We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and interesting place”

Moorea Tropical Garden
Ranked #8 of 56 things to do in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming and interesting place”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Myself and my partner popped here mid afternoon and loved it so much for it's views and surroundings that we came back in the evening for the sunset alone! The lady who runs this place is very informative, sweet, charming, knowledgeable, and helpful and she sells her lovely homemade jams here - in some flavours you could only dream of! She also grows the vanilla, a variety of stunning exotic flowers, she serves homemade food and drinks (check with them as and when), and you can take a look round the vanilla greenhouse and see the plants in action! Worth a look, but remember the path up here is very steep, either car, scooter (just made it!) or a hard trek up here - but well worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank seeseedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    104
    31
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warkworth
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and wonderful food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Up a really steep drive, but worth the walk or drive. We visited on a Saturday but were lucky to get a lunch as it is normally only available on Fridays. Amazing value for a sampler plate of local cuisine such as MahiMahi, tapioca, taro, coconut bread, chicken done in banana leaves, poisson Cru and also a large fresh fruit juice of your choice - all for 1,500cpf.

Wow the view of Opunoku Bay and surrounding area is amazing from their restaurant.
Interesting to also visit their vanilla beans growing in a shadehouse. They also have all sorts of jams for sale.

Free to visit, and you are free to walk through the property amongst the fruit trees.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and super sympa people”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We actually ate here two Fridays in a row - that's how much I loved it! Very interesting to compare the typical food here with what we eat in Hawaii. You can see vanilla growing in their shade house and they have all sorts of conserves for sale. They were so super nice when we showed up the first time without reservations and the food was so tasty and such a deal that we promptly made reservations for the next week. The terrace has a view better than the Belvedere! We did a BYOB with a cheap and great vin moussant from the Champion on our second visit - this is heaven! Fresh tropical flowers in the bathroom. I really loved this place.
Please note that if you suck at driving a stick shift car, you might want to walk up. We saw a lot of people burning clutches coming up the hill then stall out at the top. Some folks almost rolled backwards into our car unable to negotiate the steep hill. Turn left into the parking lot at the top and don't hesitate - once you stall out you endanger others!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank C_in_HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best value lunch in Moorea”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Although not well publicised, this place is a little gem, especially when you book for lunch on a Friday. For 15 USD you get a full plate of local cuisine - BBQ Mahi Mahi, Poisson Cru, tapioca, taro, chicken curry, coconut bread, and a banana and tapioca dessert - PLUS a large glass of a delicious fresh fruit juice, in our case papaya and pineapple. The view is spectacular (even on a rainy day), the food is great, the gardens are beautiful, and the hostess a delight. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing view and people”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We visited this awsome place in Moorea. You can walk and discover so many plants and its all free to visit! Then you can taste local products (jam, honey). You also can book for the tahitian meal during weekends. Perfect view up there, really enjoyed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank louliloula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moorea Tropical Garden also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Moorea Tropical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing