We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, clean, and nice.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chitina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gilpatrick s Hotel Chitina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chitina
ks
Level Contributor
331 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Quaint, clean, and nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. Our room, as well as the whole hotel was quaint, clean and nice.

Susan, the owner, could not have been more helpful, and she is a great cook.

There are lots of photos on the walls of the restaurant that tell a wonderful tale of a by-gone era.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
10
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had just flown out of McCarthy to Chtiina and wanted some dinner before driving on to our accommodation. We had seen the Hotel on our way into McCarthy on the shuttle bus and decided to stop on the way back not expecting very much, just something to warm us up! The food was good, if the service was a little slow. But the waiting staff were very friendly. It was perhaps a little pricey but then you have to consider where you are in Alaska!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I've been to Chitna many times in the past 30 years, but never so much as read the sign on the Chitna Hotel as I passed by on my way to dipnet in the Copper River or travel into McCarthy. This past weekend I was making the trip to leave our travel trailer for a small group use as their accommodations while they hosted VBS for the week. The day turned out to be much later than expected, so by the time we were leaving Chitna it was 8 pm and anything down the road (30 miles to Kenny Lake) would be closed, so the only option turned out to be the BEST option! I was quite surprised when we walked in to find cloth table clothes, a gourmet desserts! The salmon & halibut were great, I asked to have the sauce that comes on the Halibut St. Elias added to my salmon/halibut combo and it was delicious! Plenty of mixed vegetables and roasted potatoes came with it, as did choice of soup or salad. We got dessert to go: strawberry-rhubarb pie & bread pudding with bourbon sauce! ...and the service was great!
Prices might seem high,($20-$36) but you are 65 miles from a grocery store, 200 miles from Palmer, 250 miles from Anchorage, and if you haven't noticed gasoline is $4.35/gallon! I have to agree with other reviewers, if you expect to have a city experience, then stay in the city. Dust, high prices and adventure are part of Alaska. If you want to experience Alaska, enjoy some very good food, and explore some history, then be sure to stop at Gilpatrick's in Chitna. If you are don't just read the sign or take a picture, but actually experience it!

Room Tip: Complete menu: breakfast, lunch & dinner and full bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MorningStarAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Susan, the owner of this charming 100 year old hotel, restaurant, and saloon allowed us to store our motorcycles in front of the hotel for two days, and gave us a ride to and from the airport so we could fly into and out of McCarthy.

We had two meals at the hotel and viewed the rooms even though we did not spend the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Born_2_Ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
470 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

For $165 a night you're spending way more than a buck a foot for your turn of the century room. It's clean and sparse. The restaurant downstairs was pricey but nice,and servers Tracy and Victoria were gracious and professional, unlike the young male cook and young male bartender -- both were smug and kurt. Try the Yak burger and deserts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We did not spend the night here but did eat here twice. We had dinner our first evening and breakfast the next morning. Our food was not fancy but good. Price was what one would expect in a place like Chitina. We did arrive in the morning when it was suppose to be open and had to wait about 10 minutes for the door to be unlocked. Got fresh coffee and hot food before our long day at Kennicott. Stopped by the river to look at the fish traps and eagles is a must. I got some awesome pix of eagles near the fish traps.

Room Tip: Really the only place for miles to have a sit down meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichiganMadmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I had read enthusiastic reviews, and I remembered the food being good five years ago, but my trip this summer was disappointing. We stayed two nights. A lot of effort into retaining authentic old time features has gone into this hotel, but it was just not comfortable or engaging. The staff seemed to be trying, but seemed to have little idea how to handle things and the owner was not there. The food was fair to middling and priced too high for what it was.

Chitina was interesting though - the fish wheels on the Copper River just outside of town are allowed very few places - unique way of catching salmon. Moose strolled through town. Saw a bear.

I might have enjoyed it more if this had been a vacation rather than a business trip. Because it certainly is out there near the edge of the road system.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelightedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chitina hotels

Been to Gilpatrick s Hotel Chitina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpatrick s Hotel Chitina

Property: Gilpatrick s Hotel Chitina
Address: 33 Edgerton Highway, Chitina, AK 99566
Region: United States > Alaska > Chitina
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chitina
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Gilpatrick s Hotel Chitina Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing