with louvred glass
- paint splashes and carpet stains here and there
- TV in breakfast room, always on loud. (For whose benefit?)
- scruffy surroundings (normal for central SJ) but feels quite safe
- noise at night from lively bar nearby (stops about 12.00)

Looks like it had aspirations 30-plus years ago and was well-specified for then. But it has fallen behind the times, and maintenance and replacement have been skimped. You probably get the picture.

Ideally one might like them to upgrade the windows, curtains (drapes), electrical equipment, bathroom fittings, furniture, decorations etc. But that would put it into a higher price band, which is already well served by western chain hotels.

There is a busy but rather down-market casino (mostly coin-op machines) on the ground floor.

At night you will probably see men in the company of younger women, who are probably not their wives (not least because they are smiling at them). But that is everywhere in SJ. Security seems to take very seriously the job of making sure it does not cause any problems.

On balance it is good value, and a perfectly adequate place to stay for a short time if you're not too prissy. I paid £33 a night for a double with shower. Recommended.

Chris

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Allsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Excellent reasonably priced hotel in the downtown of San Jose on corner of Calle7 and Ave.1. Comfortable well-furnished room with excellent bed and linens. Hot showers. Strong box available upon request. I arrived at 0900 and they were kind enough to give me my room right away at no extra cost too. Competitive rates at $57 for single. Try their buffet on the 2nd floor restaurant. Not elegant but excellent Tico style food and friendly staff. For less than CRC3500, I left stuffed to the limit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on Ave 1 side. If your room is overlooking the Key Largo bar, you wont get a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Ireally dislike leaving negative comments, but I was itchIng for days after sleeping in one of their beds. They have a great location so I was able to stay out of the room & enjoy my time in San Jose.

The women who worked there were helpful & caring, even though their male bosses seemed to not treat them well. This hotel can do a lot to improve.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kahntra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Being a young couple late 20's recently engaged we spent our first night at this hotel. We got 2 nights at this hotel included in our flight so it was an extra two days in San Jose.

It was a good hotel. Friendly service, good hospitality, excellent location, decent view from fourth floor. Two streets away from the Grand Hotel which we stayed for one night. It was clean, well maintained and super inexpensive.

I recommend it for 1 or 2 nights in the city.

Do not come here if you expect high class or resort style rooms. It is a small city hotel which is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Openyourminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Good Location, Generally Friendly Efficient Staff- Casino Downstairs open all Night- Reasonably good breakfast- A little rough around the edges- Colorful- Good value for the money- AC and TV-white tile in the bathroom- shower hot and cold hard to regulate
Music from the bars at night was a little to much- The only window was boarded up- There are better rooms than the one they gave me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

If you just want a roof over your head this hotel is for you. This place is moldy and not too clean. The staff is a mixed bag as well. The desk person was very nice but the bell man not so much. This hotel is very busy with the working girls so i would not recommend this place for families. In addition, if they are overbooked they will send you to their sister hotel which does seem very similar and it is virtually impossible to get your money back if you prefer not to stay at that sister hotel.

Room Tip: ask to see the room and check the wall under the windows. Make sure its dry and does not smell mold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#20 of 78 in San Jose
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes
Hotel Arrecifes
#61 of 78 in San Jose
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morazan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morazan Hotel & Casino

Address: 1st avenue & 7th Street | 75 meters South from the Morazán Park kiosc, San José, Costa Rica, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £44 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morazan Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Jose, Costa Rica's capital city, is the ever–growing center of the country's urban lifestyle, and Morazan Hotel & Casino is right at the heart of it all. Whether you're looking to visit the city's landmarks, such as the National Theatre, learn about Costa Rican art, culture or history in one of our many museums, including the National and Jade Museums filled with wondrous pieces of aboriginal heritage, partake on business activities in one of the thousands of companies and institutions allocated in San Jose, enjoy the local and international gastronomy or simply have a good time making part of the city's nightlife, this is the place to be. At Morazan you don't stay with strangers, you visit friends, and we are always happy to do anything in our reach to make sure you have a wonderful time at our hotel. Whether you're here for a vacation, just spending one night or simply to enjoy a meal at Tropical Sport Bar & Restaurant, there will always be a smile waiting for you. 20 flat screen TVs and premium satellite cable let you enjoy all the major sports events at our Sport Bar & Restaurant, from the thrill of the Super Bowl to the adrenaline of a UFC fight, our delicious menu is the perfect companion for a perfect evening. Are you feeling lucky? Casino Tropical on our main floor is open 24/7 to let you test your luck in our variety of slot machines and card games, so you can win big without ever even leaving the building. With the friendliest staff in San Jose and one of the best menus for a casino of its class, the biggest risk you take is wanting to move in with us permanently. Contact us to learn more about our personalized services for groups or businesses, such as special meal plans, a fully equipped conference room, an upcoming business center and much more. We can't wait for you to visit us, so make your reservation now! Morazan. More than a client, a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Morazan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Casino Costa Rica Morazan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing