We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable enough...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coldfoot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coldfoot Camp - Slate Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Coldfoot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Being in Coldfoot was fun, if only for the many people coming and going. The Slate Creek Inn is nothing special, but I don't think people come here to sit in their room. The rooms are small, but there's a bathroom & shower, and a bed. I didn't need more than that. Interesting is that there's a faux bar, designed as a set for "Ice Road Truckers". The common room was also nothing special, but comfortable enough. I stayed here as the last part of a tour, having been to Barrow & Pruhoe Bay.

The Coldfoot Camp area has a restaurant, a buffet that was always running out of things, but food was tasty. There's also a post office, gift shop, and a National Park Visitor's center. The ambiance was pleasant, and I enjoyed my brief stay very much. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Coldfoot is sort of a stepping off place for campers, hikers and the like; very close proximity to Gates of the Arctic Nat'l Park, and close to Wiseman, AK, which is worth a look.

Room Tip: Most rooms have small twin beds.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coolmoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Coldfoot Camp - Slate Creek Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

If you make it as far north as Coldfoot surely luxury is the furthest thing on your mind? My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in April, 2013 and had a blast. Yes the accommodation is very basic, but given the absolute beauty of the area, its people and the northen lights, its worth the effort. Each room comes equipped with a small bathroom (an addition demanded by the cruise line that makes use of the Inn). There is a TV room and single telephone available for those wanting to keep in touch with the outside world. Remember - no cell coverage this far north. The food in the restaurant is basic but good (portion sizes are huge) and there are a variety of wines and beers. There is a great walking trail along a road just outside the accommodation abd through a staging yard used by miners to set up equipment. Would I go again? Yep in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Try to get a room a little away from the entrance/phone/TV room as voices tend to carry for the firs...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Trekker_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

As many have indicated, this is not the Ritz. But if you want to experience Arctic Alaska and the community of truckers that drive up and down the "haul road" (aka Dalton Highway), this is the place to go. We spent two nights there and while the room is quite basic, the whole experience was amazing. Dave was the best guide we could have had and really made our experience what it was. All of the staff went above and beyond, but we spent the most time with him. He even drove us back to Fairbanks when a snowstorm grounded the plane that was supposed to come get us. The driving was hairy, but we were in great hands. If you go there you HAVE to take advantage of all that is offered. Ride a dogsled, go to Wiseman for the Aurora (and hopefully you will have a chance to visit with Jack - a longtime resident of Wiseman and about the most interesting man you will meet). Take the tour up the Dalton to Atigun Pass. Oh, and eat the Tator Tots at the Trucker's Cafe - it will bring back memories of childhood!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank counselme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We went to see the northern lights. The Inn was as advertised. The room was clean, comfortable, and most important......warm. The staff at the Inn and the Coldfoot truck stop/restaurant were very nice. They never let us know if they tired of our endless questions about life in northern Alaska.
The food at the restaurant was excellent. The prices were a little on the high side but not unreasonable considering what it takes to get it there.
The scenery was beautiful. We enjoyed the trip to see the lights from Wiseman. One of our favorite parts of the trip was the dog sled ride. Just walking around the area was an experience.
Weather blocked the lights but we did see them from Fairbanks on this trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

this was our stop for the night on our way to prudeau Bay.
The rooms might be a bit sparse but the food for all our meals was great lots of fresh vegetaables and stuff
They packed our picnic lunch for the stop later inteh day and everything was great.There a great visitor cents walking distance great speaker and a great place ina the middle of no where.
The room we had was clean.
The staff all friendly and helpful.
Do not go expecting a 4 star hotel, but remeber what part of the country yu are in and enjoy the beauty no mater what time of the year yu are there

Room Tip: any one is good
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruzzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We went knowing it wasn't going to be a Hilton or even a Motel 8. But we wanted to see the northern lights and that we did! We saw amazing lights while there.
The rooms left much to be desired and they could with out much trouble fix them up. Even a coat of paint would help and fixing broken bathroom doorknobs. But we didn't go to be pampered. We end looking for Aurora's.
The staff was very kind and always working hard to please. You could tell they loved where they were and wanted to share that love with others.
The food was outstanding but was way over priced.
There was no internet for visitors. I would be nice if at least they had some place where you could log in to check the weather or the Aurora forcasts.
Would I go back? Yes in a heart beat I would!

Room Tip: Don't go expecting a nice hotel. Take snack along so you can skip an over priced meal or 2. Go...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Djlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We made our third trip to Coldfoot Camp to hunt Auroras (Northern Lights) with great success this month (February 2013).

The first thing to know is that this place was built to support the builders of the Alaskan Pipeline and the Dalton Highway. It is NOT meant to be a vacation place. Do not expect luxury.

For that matter, you won't have cell phone coverage (there is a pay phone) and there is not internet available at all. There is a TV in the bar and in the 'common' room in the lodging building.

What you do get is a room with a couple of twin beds, a private shower, sink and toilet.

The beds are reasonably comfortable and there are enough blankets.

The shower is not huge, but the water pressure is great and you can have it as hot and long as you want.

The rooms are well heated, which is quite important. On this last trip, it actually reached zero (Fahrenheit) for a couple of hours one day. Most days were -10 to -20 during the day and as low as -28 (that we observed) at night. On a previous trip in November 2011, it was down to -40 one day during the day and much colder at night.

The cafe and bar provide good food and good enough beer (nothing on tap). The serving sizes are quite plentiful and the food is well prepared. They do some of the best french fries around (anywhere). The menu is not large. (Everything comes in by truck from 250 miles away at Fairbanks.)

Everyone working there is highly motivated to keep you happy. If there are any problems with your room (heating, for instance), they work quickly to fix it and serve you with a smile and great attitude.

It is about the best place in North America to see Auroras. When they are active, they appear almost directly over Coldfoot Camp. The only source of light polution is Coldfoot Camp itself and it doesn't really hurt the viewing and photographing.

I gave it an excellent rating on location because it is the best place for the only reason a tourist would go there - to see the Auroras.

If you go during the winter, remember to bring lots of layers to keep warm and to block the wind. And bring boots, because there will be snow.

Going during the summer to see Auroras is not recommended. One of the requirements to see them is a dark sky. Since Coldfoot Camp is 60 miles above the Arctic Circle, there is no dark in the middle of the summer at all, and very little around the edges. Starting about late September and ending about late March is the time frame you would want to go for Aurora hunting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Coldfoot Camp - Slate Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coldfoot Camp - Slate Creek Inn

Address: Mile 175, Dalton Hwy, Coldfoot, AK 99708
Region: United States > Alaska > Coldfoot
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Coldfoot
Price Range: £122 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 133
Also Known As:
Slate Creek Inn Coldfoot Camp Hotel Coldfoot
Coldfoot Camp - Slate Creek Inn Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing