We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will never want to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tobacco Caye Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobacco Caye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tobacco Caye Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tobacco Caye
L.A. , California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will never want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at this resort for four days and three nights. The staff were very helpful and nice to be around. The food was amazing, every lunch and dinner there was fresh food. The water is perfect for swimming and snorkaling.

Room Tip: Get the blue house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamHodges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    29
    11
    8
    12
See reviews for
10
50
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

On a recent sea-kayaking trip island hopping between the Central Cayes of Belize and camping on the beaches, we almost didn't go to Tobacco Caye having heard that we would be squeezed in between the various lodge buildings but it ended up being our favorite caye! We camped at Tobacco Caye Lodge in a great setting amongst palm trees right on the water's front in front of their cabins but far away enough not to be an issue. We ate several meals at the lodge, all good Belizean food, and having the bar there was great. Lots to see on the island both from the docks and underwater snorkeling, and everyone there was very friendly. Not sure if we just got lucky in that there weren't many people around it being towards the end of the season but we enjoyed it so much we spent 3 nights there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisandpeterCanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Booked for 4 days in Feb 2013 but left after 2 days. This island is a paradise but completely ruined by people. There's garbage everywhere including all over the coral reef. The bartender has a scratchy little boom box that he cranks at full volume from 9pm until late. One of the nights a party boat landed with 20 people who camped just outside our cabin and squealed and screamed all night. The 3 meals/day are mostly canned food (including Kraft dinner) and almost inedible. Expect the worst of everything if you plan to visit here and maybe it'll be ok? The snorkeling is easy (and free), but other than that there are better places to see.

Room Tip: Paradise lodge might be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank torontoeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. The best thing about this spot is that it runs the only store and bar so you can include all you purchases on your room account and pay at the end. Good food, great staff and nice accommodation make this lodge one of the best!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikethorn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Accommodation was slightly above backpacker grade. Tobacco Caye Paradise seems to be nicer location, but a kayak tour company (island adventures) seems to have booked all rooms and we were not able to see them. The food was simple, slightly weird(bologna bacon?) but good. If you go fishing, they'll cook your fish/ lobster for you.

It is a very peaceful island- if you want to read or just relax in the hammock, then this is the perfect spot.

We had the best day of snorkeling ever just the other (east?) side of the reef from the island. Visibility was well over 100', and there was lots of sea life in 15' of water. However the wind changed next day and the visibility dropped so it was not nearly as good. We did the manatee tour but did not see them- others we spoke too on previous days got to swim so we were just unlucky. We also did one dive on the local reef- which was ok.

It was very nice, but we were definately ready to go to our next spot after three days of reading books and sitting in hammocks. We ended up chartering a boat from captain buck to go directly to our next stop in Hopkins- $120us for 6 of us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zacatecoluca, El Salvador
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

One thing to keep in mind is that there is very little on Tobacco Caye, except a handful of guest houses. So one has to take what is there. This place had cute little cabins right on the water, but our toilet did not flush, the lights (except for one overhead) did not work, there was no hot water, (although there was supposed to be) and the food (all the guest houses are all inclusive) was usually cold and come on - spaghetti with bologna? But having said all that, the place itself was heaven. The barrier reef is right off shore and the snorkeling is fabulous. There is plenty of cold beer, the people are very friendly, and it is a wonderful place to just be, with no need to run around and get things accomplished. None of the other places on the caye looked "better", so we simply ignored our "first world standards" and totally enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Elena, Cayo, Belize
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

For those of you looking for real snorkeling opportunities, Tobacco Caye is where those who know go. The island is 5 acres, very small, but it sits right on the reef. Guests can jump off the docks and swim to snorkeling areas in a few minutes. The housing is minimalist, as most of the time is spent outdoors or swinging in the hammocks on the porch or in the palm trees. The room rates, including three meals a day, using local catches and ingredients, are hard to beat though there are other accommodations on the island. There are a couple of bars and the island folks are very friendly.

Local captains will take guests into the Marine Reserve for dives with several stops, mangrove dives and manatee spotting. The guides are very knowledgeable and conscientious towards a variety of skill levels. If the weather isn't good for diving, they will tell you.

For non-snorkelers, there isn't much to do which is just what you may be looking for to unwind. Reading and napping, sitting and staring at the sea, watching the fishermen working or taking incredible photos are always options. The star gazing at night is amazing. Be sure to bring bug spray, sunscreen and a flashlight.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobacco Caye
13.4 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
14.4 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
11.5 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 5 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
4.3 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
5.8 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobacco Caye Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobacco Caye Lodge

Property: Tobacco Caye Lodge
Address: Tobacco Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Tobacco Caye
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tobacco Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tobacco Caye Hotel Tobacco Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing