We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a four star facility but I give it five stars. The suites are large, modern, and kept immaculated clean. The rooms are comfortable, there is a kitchen with fridge, miscrowave, etc., and wi-fi access in the room is very good. This complex is very secure, and the employees are uniformly helpful and friendly. The small business center is free, the breakfast very good, and the fitness facility appreciated and modern. There is a busy road out front, but one can walk to the grocery. Don't look for historical atmosphere here, but this modern complex is a great gateway to Costa Rica. Escazu is expensive, so I thought that this hotel was a good deal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennsylvaniab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Located in the center if Escazu rooms are clean pet friendly easy access
Prices are very fair
Easy access to the multiplazza (big mall)
By the freeway or the old road San Rafael
De Escazu
Parking is free breakfast too
Excellent security

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Makes you feel at home. Facilities are ok. Not a modern style but well keeper. Service is outstanding. Starting at the chek in, service ladies, gate man, everyone has a greeting for you and are looking for help you.
GReat playground, just what children need.
They are able to solve whatever need you have during your stay.

Room Tip: You may choose apartments with just one bedroom, two or even three bedrooms. Every apartment has a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at the villas del rio during our recent trip to Costa Rica. Excellent choice, real value for money. The rooms are spacious & comfortable. The front desk folks are very helpful with tour bookings and pleasant. There is a nice little pizza place called Pane e Vino just down the road towards the left. For vegetarians who don't speak Spanish get the "Livio". It is out of this world, delicious & loaded with veggie toppings.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 365-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a two thumbs and one paw up review for the Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio in Escazu, Costa Rica. We have stayed here perhaps eight times in the past two years and everytime the hotel staff has been extremely friendly and attentive. (Birthday wishes were recently received via e-mail). The hotel specializes in apartments/suites and it is wonderful to have multiple bathrooms, a kitchen and separate living room in additon to the bedroom(s). The hotel is well maintained with two beautiful swimming pools - the tropical plants are amazing. A nice breakfast is included in the price of the apartment/suite and the hotel provides free transportation to and from the San Jose (Santamaria) International Airport.

Beyond having very nice facilities, this hotel is extremely well situated for shopping at the stores in Escazu which is a huge plus for guests who live at least part time in Costa Rica and are seeking some upscale stores. It is also located very near CIMA Hospital.

But as the title of this review suggests, the biggest plus for us is that Villas Del Rio is pet friendly. Our dog Neemo loves Villas Del Rio. During our next to last visit, the hotel staff arranged a pet sitter for Neemo while we went sight seeing (day one) and visited a dentist in downtown San Jose (day two). The pet sitter more than met our expectations.

So why not an excellent rating? The one downside to Villas is that it is located on a busy street and there is considerable street noise (e.g. motorcycles) in some, if not all, of the rooms. There are many upsides to the location (shopping, restaurants, located across the street from the Country Club of Costa Rica) but the street noise cannot be overlooked and prevents us giving the very highest rating.

Despite the noise, we plan to return to Villas on August 1st.

Bill, Linda and Neemo Gossard
Arenal, Costa Rica; Miami, FL

Room Tip: Unfortunately, it is our experience that all of the rooms have noise issues on account of the busy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed twice, loved the amenities and the care provide by staff. Very accommodating, beautifully maintained suites and grounds, they really looked after all our needs from arranging airport transportation for us and for our guests, to booking tours, recommending private drivers, changing rooms for us mid-stay, arranging VIP lounge passes for the flight home. Location is excellent, close to beautiful scenery, hiking, excellent restaurants. Fully equipped gym more than adequate, always available. Pool area way above expectations, surrounded by hibiscus and bougaWide rnvillia blossoms. We plan to make this an annual visit.

Room Tip: Wide range of suites available to suit single, family, guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio are comparable to a Residence Inn ... in that they are designed to provide an apartment, rather than a basic hotel room. Having stayed in both the Escazu Residence Inn and Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio, there is no comparison! The Residence Inn in Escazu is good,,,but

The Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio property has two pools, a play area for children, bar-b-que facilities, and much more, The suites/apartments (and traveling alone, I stayed in one of the smaller units!) are very spacious and well equipped (down to the two wine glasses and bottle of wine on the table!). The breakfast, included with the room, is a typical continental breakfast - eggs/omelets cooked to order are also available. There are several good restaurants within a easy 10 minute walk - or plenty of delivery available.

Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio is located in a very upscale (i.e., safe) area, walking to and from shops and restaurants is safe and easy. Of course, a taxi is only 5 minutes away. Shopping at the Multiplaza, or medical care at CIMA Hospital are only a few minutes away by cab ...or about a pleasant 30 minute walk.

The staff of Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio were extremely helpful and friendly - from the desk staff, to the breakfast buffet staff, cleaning staff, and gentlemen on the front gate. Rooms were very clean and neat, and if anything was needed a call to the front desk was all that was needed.

On my next trip, I'll be staying at Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael de Escazu
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1 mi away
Aparthotel Casa Reflejos
Aparthotel Casa Reflejos
#2 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
131 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 78 in San Jose
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
5 mi away
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
#29 of 78 in San Jose
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#7 of 13 in Escazu
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio

Address: | P.O. Box 1188-1007, San Rafael de Escazu 1188-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range: £66 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find that at Villas del Ro, your stay will definitely feel a lot closer to home.The furnished apartments and fully equipped kitchens provide everything necessary to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable. With daily maid and laundry service, as well as a mini- market with a wide assortment of products.• Apartment-suites with one, two or three bedrooms• Cable TV, air conditioning, voice mail• Meeting room and a free 24 hour internet service• 2 swimming pools (1 heated), Jacuzzi and playground• Extensive gardens and designated pet areas• BarAt Villas del Río they take good care of the guest. The strict security measures and surveillance guarantee that your stay will be free of worries.• Spacious FREE private parking• 24 hours security• Electronic safe deposit boxesApartotel & Suites Villas del Río has an excellent strategic location for your next business or leisure trip. The elegant and ample apartments with all the modern amenities make you feel at home.• Friendly staff eager to help you 24 hours a day• Additional services and assistance upon request• Easy access to some of the most important shopping and entertainment centers, office buildings, restaurants and other services• Free shuttle service from and to the Airport (24 hours)The various lodging solutions, competitive rates as well as ideal facilities and outstanding services make Apartotel & Suites Villas del Ro one of your best choices in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel And Suites Villas Del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio Hotel San Rafael De Escazu
Apartotel Hotel Del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio Province Of San Jose, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing