We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de las Tias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa de las Tias
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We selected Casa de las Tias after reading a recommendation in Christopher Baker's 'Moon Guide to Costa Rica.' I'm very glad we did. Everything about the stay there (we stayed 10 days) was superb. Pilar and Xavier were wonderful. We really felt at home with them. We had the 'Junior Suite' on the second floor and it was very comfortable. The front and rear patios were terrific for sitting, reading, and watching the birds and butterflies. The entire property is charming. The breakfasts were far beyond my expectations: fresh juice, egg dishes and meats of various sorts, croissants and toast. Better breakfasts than I ever eat at home. But, hey! It's vacation!. The best part was getting to know Pilar and Xavier. They were very, very helpful when we had questions about how to get somewhere or where to go. They arranged our rides to and from the airport, had rides available whenever we needed them during our stay, and gave us a real feel for what it is like to live in Costa Rica. Casa de las Tias is a great place to stay if you want to explore the Central Valley for a few days or even if it's just a way station on the way to some other beautiful part of Costa Rica. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We didn't see the larger suite on the main floor, but we liked being on the second floor in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    33
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
148
40
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed here the last two nights of our holiday and it was lovely to be greeted by Xavier and Pilar who are wonderful hosts. The house is really pretty with a lovely garden and is decorated with all sorts of interesting items from their travels. Our room was spacious and beautiful and breakfast was delicious. I wasn't feeling too well one day and they couldn't have been more helpful and considerate. We didn't go to San Jose, but I think this would be a much better alternative than staying in the city. We had planned our trip to coincide with the annual oxcart festival which takes place just up the road from the house, and it was amazing - over 100 oxen and carts, all beautifully decorated. We would thoroughly recommend Casa de las Tias.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojojo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We only stayed one night this February. I thought that it was a great value for the amount we paid ($80ish). We enjoyed the cool mountain breezes, the lovely atmosphere, and our gracious hosts. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and hummingbirds visit while you are eating breakfast. There are several areas for guests to sit outside if they don't have a balcony room (we didn't). Xavier is from NM so he was able to give us the scoop on area restaurants we could walk to. The house is old (historic) and wooden but very clean and well kept. They collect colorful art from around Latin America and it is in every room. The bathrooms are new and very nice. There is no air conditioning but with the lovely mountain breezes coming in, you don't need it.

We had no problems finding it but we had visited Escazu many times in the past. The road into the place is hard to spot since it almost looks like an alley or drive way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Beautifull house in pleasant surroundings and the leners are lovely people whom really make you feel at home!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in the junior suite our second and third nights in Costa Rica. We had an amazing stay, to say the least. We are in the country on an extended stay so while at Casa de las Tias we were very homesick and scared but Pilar and Xavier were more than accommodating. Breakfast is a dream. I have a more comprehensive review here:

http://withourlegsontheedge.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/casa-de-las-tias/

Right near everything you need in San Rafael Escazu yet tucked away you get a break from the noise and especially the pollution. You will not be disappointed!

Jessie and Nick

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were directed to this unique Bed & Breakfast by our jungle lodge host, when we found we had to spend one night waiting on our flight. Instantly I wished we had more nights to spend in San Jose to explore from this safe, secure and beautiful headquarters. We came to see birds and they were right there in the yard, including on of the most beautiful birds in the world, the blue-crowned mot mot. We had a scrumptious hot and homemade breakfast with other travelers and enjoyed the company of our hosts Xavier and Pillar. I strongly recommend a stay here -- the rooms are glossy wood with windows open to the breeze. Soft clean linens welcome you to the comfy beds. We were so excited to start our jungle adventure in the welcoming arms of "the Uncles."

Room Tip: They were all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janel54171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I had a wonderful stay at this little gem. Javier and Pilar went out of their to ensure that our stay would be comfortable. NIce location within walking distance to very nice restaurants and stores. Javier directed us to a very nice Argentine steakhouse.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsandoval562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael de Escazu
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Tias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Tias

Property: Casa de las Tias
Address: Apdo 295-1200, San Rafael de Escazu 33102, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Tias 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Tias is a sprawling Victorian-style house set on a 2,300m.Estate in the charming town of San Rafael de Escaza, just 10 minutes from San Jose. The airy cedar house is unique; each room decorated with original art from various Latin American countries, and featuring private bath and ceiling fan. Within a block, visitors can enjoy a wide choice of fine restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Casa de las Tias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Tias Province Of San Jose, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing