We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deja Vu...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fare Aute

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fare Aute
Ranked #7 of 16 Moorea B&B and Inns
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Deja Vu...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you read Hobnob_hobo's review of this B&B, you have all of the salient points of our stay (I'm her "twitchy" partner). The drinking-water situation was not intolerable, but as she mentioned, I was a bit put off by the combination of no A/C and no in-room safe - there was no way to secure valuables while we were out enjoying, for example the SPECTACULAR snorkeling. This was especially worrisome for me as I had a significant amount of cash with me, for the incredible tattoo I would get a few days later (done by James Samuela, Moorea Tattoo - exceptional work, traditionally hand-tapped... and NO IT DIDN'T HURT any more than any of my other tatts, which were done by electric-needle...in fact it hurt less than some.

But back to Fare Aute... our hostess, though her English was a llittle spotty, was exceptionally accommodating, and helped arrange a scooter, and then a rental car for us. She made our stay as pleasant as it could be.

One thing "hobo" didn't mention - this B&B was so reasonably priced, that it gave our budget enough breathing room that we were able to spend our last two nights in Moorea in an over-water bungalow at one of the premium resorts (which didn't have nearly as good snorkeling). The sunset from our Fare Aute beach cottage's back deck was nothing short of phenomenal, and we had access to the same areas for snorkeling as the 5-star hotel on the motu across the lagoon. The "good" coral heads were about 200 meters off the beach, but the lagoon is very calm, and with our fins, it was a very easy swim. The trick is to swim past the deeper water (darker blue) until it begins to shallow out again (azure). At that point, the water is about 2-3 meters deep, and the coral comes up to within half a meter of the surface. Perfectly clear, and an ideal depth. We would have stayed out there forever, except that we were beginning to get waterlogged and sunburned (despite waterproof SPF 50).

No A/C made my nights restless, but the mosquito netting provided proved unnecessary - the gentle breeze off the lagoon kept the insects away, for the most part... only a wayward moth flew in...

All in all, this is one excellent way to stay on Moorea on a budget, or, as we did, to allocate your hotel budget between two ends of the spectrum.

One other bit of advice re: snorkeling on Moorea - some beaches are plain, with sandy, boring bottoms (and endless black sea cucumbers). But just a bit down the road away you will find the most extraordinary coral gardens you can imagine (the Ta'ahiamanu public beach near the catamaran rental place, on the lagoon beach between Opunohu and Cook's Bays, for example) - you could snorkel there for weeks and never get bored!

Both Hobo and I are certified divers. Between us, we've dived The Barrier Reef in Australia, Pennekamp Park in the Florida Keys, and several locations in Hawaii, among other places. The snorkeling at Ta'ahiamanu is as good as anything we've seen with SCUBA gear, anywhere.

And be sure to rent a car - some of the road along Moorea's coastline is so pothole ridden and poorly patched, that a scooter is a bone-jarring proposition. Get a car at the Avis, just across from the ferry terminal. so you can return it conveniently when leaving Moorea on the ferry.

Room Tip: Get one on the beach - it's the best value, and literally 10 meters from the surf line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anarion55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    38
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the beach bungalow. I loved it beyond words. My partner didn't love it as much and I'll tell you why, below. First things first: the snorkeling here is UNBELIEVABLE. You just have to get past the shallows -- and its a little tricky with the coral heads in the shallows. Stand up and look you see a channel through them. You have to get out a bit (no major swimming required, don't worry) to where the water goes turquoise and then ... oh my goodness, it is breathtaking (see pics). The fact that it was RIGHT THERE and we could go out there ALL WE WANTED ... ah. Paradise found!

The bungalow it's not elegant. It's ... rustic, Bohemian. But it is perfectly comfortable. We were just the two of us but the upstairs attic area had three more beds I think, so you could split this with people traveling together or with a family. The downstairs is dominated by the bed but the back patio has a lovely wood table and chairs and ... gosh I never wanted to leave that deck. There are a couple of kayaks and a canoe for use.

Now the not so great. First I was surprised when we checked in and she told us we needed bottled water because you can't drink the water. Apparently filtered water is only on some parts of the island of Moorea. Okay. Not that big of a deal but I was surprised. The first thing our hostess did is take us down to the grocery so we could get some things to eat. There's nothing close by so you really need to get your bottled water and some food, especially breakfast. My partner didn't like it as much because he is a fan of air conditioning and he also felt like with no safe in the room and having to leave the windows open for air, we were not as secure. I didn't feel insecure or unsafe. He's twitchy like that. So if you are twitchy like that, consider it. I didn't think so before I got there but renting a car is a really good idea for Moorea (not so much for Bora Bora). And if you have a rented car you can lock things up in the trunk if you really feel that need.

The bathroom isn't great in the beach bungalow - but there's nothing actually wrong with it. I think they are working on it and it will get better.

A last but important thing is that our hostess was so very lovely. Very kind, attentive and helpful. Like I said, I could go back there and stay for years.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hobnob_Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This place is for the people who want to stay on a calm spot on Moorea away from the more touristic places. The Lagune is right in front of you with hardly no people around you.
We stayed 5 people in the Fare Miti beach villa. Plenty of room, a little lawn and a nice little sandy beach, very private. Kitchen is fine with what you need.
There is Air Condition in one Bedroom. An upgrade could be to put Air Condition in some of the other Bedrooms. That would give a good nights sleep for all in the Villa. But no noise.
Take a Kayak and enjoy the Lagune. You can walk out to the crystal colored part of the Lagune and snorkel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnArnberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were a couple staying in the beach bungalow (Miro). This was an excellent location, very private, with beautiful view of the lagoon, ocean and the sky. Especially, the sunrise seen from the kayak in the lagoon was amazing. Elodie (the owner) was very friendly and extremely helpful. Free transports to and from the ferry terminal, booking of various activities and yummy homemade coconut cake with fresh pineapple every now and then was just a cherry on the top. Good idea is to rent a scooter or a car so that you are flexible and more independent in exploring the island. We stayed 9 nights and definitely would go for more if the time and money allows next time.

Room Tip: Go for the beach bungalow. It offers more privacy, stunning views (sting ray in the lagoon and whale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We spent four nights in this pension and enjoyed our stay very much. It was one of our favourite pensions on our trip through French Polynesia. The location ist faboulous, we had one of the beach bungalows which we would highly recommend. We very much appreciated the friendly and attentive host, Elodie, which on two evenings surprised us with homemade pancakes and fresh fruit, and helped us to plan our days in Moorea. The bungalows are nice, the kitchen is well equipped and we have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirjam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Fare Aute is at the very south of Moorea. As there are only residences nearby it is very quiet and you need to go somewhere else to stock. It is a 30 minutes looong walk to a good pizza & crepes roulotte so you probably need to have your own transportation. The bungalows are ok, with a nice varanda. In the top floor it can get noisy on a windy night. The wifi reaches the last bungalows, but not the front ones. The kayaks are good to explore the nice reef. Patrice and Elodie are helpful. The price is right for Moorea standards. Patrice said he is considering a sale of the place, so if you want to buy an entire pension here's the chance.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Triturator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is a family run pension, small bungalows in an exotic garden right by the beach. The family speak English and are amazingly helpful. The bungalows are well equipped, there are kayaks and an outrigger canoe for use of guests and the breakfast menu (if you dont want to do it yourself) is to die for. They hire out cars and motor scooters and there is free wi-fi. Scooter is the best way to get around the island. We loved it and would love to go again.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are similar, facing the beach is probably favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avenabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moorea hotels
8.6 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
7.8 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
7.1 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#6 of 13 in Moorea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
8.2 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Linareva Moorea Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fare Aute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Aute

Property: Fare Aute
Address: Atiha | PK 16,2 HAAPITI, 98728, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Moorea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fare Aute 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fare Aute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing