We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start, great finish”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Rafael de Escazu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainforest Dreams Bed & Breakfast
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great start, great finish”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We started and ended our three week trip to Costa Rica at Rainforest Dreams. From our first inquiring email right through to our departure, we were treated wonderfully. Rainforest arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport, and as we landed at 6:30 in the morning, that made for a smooth, easy introduction to the country. Our hosts, Paul and Carol, were friendly and charming, happy to answer our many questions. They arranged for our first transfer up to La Fortuna, and the driver they recommended was fantastic. (He became 'our' driver for the whole trip, an unexpected bonus.)

Our rooms were clean, pretty and comfortable. Breakfasts were great. We had use of the kitchen once breakfast was over, and we (six of us) made ourselves very much at home. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowbuntings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at RainForest Dreams B & B at the beginning and end of our three week venture in Costa Rica in mid January and early February 2011. Initially we were looking for a location of convenience between the airport in San Jose and our travel destinations, but it turned out to be much more than this!

Paul and Carole made us feel very welcome, provided us with advice, delicious breakfasts and a very comfortable accommodation. To stay at RainForest Dreams B & B was a holiday in itself! We are birders and enjoyed the humming-birds, tanagers, Parakeets and many other birds that visit the many tropical plants that Carole grows on the patio. There was also a great variety of birds in the canyon visible by peering over the wall of the terrace. We also birded in the hills on the nearby slope of San Antonio which we reached by public buses.

The rooms are comfortable, there are also sitting room, dining room and patio facilities all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. The location is in a safe residential neighbourhood of San Rafel de Escazu, just outside of San Jose. There are efficient and inexpensive taxi services between the two locations - and Paul was happy to assist in these arrangements ahead of time. The B & B is within walking distance of shops and pleasant restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichJohnStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placida, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed at Rainforest Dreams for three months this year from April through July and came to love this little gem of an Oasis in the San Jose area. The staff made us very welcome and took excellent care of us. They were eager to help guide us around the area and point our areas of interest. All the amenities we could want were within easy walking distance of the B&B - shopping, restaurants, etc.

The facilities are very comfortable and we especially loved the patio area. There is also a large selection of books and videos available for guests. We stayed in "the treehouse" and loved it. We enjoyed the hummingbirds and butterflies that visited us on our balcony.

Breakfast was a wonderful treat every morning...fresh fruit, gallo pinto, yogurt, juices and they will cook you eggs any way you like or pancakes. There is usually a nice assortment of breads or pastries as well.

We can truly say we enjoyed meeting the many different guests that came and stayed during our 3-month stay. We feel we have made new life-long friends with the staff (Hi guys! Miss you!). Rainforest Dreams became our home away from home and we look forward to returning in the near future.

Aileen and Richard

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uvita, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The bedding and linens are excellent quality and comfort. The decor in the common area is refreshing and relaxing. Breakfast is delicious with nice choice of breads and high quality coffee which is brewed very early.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed at this bed and breakfast our first and last night in Costa Rica, and it was the perfect place to unwind at the beginning and end of our travels. The location is wonderful—Rainforest Dreams is about 20 minutes from the airport, which certainly was welcome news given our 6:24 am flight back to the United States. It's also a bit removed from the hubbub of downtown San Jose, making it a perfect stop for first-time travelers such as ourselves as we got our bearings. The B&B itself is really cute, especially the back patio area, which has beautiful plants and a great hammock for relaxing. The staff was incredibly helpful and went out of their way to help us with everything from booking cabs to preparing us a delicious breakfast of coffee and gallo pinto. The rooms/bathrooms were clean and comfortable. We'd absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KippyKose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Rainforest Dreams was the perfect stop over to rest after getting in to San Jose at 6am and then again the night before we left. The staff was courteous and accomodating, the rooms are clean, bright and breezy. The breakfast of Gallo Pinto, fresh fruit, toast, eggs and coffee really hit the spot and gave us energy to head out and see the sights of Costa Rica. I would recommend this B&B to anyone, anytime!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Rafael de Escazu hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Laurin B&B
Casa Laurin B&B
#1 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
352 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas del Ri...
#2 of 2 in San Rafael de Escazu
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Casa Reflejos
Aparthotel Casa Reflejos
#1 of 2 in San Rafael de Escazu
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa de las Tias
Casa de las Tias
#2 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dream House Escazu
Hotel Dream House Escazu
#1 of 1 in San Rafael de Escazu
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Dreams Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Dreams Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rainforest Dreams Bed & Breakfast
Address: Urbanizacion Los Anonos, Casa 96, San Rafael de Escazu 40501, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet, safe, upscale neighborhood near a vibrant commercial area, our location gives you the advantages and convenience of urban living. However, inside our walls you’ll find the tranquility of the countryside. Our rooms are inspired by the less-traveled corners of this beautiful land, and our food is from local farms. Relax in a hammock on the patio or read or meditate in our Treetop Hideaway. Stretch out in a beautiful bed and awake to a complete breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainforest Dreams Bed & Breakfast Province Of San Jose, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing