We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gilpatrick s Hotel Chitina
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Klutina Kate's B&B(Copper Center)
Priceline
View Deal
Uncle Nicolai's Inn(Copper Center)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsaina Lodge(Valdez)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sawing Logzz(Copper Center)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
13
21
12
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
21
12
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallmccarthy roadremote locationstayed one nightwildernessalaskacomfortadventure
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

It's understandable that you can't expect things in a remote place be of the same price with those in the cities. So we are OK with the tiny room for a relatively high price. It's a 100 year old building anyway. Good to experience the old time building with restaurant and bar downstairs, and hotel room upstairs. What bothered us was that when we told the hotel people that the wifi signal was very weak in our room and was told it was the same everywhere, which was not true. It was stronger just out of our room which bends inside the corridor, and the signal comes from the other side of the building.
At night when my husband just finished showering, somebody claiming himself to be housekeeping knocked our door and told us very rudely to mop the bathroom floor cause it was dripping downstairs. We checked the floor carefully and there was no water stream on the floor, only a few drops. My husband went down to see what's going on and people down there told him there was no dripping at all.
The restaurant is very good though. The lady who served our breakfast is exceptional.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street has stronger wifi signal.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed at Hotel Chitina the first weekend of July. Staff was very sweet and accommodating. Room was cozy. This is a historic hotel so rooms were very small, but despite that, they had private bathrooms which was nice. At first, I thought the room was really dusty until I realized tons of cottonwood pollen was coming In through the screens. Nothing you can really do about this, and the breezes were wonderful. Try and get a room at the end of the hall if you can. 6,7 or 8.

Room Tip: 6,7 or 8. 8 I think might be the best room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank riversnmtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Chitina Hotel is a historic 1914 building restored. The rooms are upstairs and very very small, but then again it is a historical building . The rooms are bare bone bed, chair & small private bath. Note: make sure you shut the bathroom door when showering or the fire alarm will go off. We know this for a fact! Haha Housekeeping was acceptable for us . We had a very peaceful nights sleep here. I would rate the room we had 3 star.
Downstairs is an excellent restaurant and bar. We had a great dinner and breakfast here. Prices were ok considering you are a the end of the paved hwy. I would rate the restaurant 4 stars.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and great to talk to about the towns history and the surrounding area. The location is very handy for Chitina airstrip a short five mile drive.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KingofGlory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for one night preparing for a flight to Wrangell St. Elias. It was fun staying at a historic place, but there were no frills. Our room was a bed and a chair. Being a histoice inn, there is no soundproofing. We were right above the dining room and could hear everything below. No heat in the rooms and it was a bit cold. Beds were ok, not very comfy. There really isn't anything around, so this is it if you want to stay in the area. The innkeeper was also the bartender and waiter. He was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler092006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

we stayed here (it was june a few years ago ) before flying to kennicott mines for a day. small but comfortable rooms and we enjoyed our meal in the restaurant . it was lovely to see such an historic little place. we took some lovely photographs of all the historic little buildings . theres a little shop across from the hotel to buy drinks food etc and a bar opposite the hotel although we didnt go there.
we would definitely stay again because we want to go back to the mccarthy area even though we think it may be haunted !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deborah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews