We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungalow on the Beach”
Review of Fare Vaihere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fare Vaihere
Ranked #2 of 16 Moorea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Bungalow on the Beach”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We arrived at our accommodation after catching the ferry to Moorea and a local bus to the pension. Philippe welcomed us to the property and we were shown to our beach front room which was only 5 meters from the water. There are four separate bungalows on the property and each is set amongst a lush tropical garden. We had secured the waterfront room earlier in the year as we wanted to enjoy water views from our verandah and room. The rooms are basic but roomy and on arrival local flowers are positioned throughout the bungalow. There is no airconditioning but this did not deter us from sleeping and we did not even use the fan in the room.
The first evening and last evening we ate in the dining area and were served a tasty 3 course meal prepared and cooked by Philippe which we enjoyed with 4 other evening guests.
The first morning we awoke was to the rattling of chain as the cruise ship Ocean Princess anchored in the bay. the ship only stayed one day having sailed out again later that afternoon but made for some lovely photos.
Breakfast is served on a communal table outside the dining room and was a generous serve of fruits, bread and homemade muffins with tea or coffee.
We were here for only 3 nights but were able to explore the waters off the pier with the complimentary snorkelling gear and although there were complimentary bikes we did not take advantage of them. We did walk to Cafe Fifi for some local made ice cream which was very tasty.
To sit at the end of their pier and watch the sunset is an ideal way to enjoy the spectacular waters and surrounds. There is an abundant of fish life off the pier so well worth snorkelling and discovering the fishes of Moorea, unfortunately we did not get to see the 3 resident turtles but we did get to see a white tip shark and moray eel.
This is a lovely property which is kept spotlessly clean and inviting and has the most wonderful views and run by charming hosts. There is a resident dog PaoPao who could be found sometimes under the verandah in the cool sand and a very shy cat.
Philippe helped arrange a inner island tour and also booked a table for us at a local restaurant for one night.
Philippe and Corrine gave us a personal farewell at the gate even though Corrine was navigating the use of crutches at the time.
We enjoyed the ambience and views of this property to relax and do a little exploring before having to return to Papetee for our flight back home to Australia ending a 3 week trip in some of the most beautiful waters of the pacific.

Room Tip: The Bungalow closest to the water allows you to look out into the sea but is next to the kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziejenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    34
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
17
129
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After much researching we chose this pension for the Moorea part of our French Polynesian holiday. It was a fantastic decision. Philippe and Corinne are very very good hosts. Everything from the welcome drinks and the relaxed welcome; explanations about the property, the meals and the snorkelling. We stayed for 7 nights and easily could have stayed for more. We were the only English first language guests during our stay and to make the most of your stay you need to be comfortable in an environment where many people prefer to speak English. Philippe and Corinne of course are always happy to translate and make sure you know what you need to know. The food is amazing as many posters have said. The cost of the meals is not something that was in our budget for every night but some days we would just buy baguette and cheese for lunch so that we could enjoy Corinne and Philippe's great hospitality. We were travelling with our 11 year old and he was welcomed wholeheartedly. One day we stepped out of our bungalow and Philippe had placed a kids bike outside for him to use in the garden. Another highlight was snorkelling at the end of the pier - every day we would see something new. While we had a car this is a great pension if you do not - there are good food options for lunch a short walk away and many restaurants will pick up for dinner if you want to go out.

I have rated this place 5 /5. It is not a 5 star property but it is good value; super clean; good sized rooms; delightful bathrooms; great snorkelling; great location; excellent hosts - this all adds up to a special experience. The rooms are fan cooled; reasonable airy and have excellent quality mosquito nets. My only complaint - and it is a preference - is that the bed was a little soft for my liking. Family friendly - yes - but I think if you had a wee child who needs a sand beach - this might not be perfect (there is some sand - not a white expanse) - but there is a great public beach a short walk away. We would absolutely recommend.this place. Luckily for us - unlike the European guests - French Polynesia is a relatively short flight away so the chances of returning are very real. I can't wait!

Room Tip: Rooms are allocated I think based on how early you book. We were so delighted to receive a waterfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinach, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 Nights an have been happy. Going out with the Kayak in the sunset was fabulous. Philippe organised good Whalewatching-Tour and Corinne cooked very well. We eatet to times dinner in a good athmospere. The Opunohu-Bay is incredible an the Fare is well locatet to it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rolandbraendli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Fabulous experience! Beautiful quiet place. One thing: realize that Fare Vaihere is not at Maharepa (this is their PO box), the Fare is at the entrance of the Opunohu Bay-around 20-30 minutes drive from the boat and in fact, taking a taxi from the boat was a little bit cheaper than what was proposed by the hosts. The bungalows are great and full of welcoming flowers upon arrival. The breakfast (included) is incredible with attention paid to what people like or would like to try (fresh fruits, different local jams and fresh bread). The pier is just at the right place and in the evenings we had visits (by chance, but every nights...) of turtles, black and white tip sharks, a ray, trumpet fish and a pleitore of "aquarium fishes". We had an incredible dolphins visit and one of us kayaked so close to them she was even scared. Free access to kayaks and bikes was also a great addition to this place. Philippe was very helpful organizing a rental car the day we wanted one, a paddle boarding experience (where we swam with rays and sharks) and a diving trip for one of us (including delaying our check out time while waiting for the diver). Dinner was too pricey for our budget so we ate food on our front porches (we had 2 bungalows by each others) and Philippe was very gracious in providing us with bottle and can openers. Their dog Paopao is a delight, very well behaved and friendly (but knowing his rules). Except dinner (but we did not try), prices are well deserved. If you go you also must try a little snack (name?) by the "public beach" (on your left getting out of the Fare and mountain side) and the Mahana Snack (the other direction, at the end of the Opunohu bay) for their incredible food and friendliness (curry shrimps- local production- sooo excellent we went twice with our bikes from the Fare). Friends of ours (from the US) went twice to Fare Vaihere and we hope to do this also.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

There are many things that worked for us at Philippe and Corrine's place
+ Good breakfast
+ Clean room and bathroom
+ Lovely view of the water
+ Great location to relax and make your first stop in French Polynesia post Tahiti
+ Nice location close to the attractions in Mo'orea
+ Good value for money
+ You are left alone to do what you want..

+/- The bathrooms are not designed for couples on honeymoon. :-)

We took the bus from the ferry terminus to Fare Vaihere. We were greeted by Philippe and showed to our rooms. Fare Vaihere worked for us because we slept 16 hours a day for the 4 days we were there.. we didn't really connect with Philippe and Corrine - my guess is that there was a bit of a language barrier as we were the only non-French speaking guests. Also, Philippe enjoys taking guests on excursions and we didn't go on any as the weather was not great + we spent our time recovering post our wedding!

Overall - nice place to relax, recharge, see a bit of Mo'orea and get set for the prettier(?) French Polynesian islands.

PS: We would highly recommend the following at Mo'orea
- Rent a car if you plan to go around the island (Philippe will help connect you to Albert)
- Go on the ATV tour! It's the best way to see all of Mo'orea's attractions
- Buy your own water, yoghurt, cookies, etc. There are multiple mini-marts
- We also bought our own lunch and often dinner as lunch is not provided at Fare Vaihere.

Room Tip: Closer to Philippe's bungalow gives you access to wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrohan189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had no idea what to expect, even after seeing photos on the Internet. Philippe and Corinne welcomed us with a refreshing coconut drink and the flowers in the bungalow were a special touch. It was the perfect place to wind down. The bay is beautiful and alive with reef fish as well as unexpected visiting yachts/ships. We saw dolphins when we arrived and lying on the end of the pontoon looking into the water was like looking through the glass of an aquarium - you didn't even need one of the free masks and snorkels! To swim, you need to walk across the coral, so shoes are recommended. Perhaps we missed out on some interesting parts of the island because we only had 3 nights there and didn't hire a car, but we enjoyed borrowing the free bikes and slowly exploring the local area. Climbing Magic Mountain was fun for a 60+ pair and the view was worth the effort. We ate with Corinne and Philippe every morning and night and the food was excellent. If we had stayed longer, we would have tried out other options which Philippe was happy to organize or leave us to work out for ourselves. Just be aware that many smaller places are closed at variable times (shops, cafes) although large hotels are within reach (even by bike) and always open. As for the bungalow, the bathroom was spotless and very functional. The sleeping area was a reasonable size but we struggled to find the best place to plug in the kettle. Perhaps a double socket by the fridge would be useful! The verandah was lovely for relaxing and drying towels. Although our bungalow was closest to the road, the traffic was light at night and the ever present French Polynesian dogs and chickens caused minimal disturbance. The area is very quiet and peaceful. Corinne and Philippe do everything they can to ensure that their guests leave with good memories and we would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Greenlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent 4 nights in one of the bungalows of Fare Vaihere.

Highlights:
- Warm and personal welcome by Philippe
- Very helpful to provide tips and assist with arranging (outside Fare Vaihere) activities...
- Breakfast was good with fresh fruit every day
- Optional diners prepared by Corinne (and Philippe) were excellent, for a reasonable price
- Flexible in diner options, taking our preferences into account
- Basic, but clean bungalows
- Rocky reef at Fare Vaihere is full of sea life. Great snorkling
- Free WIFI, but you have to be close to Philippe and Corinne's house

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjoPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moorea hotels
3.5 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
4.0 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
673 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#6 of 13 in Moorea
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
287 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fare Vaihere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Vaihere

Property: Fare Vaihere
Address: Baie d'Opunohu | Papetoai, 98729, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Moorea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fare Vaihere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Fare Vaihere in Moorea, French Polynesia : the quietude and the beauty of the location brings to the pension Fare Vaihere a resting and warm atmosphere in a preserved environment. The pleasant ambiance, around the four Polynesian style bungalows located in a flowered garden along the lagoon, will help you to relax. Imagine you just get up and enjoy the view of a lagoon so flat that there is no other way than jumping in, to meet colored fish, turtles or rays. Then it's time to go for breakfast, and later for your Atv or whales watching tour or scuba diving course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fare Vaihere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fare Vaihere Moorea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing