We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to try local juices/liquors.”

Jus de Fruits de Moorea
Ranked #26 of 60 Tours in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great way to try local juices/liquors.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I rented a car to see the island of Moorea. We stopped here and were offered free samples of juices as well as liquors. After sampling, we purchased a plentitude of the above to drink in our room. The juices were great, people were nice and lovely gift shop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Suie0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    48
    19
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Tour was fun but too long, shop was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

The tour was fun, but I would have preferred it to be 15 minutes instead of a half hour, but that's not so much time wasted. We were the only two English speakers, so he was chatting in French most of the time and only told us the basic stuff in English. The shop was the best part - it is where we bough the majority of our souveniers on the trip. It was fun to see how and where everything we bought was made. We bought some pineapple rum, vanilla rum for coffee, vanilla massage oil, and lots of juice. We also picked up some local jam and salad dressing. The prices on the liquor was better here than at the duty free shop in the Tahiti airport but I can't recall the comparison to any other shops on the island.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank abc345345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just Coconuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Do the tasting tour. You get to sample the local juice made right on the property. The smell of Pineapple is intoxicating and you can get local alcohol to mix right on the spot. If your looking for something to take home get the vanilla creme. Its only available in the islands and all your friends will want to get some. Its similar to Baileys but better with more of a kick. We got a bottle to take home but it didnt make it, so we had to get more at the airport duty free store.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cblack201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A Waste of time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was our second visit.
This is just a gift shop. You can buy everything they were selling cheaper at champion supermarche.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Milo911MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tour Closed, Good Gift Shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This company was recently purchased by the folks that make the local Tahitian beer, Hinano. The juice distillery tour is on hold while they try to figure out what to do. During our visit, there wasn't much to do but browse the gift shop and try the free samples.

This is one of the best gift shops on the island, so it's worth a visit just for that. They have a number of affordable items that you won't find elsewhere. Notably, they sell local liquor and wine that the grocery stores don't have, and they have the largest line of Hinano branded products we saw anywhere.

The juice itself was underwhelming. A few of the samples were delicious, while others were a bit odd. Most of them are available in grocery stores. The cardboard cartons contain something like 22% juice and the rest is sugar-water.

This place is somewhat hidden. You can't miss the sign by the road. Continue down past the homes and into the parking lot between the distillery and the gift shop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WyrdNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jus de Fruits de Moorea also viewed

 

Been to Jus de Fruits de Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing