We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to eat in Barrow”

Sam & Lee's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Barrow
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Place to eat in Barrow”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Kim's are spectacular. They take such extraordinary pride in their level of service and food. I have eaten there several times and have to say, absolute best breakfast in Barrow. Not even close. The lunch buffet is the best value in Barrow and the food is great. Dinner menu is varied. The Chinese menu is great but American cuisine is also good. It is by far the best place to eat in Barrow.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WIAKtravaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Great Food and helpful owner. Quickly made our breakfast since we had a flight to catch. Close to the ocean and Top of the world hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karthik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hearty breakfast”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

We ate breakfast here both days we were here and were treated to a good hearty breakfast to get us through the cold weather while searching for polar bears. Everything we ordered was standard breakfast fare of eggs sausage and pancakes. All was prepared to order with efficient and friendly service. The owner was gracious and made us feel at home. Definitely recommended before heading out to look for bears and other wildlife.

Helpful?
1 Thank GWandCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Buffet”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Ask for Ms. Kim, she is the owner. Upstairs is an amazing buffet! Ribs, sushi, pizza, rice, noodles, fried chicken, soup, jalapeno poppers, and more. Mike Shults recommended her and we were glad he did.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food doesn't match the great view”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The only good thing I can say about this restaurant was the view. The restaurant is beachfront overlooking the famous whalebone arches. The egg rolls tasted like store bought egg rolls that were coated in batter and deep fried, but not drained properly making them greasy. The pork fried rice was average.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travlgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam & Lee's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sam & Lee's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing