We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Camp”

Parnell Creek RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parnell Creek RV Park
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place to Camp”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a great location to camp if you want to go to the US Space & Rocket Center. We camped two nights. They have Direct TV boxes to rent for $2 a day - highly suggest if you don't have satellite rent the box. We did and enjoyed the channels. The internet is satellite and slow and you can check email and do internet research. We gave up using it. The bathrooms were very clean. The owners are very helpful in providing information on places to visit. Everything was great except the internet but in that country area that is all they have. We would camp there again if in the area - easy in and out from the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nalcrest, Florida
Level Contributor
264 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

we stayed at parnell creek w/our Rv for the week. very nice place. well maintained & well cared for. the owners are terrific. this is one hard working family. we're in the area to stop at unclaimed baggage center. there is so much to do in this area. a lot of folks mentioned the noise from the highway. yes, it's always there in the background. hey, just turn up the TV. this is not a reason not to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We took advantage of a mid-week special at Parnell in order to go to Cathedral Caverns just down the street. We had never been to this area before but love 'spelunking,' so this worked to our advantage. The mid-week special meant there weren't a lot of other campers when we arrived, but on Thursday the park was beginning to fill up (I would recommend reservations or calling ahead). The owner is VERY friendly and accommodating. The park is well-maintained with lots to do: putt-putt golf, dog run, very small fitness room. pavilions for get-togethers and grilling. We have a 29 foot travel trailer and the pull-in site we were given was one of the longest and widest we've ever had. The grassy area just outside our door had a fire ring and picnic table (no grill). But, the grass was freshly mowed, the gravel driveway was even, and, although there was no shade, a small tree had been planted for future shade. This park even has a salt-water pool, which was clean and well-kept. We had never been in a salt-water pool before, so this was a very pleasant experience. I'm sold on salt-water pools now. This rv park is about 30 minutes from Huntsville, 15 minutes from Scottsboro. There are many, many restaurants within 10 minutes, as well as Wal-Mart...and just about anything else you'd want to see or do.

The only reason we gave this park 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the poor Wi-fi connection; we rarely were able to connect and, if we did, the signal was weak.Also, although there is NOTHING the owners can do about it, the highway noise, if you're a light sleeper, can be a bit heavy, especially early in the morning.

As I said, we would stay here again because the park is nice, the owners friendly, and it's in the middle of just about anything you'd want to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Republic, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The cabin was torn down during the winter of 2013. Kevin turned it into another RV site. So try one of their other cabins and see what you think. The area is handy to Scottsboro, Huntsville, local caves for spelunkers, Walls of Jericho for hikers and Guntersville Lake for fishing, swimming, boating, water skiing, or any other water sport.

Room Tip: The Roberts family are truly first rate hosts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcumcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruffin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at this campground in the Cozy cabin and found it to be a quaint cabin. We read another review about the cabin and didn't find anything like they did. We have stayed at this cabin 5 times over the last 3 years and have always found it clean. The cabin is over 10 years old, so don't expect the Ritz Carlton. But it did serve our purposes. We loved the stove that has 2 ovens so that we could cook two things at once. It is an old stove that still had the clock that runs all the time. It reminds me of my grandmothers stove. The bedroom is always very neat and clean, we have never seen any spiders or cob webs. The previous owners didn't put the shower in correctly, so there can be a small odor, but the owners have a cover for it and it didn't bother us at all. We will definitely stay there again! They also offer breakfast every Sunday morning and it is great. This is a family friendly park and we enjoy our visits.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here In a travel trailer on a holiday weekend. Owners will bend over backwards to make you happy. Bathrooms are super clean. They have activities planned each day and night. Again we stayed on holiday weekend when they had a live band and free watermelon. They had some full-timers... TVA employees and such, but everyone was very kind. Only reason I gave it a 4 star is there is no shade. The grounds are kept very nice. Gravel sites. Saltwater pool is wonderful! We even played a round of putt putt golf. It was not a bad drive into Huntsville to go see where they do the rockets and such. Don't forget to eat at Greenbrier (Greenbrier rd and Country Rd 10... Not the one near the interstate).

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thebears843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This is one of those places you just don't know how to review. I mean, it isn't the kind of place you'd call nice, but it has some type of charm that just can't be denied. Before you visit, check out their website. What you see is what you get.
We'd originally planned to camp in our pop-up, but at the last minute decided to rent one of their small cabins. The difference in price was less than $10 and we figured we'd save that in gas. The owner did not give us any trouble over swapping at such a late date. We'd notified the owner's that we'd be arriving late, so they left us a map on the office door with our name written on it indicating our cabin location. We'd arranged to have the cabin unlocked and the keys left inside. Our unit was called "The Hitchin Post". It was basically a modest sized storage shed like the ones sold at major home improvement stores that was creatively turned into sleeping quarters. Our unit had a full sized mattress on a platform type support on the bottom, with a little loft built above. The loft was accessible by a ladder, but there was only a half inflated air mattress for the kids to sleep on so dad slept in the truck. Poor daddy! The unit had a small desk with chair, a small electric heater resembling an old iron stove, and a microfridge. The unit was lit by a small lamp and had three small windows. In addition, the unit had several electrical outlets along with an A/C unit. We thought it was very creatively converted. Most importantly, the room was fairly clean. The floor looked clean, the mattress had a white vinyl cover, and the inside of the fridge was clean. We checked the unit over for spiders, and only found one small one. Other than a few cobwebs, we found no other signs of critters. The grounds were mainly gravel, and seemed level. We did not have a huge amount of interaction with the owners, but they seemed very nice. They even deliever any firewood you purchase from them to your site. Small bundles are $3 each and ours burned easily and gave off a nice smell (pine or cedar?) We also took advantage of the free Sunday morning breakfast. You know you're in the South when iced sweet tea is served with breakfast!
Pros: Hospitality, great central location for visiting several AL state parks and attractions (like space center, cathedral cavers, desoto falls), reasonably priced, and cleaner than many camgrounds we've visited.
Cons: As others have noted, the campground does sit right on the side of the road so road noise may be an issue for light sleepers. The front bath house should be avoided in my opinion. The ones toward the back are much newer and have the appearance of being cleaner and seem to function better.
Overall: We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aflipfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Parnell Creek RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parnell Creek RV Park

Property: Parnell Creek RV Park
Address: 115 Parnell Cir, Woodville, AL 35776-6413
Region: United States > Alabama > Woodville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Woodville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 34 campsites and 2 rental units. We have planned activities such as bingo, cards, and movie night. Give us a chance to show you some southern hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing