We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Belvedere Lookout

Belvedere Lookout
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.44*
and up
Moorea Three Coconuts Trail Guided Hike
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overlooking the panoramic Opunohu Valley and Cook and Opunohu Bays, this spectacular scenic overlook was the setting in the popular film, "Return of the Bounty."
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a great way to see the layout of the island of Mo'orea. Unfortunately it was a cloudy day and we had a little bit of sprinkling going on. We could see the cruise ships below.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2oldtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    247
    40
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nakusp, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

By car or foot (or run), great views of both bays and mountains. The hill is steep, but the reward is at the top.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was a fantastic view of the 2 bays, definitely worth the drive up. This is one thing you must do on Moorea. But for a view just as good, or maybe even better, go check out the Magic Mountain lookout. You can't get there by car, but if you can it is worth it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank frank3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We saw this as a part of out your with Alberts. Tom was our guide and he was marvelous! Has grown up there and has seen filming of movies, how land gas changed and will share history of islanders and his family.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyGreen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“On a clear day, I'm sure it's fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

As the title states, I bet it's a fantastic view during clear weather...
Unfortunately the day my wife and I visited, we had lots of rain and cloud. It didn't dampen our day however....We could see the two bays, but the fantastic colours that French Polynesia is renown for just weren't there for us.
Still, I believe this a must visit should you be renting a vehicle. It is a steep and curvy climb, but worth it, and there are 2 historical sites of interest on the climb to visit should you be inclined to view a little past history....
Enjoy your stay in Moorea!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BaldCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belvedere Lookout also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 
Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Belvedere Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing