We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really enjoyed our time there”
Review of Green Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Lodge
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed there with my wife in June 2014 for 5 nights and we loved it. First of all, you need to make sure you know this is a B&B and not the Sofitel. There are some things that might not be so convenient, however it is very charming and closer to the Polynesian experience.

The bungalows and nice, clean and better (bug) isolated than most other places we stayed in our vacation. The owners, Isabelle and Jean Luc are very cool and accommodating. They have 2 dogs and 2 cats and we enjoyed their company.

The beach in front of the lodge isn't for swimming but the nicest Moorea beach is 10 min by bike and you can get food and drinks from the Sofitel hotel.

Best piece of advice: do rent a car (or a scooter - but keep in mind the roads are very bad in Moorea and around the lodge) to see the island and get some good food outside the lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank js11234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast (Pension) before. This was our first time and we enjoyed it very much. The property is cozy, quiet, and has a nice intimate feel to it. You are steps away from watching the sunset/sunrise from the beach every day. The owners speak French, Spanish, and English. They are a very friendly and knowledgeable about things to do and places to go around the island.

Pros:
- 20 minute walk away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island.
- About 4 miles away from the Ferry.
- Friendly staff and excellent service.
- In-room safe was listed when we booked. However the safe was broken when we were there.
Fortunately none of our cash or items were missing.
- In-room fridge was very convenient. We stored food from Champion market for snacks.
- Free continental breakfast is delicious. You are served a selection of breads and pastry, jams, juice, assorted tropical fruit, and tea or coffee.

Cons:
- Your only options for food within walking distance from Green Lodge are the pension itself ($50 per person for 3 course dinner, no lunch available) or at Motu Lodge for Chinese food (a stone's throw away).
- Pension is located off the main road. If you take the public bus there, be sure to ask the driver to drop you off by the Golf Lodge. It would be a 0.8km walk from that point. Otherwise driver will drop you off where the sign is for Green Lodge which equates to a 2.8km walk.
- No free internet. Prepaid WiFi is super expensive just like everything in French Polynesia.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lisacat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What a gem; the beach bungalows are adorable and Isabelle and Jean Luc are helpful and charming. The food is truly exceptional from the beautifully presented daily continental breakfast to the dinners reserved in advance--always creative, super fresh, healthy, delicious and also beautifully presented. My only quibbles might be the need for a little more light in the units; also the other couple we travelled with experienced some hot water issues. That being said, we could not be happier with our choice of Green Lodge. It should be noted that the Lodge is located next to the airport runway but that is almost never an issue given the few planes that come in and out, as well as the roar of the surf on the beach!

Room Tip: Go for a beach bungalow for a view and a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FormerTucsonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you are thinking of staying at Green Lodge then you have probably made the right decision. Located on the coast with a beach the accommodation is excellent and the air con works! Beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are particularly good.
There is an excellent public beach 20 mins walk away and a minute or two by bike, great for all activities and snorkelling.The owners are very informative and helpful about things you can do and will organise a scooter which I think is essential if you want to get about the island. They have bikes one can use if preferred.
I have travelled a lot and at no time have I ever enjoyed such exquisite cooking, it really was divine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautifully decorated bungalow and comfortable stay at Green Lodge. Family owned small business with very personalized and super friendly service. Juan let us use his bicycles for free every day and he also suggested and booked for us some of the best activities we did during our stay in the island.We had our breakfasts every morning next to the swimming pool and we enjoyed beautiful sunrise views from his private beach.The best beach of the island was only at walking distance from the lodge as well. Highly recommended for couples and romantic trips.

Room Tip: I suggest to rent the ones by the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arandajulieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Green Lodge is very confortable, the bungalows are nicely decorated and very clean.
The owner are very friendly and they helpful.

It is located close to the airport, but also to the nicest beach of the island, Temae Beach, that can be reached in few minutes by bike. The bikes can be used for free by guests, but unfortunately they are not really in good shape.
In front of the lodge the beach is not the best for swimming but it is possible to do some snorkeling.
It is possible to eat there, booking the dinner in advance. It worth to try, Isabelle is a very good cook.

Room Tip: If possible book the bungalow on the beach, the sunrise is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Federica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our well equipped bungalow had this circular stone shower I instantly fell in love with. I have rarely seen a place so heartingly decorated and so clean. The only spot maybe not so fresh is the pool after the dogs have had their footwash but we don't mind (we don't need a pool anyway when only seconds away from the beach) and they are so lovely and so cute so it's impossible to be cross with them.
We enjoyed the familiarity for Jean-Luc and Isabella were always ready for a chat but never intrusive. They encouraged us to exercise our French but never refused to help us in English. Also, they gave us a lot of advice where to go and what to do, including marking the maps and booking trips and sharing the tahitian secret of how to avoid mosquito bites :-).
It was custom to have a drink with the other guests before dinner, don't be shy to drink whatever special they prepare. And at least one dinner made by Isabelle and Jean-Luc is a MUST because it's an explosion of taste in your mouth, Homemade fresh local high-quality meals cooked with heart - you wouldn't find anytihng better even in a gourmet restaurant. Dinner at Mayflower is also advisable, the Canadian Burger rather not.
To the topic of the location: we had absolutely no problems with our scooter. Small as it is you can also take the shortcut alongside the Golf Club and it is sufficient for every occasion (even the Ananas-route, Jean-Luc ;-)) exept maybe hard rain, so you really shouldn't miss the scenieries using a car. This avoids high costs and a lot of nerves for taxis and you are very flexible. This can be organized within the hour by Jean-Luc so never mind if you haven't pre-booked a scooter.
Last advice: the delicious jams you get at breakfast are homemede by the farming school. The properly closed jars can be easily transported, it is a great reminder at home when you enjoy a breakfast with tiare jam.
Jean-Luc et Isa, merci pour ces jours très agréables et les dîners extraordinaires, les leçons en français et votre aide généralement. C'était une expérience superbe!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConnyGammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moorea hotels
2.6 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
707 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
9.3 mi away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#6 of 13 in Moorea
722 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lodge

Address: Motu Temae | Temae Moorea Teavaro, BP 3005, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Moorea
Price Range: £124 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the beach, like a painting, Green Lodge welcomes you and invites you to relax in the tranquility of its bungalows. The wood and stone enhance the living spaces and the surrounding nature. The light and shade intertwine and play in the volumes of your fare. You'll relax in an idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Green Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing