We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you stay anywhere else, you'll reget it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Eider Inn of Barrow Alaska
Ranked #2 of 5 Barrow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the King Eider and this hotel far exceeded my expectations. The super friendly and helpful staff, the clean and comfortable rooms and the amazing hospitality are all reasons to stay here. The hotel has a very friendly cozy feeling, from the fire place and chess set in the lobby to taking off one's shoes when you enter the lobby. The full kitchenette is a plus, complete with pots, pans dishes and silverware. We actually saw the Top Of The World hotel and from the outside, it looks too corporate, not inviting like the King Eider. One goes to Barrow as a tourist to interact with the people. The King Eider aids in this and makes the trip more enjoyable. The walk from the airport to the lobby was far shorter that the walk to the parking garage in Phoenix!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for King Eider Inn of Barrow Alaska
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the inn, very close to the airport, but not noisy.

The room was clean and decent size, I like the bathroom especially as the shower (is it not just a tube with shower curtain, it is more like a shower cubicle). The inn has free wifi, and a lot of tv channels.

Jack (front desk) was very help in recommanding places to eat, visit and tour guide (although our tour guide decided not to show up).

I would stay here again if I go back to Barrow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jules025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We arrived expecting to stay at The Top Of The World Hotel but found it had burnt down. We ended up at the King Eider Inn. Jack, on the front desk, was a legend and helped us so much. Although we couldn't stay there the first night, he helped us find somewhere to stay and we stayed at The King Eider Inn the second night. Great location, close to everything. Rooms are big and clean. Get Jack to arrange a tour with Mike - he is great too! THOROUGHLY recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I spent the weekend at this hotel with my husband and we were pleasantly surprised with our accommodations. We didn't have high expectations, but the rooms were clean and quiet and the owners/operators were very nice and helpful. You have to take your shoes off in the lobby, but that helps keep everything clean and dry. The mattresses were a little hard and the pillows were very flat, but again, I didn't have high expectations to start. The hotel was located less than 1 block from the airport - for sure walking distance, even in the 20 degree weather! Again, the front desk staff were very helpful in giving us recommendations for the area as well as names and numbers of local tour guides. If I go back to Barrow, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very nice, great place to stay in Barrow. For such a remote place this hotel is the best. The family that runs it does a great job with upkeep etc. Have stayed here at least once or twice a year for the past 15 years and have never had a bad night. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KKfromAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If this hotel was in the middle of Seattle, I would probably only give it 3 dots at most. It's not the Four Seasons. However, for rural Alaska this is in incredible place to stay. For starters, it is walking distance to/from the airport, even with a good amount of luggage. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. The hotel is modern and well appointed. They provided us with names of people that could give us tours of the city and Point Barrow to see polar bears. We did end up seeing polar bears on both trips out. They also gave solid restaurant recommendations. The WiFi internet is solid, which is incredibly important to me. The TV had every channel we could ever want (we were able to watch all of the college football games we wanted to see). They also have a selection of DVD's to rent and watch if needed. When the wind chill dips below zero, it's nice to have such distractions in our nice cozy room. The hotel and rooms are modern and well appointed. The kitchenette is useful to store and reheat restaurant leftovers. We did end up with 2 standard full size beds, and when you are used to a queen, these do seem a bit small. However, if I end up going back to Barrow, I will surely stay at The King Eider Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank foodnwine2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

King Eider Inn is a alternative to stay while in Barrow. Conveniently located directly across from the airport. The manager and his family are very friendly and run a nice place. The outside doesn't look that impressive, but then again, nothing looks impressive on the outside in Barrow. The inside is very cozy - nice lobby, warm and comfortable. Rooms are clean and in good repair. No A/C (duh!) but they did have fans in each of our rooms due to the hot spell while we were there. They prepared some whale meat that a native friend had brought over and let us sample it - nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goosegoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to King Eider Inn of Barrow Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Eider Inn of Barrow Alaska

Address: 1752 Ahkovak Street, Barrow, AK 99723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Barrow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barrow
Price Range: £115 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — King Eider Inn of Barrow Alaska 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in April of 1998, King Eider Inn is the premier hotel located north of the Arctic Circle in Barrow, Alaska, the most northern town in all of North America.Highly regarded as the top lodging destination in Barrow, we take pride in providing the cleanest, coziest, friendliest, and most comfortable experience for all our guests that choose to stay with us.Furnished in beautiful Pine Log furniture, some of the amenities we provide include a private Sauna room reserved exclusively for our guests, complementary wireless Internet, a warm lobby fireplace, wheelchair accessible rooms, and Eskimo crafts & gifts at our front desk. Fresh coffee and tea is served every morning in the lobby.On your next trip to Barrow, we hope you decide to stay with us and look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King Eider Inn Of Barrow Alaska Hotel Barrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing