We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a peaceful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights on Moorea and 3 nights in Papeete. We wished we had taken the ferry straight out to Moorea and stayed the 10nights at Le Tipaniers. Location is the best on the island a lovely beach and Petit Village 1k down the road if you want supplys, we walked down most mornings and bought our water fresh baguettes cheeses pâté fruit etc. When we arrived we were in a vanilla bungalow which was not what we had expected, although nice it was big it can sleep 8, we had thought we had booked by the beach front, the staff were very accommodating and half way through our stay we were moved to the beach front. Le Tipaniers has a nice restaurant and also a snack bar on the beach front that stays open until 7 so you can have a drink and nibbles and watch the sun set. We liked LeTipaniers because it is small and nice and peaceful (except for the roosters but you get used to them as they are everywhere in Tahiti) the staff are lovely and friendly and understand English, it has a lovely sheltered beach and you can walk out around the coral and see all the tropical fish without having to snokel. A highlight for us was hiring stand up paddle boards and paddling over the channel to where the tourist boats take people to feed the stingrays and reef sharks, an amazing experience watching them swim under the boards. Our holiday at Le Tipaniers has been the best holiday we have had, and we are already looking forward to returning to Le Tipaniers for our holiday next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

Timpaniers is very nicely priced, the staff are lovely and bilingual, and the location is great. All of the island is beautiful and just a 20 minute ferry ride from Tahiti Nui, the largest island in French Polynesia. The bungalows are right on the fantastic beach and the water is warm, azure and perfect. Many people were wind surfing. (They say in Tahiti that the sharks that they do have are not the type that ever attack humans, which is nice to know.) There is shopping a 10 minute walk away. The restaurant on property was also good.

Room Tip: I would ask to be in a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dianne34567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and though it's not a super fancy resort like same around, we found it to be a great value and would recommend it highly, especially if you're on a budget.

Staff is very friendly and will deliver your bags to your room. The bungalows are nice, though as others have noted not air conditioned. We didn't find it to be an issue though and slept fine with the screened windows open and the ceiling fan on. It's not that hot there. The bed was very comfortable and there's lots of good places to relax and plenty of space. The kitchenette is great and combined with free use of bicycles, you can easily ride to the nearby grocery store and grab your own food/drinks for breakfast and lunch. We brought duty free liquor and picked up mixers there as well. Saves you a ton in Tahiti. The bathroom was large, especially the shower, and worked out great for us.

The beach is nice, though a lot of the sand seems to have eroded away since some of the photos I've seen of it and it's not the best. As some mentioned there's some coral right off the beach and it doesn't get very deep right in front of the hotel, but it's a very nice level to just sit in the water.

The restaurants are pretty good with more reasonable prices than a lot of places but still not super cheap. The Tahitian vanilla ice cream is awesome!

The little motu right across the water looked cool, but the transport boat wasn't running and the water was a bit choppy when we kayaked over so we kayaked back.

Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed for 5 days in February 2013. While the individual cottages are adequate, pleasant and well-served with housekeeping, there were several major problems with this hotel. First, the cottages are not air conditioned so you must sleep with all windows open. BUT - the grounds are alive with chickens that include a healthy ration of roosters. Their incessant crowing, starting well before sunrise, is a cacophony and is very disruptive of sleep. It's third-world, really, in that respect.

Another disadvantage is the very shallow nature of the lagoon. Though warm and clear water, you can not get out to swimming depth without wading through reefs of coral. A partnering rental company offers paddle boards, kayaks and tours. We found the price/value ratio for a "snorkelling" tour very poor. It focused mainly on viewing and swimming with manta rays (of interest, but not environmentally sound, since they are attracted by the guide tearing apart small fish to bring them in) but with very few tropical fish. The price exceeded more effective tours at other resorts.

And, sadly, while the staff are friendly and very effective, the manager / owner is largely devoid of interpersonal skills, a grouch in this tropical paradise. We found another hotel, more upscale, air conditioned, better amenities, for just a few dollars more. This place needs to look at itself.

Bruce in Seattle

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at les tipaniers iti which is about 4 km from the original hotel/bungalows. It was so wonderfull to finally see a friendly and happy face in French polynesia that we decided to stay. Prices are reasonble compared to other places. We could use some sort of canoe for free and make use of the bar and beach although we were actually not staying on the property itself. Free wifi is a nice plus since places charge up to 1000 francs per hour (10 dollar).
It was very clean and also cleaned every day. Towels renewed every day if wanted.
Any question was answered as good as possible.
We would definetely go back there!! It made us feel being in paradise without being bankrupt.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VictorSamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed in the room garden view with fan. It was clean, but a little bit tired. The safe box and the mini fridge was a nice addition. I could buy beverages and leave in the mini fridge. The small beach was nice and it was short walk from Petit village, 10 minutes, where you can find a grocery store and some shops. The restaurant was nice and cozy and the food as well was nice and the price fair, in my opinion. The reception was very helpful to arrange tours and book transfer, but closed after 5 PM.

Room Tip: If you suffer with hot weather, prefer the bungalows with aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heka_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in December- 2 nights in a garden bungalow and 2 nights in a standard bungalow. As a couple (no children) we far preferred the standard bungalow which was much closer to the beach, had less Mosquitos (and cockerels in the morning!), and was cooler (fan directly over the bed!).
The location of this hotel is something else- right on a beautiful little beach with direct access to a huge, shallow lagoon perfect for snorkeling and for children. You can also rent kayaks and go out to the motus where there is even more incredible snorkeling- some of the best we've ever done - and a little restaurant (Coco Beach).
Staff were very nice and helpful. Roadside restaurant great for dinner. Beachside restaurant has the location and is ideal for a sundowner but the food is not so good.
Overall though we loved this relaxed hotel whose pricing is a breath of fresh air in a hugely overpriced tourist market.

Room Tip: go for a standard bungalow by the beach (room 12 was amazing!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldT297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moorea hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
721 reviews
6.8 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
5.8 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Pension Tarariki
Pension Tarariki
#10 of 13 in Moorea
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Temanoha
Village Temanoha
#1 of 1 in Cook's Bay
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Tipaniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Tipaniers

Address: Haapiti, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Moorea
Price Range: £104 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Tipaniers 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Les Tipaniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Tipaniers Moorea
Les Tipaniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing