We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good !!”
Review of Tapu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tapu Lodge
Ranked #17 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Moorea
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We commenced our journey to Tapu Lodge from Moorea airport and were picked up with our pre-arranged bus transfer. The airport is located roughly on the opposite side of the island from the airport and as such it is around a 40 minute journey, however as there is only one road around the island it’s a great opportunity to look out for anything of interest you may wish to visit later.
Tapu lodge comprises of six self-contained houses of varying sizes built into the side of a hill. The reception is detached from the six houses and is located on a large green lawn. Often this will not be manned by the owner however there is a bell located at reception which you should use (as the owner lives next door)
Our luggage was taken by the owner’s car to our house (thankfully as there is a steep driveway up to the houses) and we were shown our house. The house we had booked had a full cooking facilities (being a refrigerator, gas stove and oven, microwave, various pots and pans and necessary cutlery) and was clean and well maintained. Also on the first floor (as it was a double storey structure) was a dining table, some wardrobes and a single bed. The bed/bedroom is upstairs which is accessed by a rather steep staircase (its more akin to a ladder) and again it was clean and tidy.
Our house did not have air conditioning, however ceiling fans are provided and all the windows have mosquito nets. Cable TV is also provided however most channels are in French. There are a few supermarkets from which to purchase your food depending on what transport you have. There is one available which is about a 10-15 minute walk and a few more further away which you would need a car to get to.
One of the best features Tapu Lodge has is that it offers a complimentary ray and lagoon tour ending in a visit to Tapu’s private motu. If you are interested in taking this tour please make sure you book ahead as the tour is only run with sufficient guests together. It may or may not be available every day. The tour itself commences from the beach opposite from Tapu Lodge and you are taken on their boat to an area where the rays are fish are fed. It is a beautiful area and is the same area that other commercial vessels go to for their ray tours. The water colour was fantastic as the water was very shallow and there were more rays and sharks (there were many that you can swim, touch and feed) present than our lagoon tour in Bora Bora which was held in deeper water. We had 6 people in total on our tour and we loved the privacy and attention we received with so few people in our tour.
Following your swim with the rays you are taken to Tapu’s private motu where you are free to snorkel and lounge around. Beach chairs are provided and our guide was even kind enough to open fresh coconuts for everyone to enjoy. The beach is clean and clear and there are a variety of fish you can see amongst the corals just off the beach.
The entire tour itself was about four hours in length and we had a better time than we expected to. For a complimentary tour we felt that it was great – especially as we saw another tour boat as we were returning home with 100 people jammed on board we were very pleased with our choice.
We had a good stay at Tapu Lodge overall. It is a reasonably priced honest place to stay with self-cooking facilities and the included tour is an added bonus. The only downsides would be the distance to other facilities such as supermarkets and restaurants. However for families or couples wanting something different from your usual resort experience we recommend Tapu Lodge as a clean and friendly alternative and with the money you save you can easily afford to rent a car for your stay to give you the freedom to roam around the island at your leisure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bambinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2008

We were collected from the Moorea ferry in a mini-bus along with a number of guests destined for other hotels. Tapu lodge was the last drop of, being about one km past Le Petite Village. The lodge consists of six high roofed bungalows on the side of a hill overlooking the sea.
Reception is a small hut on the flat grassed area next to the road. We had a short very steep climb up the vehicle access to the top 3 units. The units are very spacious with a wide verandah and internal stairs leading up to the mezzanine bedroom. The enormous bed is nicely firm but you need to be careful going down the stairs at night - we treated it like a ladder.. There is a good gas stove, microwave and fridge but you need to have all your own food ( there is a good supermarket 10 minutes walk away). The road would be dangerous to use for walking at night as the verge is narrow and cars speed along it. There is a very classy french restaurant in Le Petite Village that provides pick up and return to the lodge at no cost. The sea is only a few steps over the road from the lodge but it did not look inviting for swimmimg especially at low tide. Luckily the lodge owners are happy to take guests to the off shore island in their outboard outrigger where there is fabulous snorkling and swimming in a crystal clear inlet between the islands. The owners/staff at the lodge are great.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taousseR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Cpmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank magaly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenchisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moorea hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pension Tarariki
Pension Tarariki
#10 of 13 in Moorea
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Temanoha
Village Temanoha
#1 of 1 in Cook's Bay
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tapu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tapu Lodge

Address: Haapiti Moorea PK 28. 200 | Haapiti Hauru Point, BP 80025, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Moorea
Price Range: £78 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tapu Lodge offers 6 holiday family houses "fare" located in a tourism area at just half a mile of the shopping center "Le petit village" (banks, doctors, grocery stores, car, scooter, bicycle rentals, local shops and restaurants). A beach is just 50 meters from the houses. Nautical activities available during your stay where turquoise water with its different varieties of fish and rays will enable you to discover the beauty of the Polynesian aquatic environment. Pool, paddle canoes and a pontoon are also available. A child playground is installed in the large garden where older can also play basket-ball, and a FREE INTERNET wifi connection is available Those "fare" are located in height with a view on a splendid lagoon, from where you will appreciate beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tapu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing