We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BluesBerry Inn”
Review of BluesBerry Inn

BluesBerry Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cantwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BluesBerry Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cantwell B&B and Inns
Devine, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BluesBerry Inn”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was more of a lodge than an inn, but having been in this area before, it was considerably cheaper than other facilities and had as much to offer as some of the more pricey places. The manager is a great guy who really goes out of his way to help you enjoy your stay. He seems to be trying his best to improve this facility. He is, also, very helpful with information concerning the area attractions and events. I wish him good luck in his ventures and hope he is able to make this place an A1 lodging. The place has potential and he has ambition; and for the price of a room for one evening, it was a great deal. It's location is perfect for visiting Denali National Park!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Definitely the more affordable option when staying near Denali. Any where with 5-10 miles were charging 200 bucks. Bluesberry charged 100 bucks (you are 25 miles away). but you get what you pay for. The TV wasn't working, the dingy looking clock was out. It looked like we were the only ones there. The owner Rod was very nice though. Super friendly (a little to friendly) and very accommodating.

Room Tip: I slept in the hotel portion and wasnt too crazy about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wuzzupall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. Very personable and accomidating. Our car broke down 10 miles down the road. The owner offered to come pick us up and was wonderful. The room was surprisingly nice (we stayed in the caribou room). I've stayed in places in big cities that weren't as clean and nice as this place. Very relaxing and a nice midpoint for travelers or if you are touring Denali National park, as the room rates are at least double what you will pay here. Not to mention it's a lot more peaceful here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here in early June before going to Denali the next morning. We booked this place over the internet and found it nothing like the "hipe" listed. First of all we called the owner/manager as he'd instructed an hour before our expected arrival. We never could get him to answer his phone and had to wait at the property while we tried to locate him. The cabin was extremely sparse with no amenities. We were never able to connect to the internet and only received a snowy picture on the small TV. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the inn on Saturday night sept15th,We were welcomed by the owner,very pleased with the room,very clean,treated very well and are sure to return in the future.The owner provided us with fresh ground coffee an creamers,Very pet friendly.I personally want to thank the owner for a warm welcome and any questions we had were answered as well as his availability.Well worth the price and the trip.....Thanks Darren,Debbie,and Shelby Nault

Room Tip: Sorry no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbi82104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at the Inn prior to the day we went to Denali Nat Park tour. We had a restful stay and appreciated the simpleness of the accommodations. There was plenty of room in the Cabin for 5 people. There was sat TV and wireless internet. The unit was clean and had adequate furnishings.

The owner/manager was very helpful and courteous. We appreciated his advise and went to pick blueberries a few miles away off the Denali highway.

If we go again to that area, we would certainly stay there again!! It was not a five star resort but it was what we needed -- simple and affordable!!

Perhaps the people giving negative responses/reviews here were expecting too much!!

Room Tip: Simple and affordable == great owner/manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alaskatravellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My wife and I had the most dreadful experience for a long time by staying in this place. We found an advert in "Milepost", bible of North Country travel which describes the Bluesberry Inn B&B as "family friendly and affordable". I would describe the place as something else!
Unfortunately we booked a night's stay over the phone using our card otherwise we would never have stayed there.
When we arrived in this run down place we took sometime to actually find anybody and when we did we took it to be the owner's father who appeared from behind a locked door out of one of the untidiest rooms I've ever seen. He, like the room he had emerged from, was no better, dressed like a tramp. He showed us to our "cabin" which was in a block of 4 and kept repeating that if we stayed more than i night we would get a discount.
The room although clean and tidy was somewhat dull and dark with 2 double beds and a toilet and bath/shower facility with thread bare towels.
To be perfectly honest we should have about turned and left but as we had paid in excess of $100.00 we decided we would grin and bear it. The bed was somewhat small and made up with blankets which had a peculiar odour to them!
After the owner's father had us sign the necessary paper work we thankfully never set eyes on him again although he did mention there was no eating facilities available in the cafe this year as he was unable to recruit staff - thank God for some small mercies.
After leaving our luggage in the room we headed to Denali and when we returned we were met by, presumably the son, who was a slightly cleaner version of his predecessor. He again kept repeating the special offer of a discount if you stayed more than one night. I couldn't think of any reason why anyone would be stupid enough to take up this offer!
The facility consisted of about six of these 4 cabins per wooden building with rough gravel tracks surrounding each building.
The night we were stayed there was only one other room occupied and that was with 2 men on a hunting trip who again like the owner did not look particularly well dressed.

Room Tip: Don't even consider staying in such a dreadful place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cantwell
24.8 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,077 reviews
24.2 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
566 reviews
24.3 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#5 of 6 in McKinley Village
221 reviews
18.2 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
370 reviews
12.3 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BluesBerry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BluesBerry Inn

Property: BluesBerry Inn
Address: Mile Post 210.8, Parks Hwy, Cantwell, AK 99729
Region: United States > Alaska > Cantwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cantwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Lazy J. The original lodge and cabins were constructed using real logs. Restaurant planned reopening summer 2010. The property was purchased by the present ownership in 2009 and renamed BluesBerry Inn - because of those wild blueberries that grow around here and gospel blues. When the movie "Into the Wild" was produced c. 2006, the cast stayed here. Located 27 miles south of the entrance to Denali National Park with Alaska Range views! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BluesBerry Inn Cantwell, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing