We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its nice”

Tiki Village Cultural Centre
Ranked #14 of 58 things to do in Moorea
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors experience the traditions and life-style of an old Tahitian village through demonstrations of weaving, stone carving, and painting, plus live traditional dance performances.
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Well at least it entertains you, the show is nice, the village is nice,we were a little bit tired but it was funny to see the typical dance and the food tradition.
Just we didn't like the food they served , its quiet special with the taste, but its nice to see how do they prepare it and as always the people there are very nice, all polynesian are

Thank karendany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabelle J, Responsable relations publiques at Tiki Village Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi,
Thank you for your comment!
We are happy that you enjoyed the evening with us and that you liked seeing Tahitian Traditions.
Sorry that you didn't like the food, we are surprised that you didn't find anything that you liked: Roasted Pork, Uru Fries, Chiken cooked in coconut milk, raw fish in coconut milk, and so on.
We offer our visitors polynesian food with the most divesity so that to please everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fire dancers"
in 24 reviews
"dance show"
in 21 reviews
"underground oven"
in 14 reviews
"welcome drink"
in 10 reviews
"dinner show"
in 13 reviews
"buffet dinner"
in 9 reviews
"tahitian culture"
in 14 reviews
"suckling pig"
in 5 reviews
"polynesian shows"
in 5 reviews
"earth oven"
in 4 reviews
"wedding ceremony"
in 4 reviews
"great cultural experience"
in 3 reviews
"pre dinner"
in 3 reviews
"polynesian evening"
in 3 reviews
"pre show"
in 3 reviews
"traditional dance"
in 3 reviews
"traditional oven"
in 3 reviews
Filter

180 - 184 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

One star is pushing it. We were miserable the entire time we were there. The show was cheesy, we did not learn a thing about the culture and the food was just okay. I can't believe we spent as much as we did to be bored out of our minds.

2  Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabelle J, Responsable relations publiques at Tiki Village Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dir sir,
It's a shame that you didn't like the concept of the Tiki Village and it's positive energy.
As we say we cannot please everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved the show! Dancers and singers were fun and they did a great performance! Very touching songs from the mamas, beautiful girls and extremely talented Fire dancers. Show was very authentic and worth to experience during a visit to Polynesia. Diner was great as well in quality and quantity just I wish we had more time for dining since we enjoy the food so much.

Thank arandajulieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabelle J, Responsable relations publiques at Tiki Village Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hi,
The Tiki Village Team was very happy to host your for the great Polynesian Night.
Very good that you liked the Tahitian Traditionnal Food that much, that is the aim of our buffet to give an occasion to the visitors to eat like Polynesian do and to show everyone Tahitian Culture througt the village, it's inhabitants, the food and the show.
The Fire Dance is very typicall from the Tahitian islands and due to security people don't get to see it often in the Hotels.
Our dancers give the best of themselves to show you the heart of their Culture and to entertain you for a great moment.
We hope that you had a great time during all of your trip in French Polynesia.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

It is wonderfull. The show is fantastic and the people very friendly. If you arrive early you can see the sunset in the beach and take beautiful photos. It was a good moment. Don't miss this show and the dinner either.

Thank Honduras6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabelle J, Responsable relations publiques at Tiki Village Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hello,
Thank you very much for your comment, we are very happy that you had a great experience at the Tiki Village. We do our best to make your visit unique!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We'd heard and read different reviews online and from some of the locals we talked to after arriving on the island but decided to give it a try. Boy are we glad we went!

First, the pre-show was entertaining then they took us to where the traditional food was buried in the sand and had been cooking for us. Again, entertaining and somewhat educational.

They then split the group up for tours of the village based on the language spoken and we had a great guide. We saw some of the village and learned some of the traditions; but, I think if you want to really see it all and learn about it, you need to return to spend more time on your own. I know we only saw a small portion of the village and the other groups saw things we didn't, just as we saw parts of the village that they didn't.

Once dinner was ready, that's when the tour was done and we were lead to tables. The food was "okay" with a couple things on the buffet that were great (the suckling pig that roasted in the pit, for one).

Upon conclusion of the meal, we were treated to demonstrations of how to tie the traditional sarong (both male and female versions) to the delightful stylings of live traditional music.

When it was time for the show, they started with some audience participation, trying to teach willing victims, I mean audience members (LOL), how to do some of the traditional dancing.

No shortage of entertainment here (some of it hoakier than other bits, but fun nonetheless) and then we were treated to a spectacular show of singing, dancing, fire dancing and more audience participation before the finale and then very enthusiastically they got everyone up to have their picture taken with the traditionally costumed dancers. Unlike so many other places who "take your picture and charge you for it", the dancers use your camera to take great photos for you, all with great big smiles on their face. It was such a great experience that probably the best photo we got on our trip so far, was taken by one of the dancers with us surrounded by costumed Tahitians.

If you want a truly enjoyable show, this is a must do for people travelling to Moorea.

1  Thank RDeanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabelle J, Responsable relations publiques at Tiki Village Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hello,
Thank you very much for your nice revue! It's a perfect description of an evening at the Tiki Village !
We are very happy that you liked it!
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tiki Village Cultural Centre also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 
Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Tiki Village Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing