We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better than expected!”
Cabins on the Bluff
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabins on the Bluff
Cabins on the Bluff Living Room in our new Poppy Cabin #5
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Cabins on the Bluff
Cabins on the Bluff
Living Room in our new Poppy Cabin #5
7 ft Grizzly Bear welcomes our guests
Two Bathrooms in our new Poppy Cabin #5
Well-equipped full-size kitchens
Pair of moose on the bluff
Sunseting between Mt Redoubt & Iliamna volcanos
Living room with queen sleeper sofa
Living rooms with Napoleon gas fireplace
Julie's Craft Shop
Campfire rings with ocean & volcano views
Maya our precious Alaskan Malamute
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Clam Gulch, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen B
Columbia, SC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Even better than expected!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We are currently staying here in Wild Rose cabin, and this place is even better than we anticipated. There is everything one could ask for in the cabin, the kitchen is beyond well-stocked, even including herbs and spices for cooking. The owners have put a great deal of thought into their guests' comfort and enjoyment. The setting is stunning with beautiful views, and it is incredibly peaceful here. We have never stayed in a vacation rental that was so well thought out, comfortable, and enjoyable before. Having the stacked washer and dryer is a big plus, as we needed to do laundry, and I hate having to go to a laundromat on vacation and waste my time sitting waiting for laundry to finish. Here, I am on the Internet, catching up on email, and also able to make and enjoy lunch while doing our laundry.

Chuck Boll sent us plenty of helpful information before we left to travel to Alaska. Take his advice and stop in Soldana for groceries. It only takes about 25 minutes to get to Cabins on the Bluff after leaving the grocery store.

The bed is very comfortable, and there are plenty of towels, soap, etc. Chuck can give you laundry soap if you need it, although we travel with some.

Pay attention to the instructions for the satellite TV and the gas stove. They are easy to use but you need to read the directions first.

I wish we could stay here longer than we had planned to, it is just that relaxing and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities in the cabin and the location, if you want peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing, it was fantastic.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strosman
NM
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

After a week of touring Alaska we got to Clam Gulch and Cabins on the bluff. Wow, what a wonderful place to stay. Its peaceful and serene, with all the comforts of home. As others have said in their reviews this is one place that we were sad to leave. It's a wonderful place to sit back and relax. Chuck is very organized, and from the time I made the reservation to the day we left he was very nice and accommodating. He gave us specific details over the phone and via mail so we were ready for our stay when we arrived. When we arrived for check in, Chuck went over all the details of the cabin - TV, heater, grill, etc. and was available for any questions afterwords. The cabins are about 25 miles south of Soldotna AK. so you are close enough to stores and restaurants, yet far enough away for some wonderful peace and quiet. There were other campers in the cabins on either side of us, yet I still thought it was quiet and peaceful. There are plenty of other things to do in the area which we did, but It was so nice to come back to the cabin, or as we said "home" at the end of the day. When I say home, that's what it felt like. There are no hand me downs in the cabin. Nice table & chairs, Couch, comfortable bed, TV'S, washer, dryer, a full kitchen.The cabin was very clean when we arrived. We brought groceries with us and cooked several meals there, even baked a cake! Thanks Chuck for your wonderful hospitality and providing us a great place to stay. We hope to be back again some day soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanelF294...
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven on a biscuit! An Alaskan biscuit, that is...”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband, son, son's girlfriend, and I headed down to the Kenai to go halibut fishing with Chihuly Charters in Ninilchik. On the internet, I found Cabins on the Bluff (3 miles south of Clam Gulch on the coast of the Kenai and 15 miles north of Ninilchik.) It was perfect in every way. Fully furnished with the latest in cookware, water heating, washing/drying machines, and a wonderful kitchen table. The best of all, however, was the set up of the grills in front of the cabins facing the most beautiful volcanoes in the ring of fire. Illiamna, Redoubt, and Spur! We feasted on salmon, halibut, and vegetables while staring at the snow-covered volcanoes across Cook Inlet. Can it get any better than that?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surprises around every corner. Chuck and Julie thought of everything!
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjg55
Marshall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“WOW ! Great Views and Amenities ! Truly a Gem”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Prepared to be overwhelmed by the amenities, the fabulous view, and the great value. As noted in other reviews, cabins are spacious and sparkling. Have washer, dryer, dishwasher, full size fridge, and top notch dishware and utensils. Each cabin has its own gas grill outside along with a fire pit shared between two cabins which was all set up for use when you arrive... just add a match. Would absolutely recommend and plan to return for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Would live here if I could
Liked least: Had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie B
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“I would live there if I could!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

The view is SPECTACULAR and the cabins? Oh my! WONDERFUL! They had a washer/dryer, fire pits, wood, a grill, and condiments for each cabin (we rented two). It truly was an Alaskan paradise and we live in state! My only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

Chuck and Julie were amazing at customer service accomodating our last minute change of travel plans.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabins are super cute and so comfortable
Liked least: Only staying a short time
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ua85
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“By far the best part of Alaska”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in a group, using two of the cabins. Our arrival into Alaska started with Cabins on the Bluff and by far - it was the best part of our trip.

First, all the cabins and facility are immaculate. There is little to no wear from the cabins themselves, to the yards surrounding the area. Its rustic, but clean, well organized and very surprising.

Its quiet, relaxing location. Though there are a few other cabins, you don't hear your neighbors.

The beds are awesome. By far the best mattress in a rental I have ever slept on. It's right up there with the Hilton branded beds.

Very convenient amenities. Full size washer/dryers, fully equipped kitchens and internet/TV.

I highly recommend Cabins on the Bluff to anyone who is in the area, or wants a vacation that is still a destination, but is connected to the world.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cabin quality, design.
Liked least: The gift shop wasn't open, but had some great looking products inside.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KajunKrew...
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay at Cabins on the Bluff”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My husband, grown son, and I stayed at Cabins on the Bluff and we all had a great time. From making the reservation to checking out, the entire experience was wonderful. You will not find two more gracious hosts than Chuck and Julie, by the time we left we felt as though we had known them a lifetime. The cabin was absolutely spotless and very comfortable. It was well-stocked with everything needed for preparing meals. All of the appliances are in tip-top shape including the washer and dryer. The view of the Cook Inlet and volcano ridge was spectacular and extremely relaxing. We did not feel the need to leave the cabin and several days just enjoyed relaxing, cooking, enjoying the wildlife, and the views. I would not hesitate to recommend this property and can't wait to return one day soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Solitude
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing