We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Moorea is a gorgeous island and this hotel is in a lovely spot with a beach right on its doorstop. We stayed here for two nights and it was easy to get to by bus. It was a nice place to just vege out on the beach which had beautiful and calm waters and had plenty of activities nearby (scuba diving, board hiring, kite surfing etc). We have a baby so the beach was perfect for swimming with her and there was lots of shade and beach chairs to use. There is also a restaurant/cafe right on the beach where you can grab lunch or a simple sandwich and drinks but the breakfast is fairly costly for what you get. There is another restaurant towards the main road but we did not get to try it. There is a little shop about 10 min walk away if you prefer to pick up a few things. We stayed in the bungalow which had a little kitchnette. The bungalow was simple but clean and tidy. Good shower with plenty of hot water. No air con but it was cool enough if you left the windows open (fly screened). The staff members, including those in the beach restaurant were very friendly and helpful and spoke great english (if you need it!). Would recommend it.

Room Tip: There are bungalows right next to the beach. Not sure if you can request those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lu_rvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had dinner at the restaurant at the recommendation of the concierge at another hotel. The wait staff seemed to forget we existed. The food was very tuff and seemed like it had come from a freezer (Sword fish). This was our least favorite locations to have dinner since being on Moorea for over 5 days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LeeJay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Yes exactly what Kein said.
We had a fantastic family holiday with teenage children.
The bunlow with a kitchen was perfect for us. We had a beach fron bungalow, definately worth the upgrade as the views were just magic.
The use of the bikes was great as we could get our luch each day- french bread.
Tahiti doesn't have to be an expensive holiday destination and this place is certainly exceed our expectations. Sure there are the roosters but there are everwhere, even at the Hilton., so yes just enjoy it and take your ear plugs if you must and the people at the front deck were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A wonderful family/moderate budget hotel. The accommodations are straightforward, true to the web site pictures. The grounds are well kept, beautiful pier, with the best beach on the island. The beach bar restaurant has good quality reasonable price food and beverages, with prompt service. Jacque and the rest of the front desk are VERY helpful with information, scheduling, and handy hints. The attached restaurant has quite good food again at reasonable prices. Pleasant short walk to shopping at Le Petite Village. The hotel takes all major credit cards as does the restaurant/beach bar. The bank in "town" does not handle currency exchange and as most guide books say the ATM machines do not seem to like American credit cards. That said almost every store accepted AMEX or Visa.
Do listen for the chickens for your personal wake up call-have a sense of humor or bring some ear plugs. Definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin34862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Best place for kitesurfing. We stayed at this hotel 2 weeks, they have bungalows and also 4 rooms.
Was good price we got, nice staff, and good beach restaurant. At night they have also a restaurant, food was there better than in other local restaurants close by. Good for diving, or see sharks, rays, right there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pascalsuerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Les Tipaniers is conveniently located to a dozen or so restaurants and is on its own stretch of beach with direct access to a kiteboarding, snorkeling, kayaking and diving facilities. The rooms are spacious and great value for couples and families alike. The reason I wouldn't stay there again? The management staff are the unhappiest people on this island paradise. They seem to disdain their jobs and make no effort to welcome you to Moorea, or even deal with your complaints. When I had my bikini top taken from the clothesline outside my room, Jacques made no effort to look into the issue--he muttered that he'd let me know if it turned up and couldn't even be bothered to act like he cared. Another time, we asked for a recommendation for ma'a tahiti (the French Polynesian version of a luau) and were begrudgingly told about a place down the road that "only the locals would be able to find," as opposed to their own restaurant, which was conveniently located on property. For the record, Chez Gerard is well signed and extremely easy to find and is just a few kilometers down the road. Also, the food at the restaurants here is incredibly average, despite the many great reviews that the owners must've paid off to get. They also weed whacked outside our room at 8 AM in the morning, clearly having no consideration for their hotel guests. There are a lot of good reasons to stay at Les Tips, but it wasn't worth the bad taste it left in my mouth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveprufrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights on Moorea and 3 nights in Papeete. We wished we had taken the ferry straight out to Moorea and stayed the 10nights at Le Tipaniers. Location is the best on the island a lovely beach and Petit Village 1k down the road if you want supplys, we walked down most mornings and bought our water fresh baguettes cheeses pâté fruit etc. When we arrived we were in a vanilla bungalow which was not what we had expected, although nice it was big it can sleep 8, we had thought we had booked by the beach front, the staff were very accommodating and half way through our stay we were moved to the beach front. Le Tipaniers has a nice restaurant and also a snack bar on the beach front that stays open until 7 so you can have a drink and nibbles and watch the sun set. We liked LeTipaniers because it is small and nice and peaceful (except for the roosters but you get used to them as they are everywhere in Tahiti) the staff are lovely and friendly and understand English, it has a lovely sheltered beach and you can walk out around the coral and see all the tropical fish without having to snokel. A highlight for us was hiring stand up paddle boards and paddling over the channel to where the tourist boats take people to feed the stingrays and reef sharks, an amazing experience watching them swim under the boards. Our holiday at Le Tipaniers has been the best holiday we have had, and we are already looking forward to returning to Le Tipaniers for our holiday next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moorea hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
727 reviews
6.8 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
5.8 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
124 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pension Tarariki
Pension Tarariki
#10 of 13 in Moorea
39 reviews
9.3 mi away
Green Lodge
Green Lodge
#8 of 13 in Moorea
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Tipaniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Tipaniers

Address: Haapiti, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Moorea
Price Range: £104 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Tipaniers 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Les Tipaniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Tipaniers Moorea
Les Tipaniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing