We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“genuine island paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atiu Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atiu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atiu Homestay
Ranked #1 of 2 Atiu B&B and Inns
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“genuine island paradise”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay with Marshall!
Atiu is truely a unique place and just a fanatatic place to completely forget about the normal stresses of life. The tours and fantastic and incredibly informative. Marshall is the perfect host and will do whatever he can to make your stay comfortable.
I would recommend atiu and the homestay to anyone who wants a real island experience!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nz
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Rather late reporting back about our very memorable stay on Atiu at Marshall's B&B in early August. It was great to see all the places of interest on the island with such a knowledgeable guide and also such a good host. (Unfortunately we did not get to meet Jeanne) A special curry meal was prepared for John's birthday by Marshall and much appreciated. He never tired of answering all our questions and even persuaded me to go right into the cave to see the Kopeka nests etc. All in all, a top place to stay on a real Pacific Island. And did I mention the best bananas ever?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Spent a wonderful week on Atiu at Marshall's very comfortable home. Not only was he a charming host and guide, he was also very informative and this made the tours I went on with him so interesting. He also prepared all the delicious meals and certainly has a flair for presentation. What a talented man! Pawpaw for breakfast, bananas by the 100, what more can one ask for! Jeanne his lovely wife is an artist and has many of her paintings displayed on the walls. A very warm welcoming couple. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: I was very happy with my room, the first one on the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent four nights on Atiu and it wasn't enough. Staying with Marshall each night was dinner party night. He is the perfect host and a most interesting person. We saw lots of the fabulous kopeka, the Atiu swiftlet, went swimming in the cave, did an excellent island tour, hung out on Friday night, and saw a whale and her calf from the beach. We learned so much. Don't bother with Rarotonga, just go to Atiu and you will be in true paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just come back from 5 nights at Marshall's lovely home on Atiu. There is no better place to stay. He was a great host and we enjoyed his tours of the island and his wonderful food. Pawpaw to die for. We managed to see most of the birds and enjoyed the warmth after the cold winter in NZ. The people were very friendly. A highly recommended destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrineholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Perfect to stay at your guides house. Marshall took very good care of us and it's the perfect way to stay if you are interested to learn about the Island and nature. In the garden there grove several fruits and you could out and pick them. We had also the opportunity to visit a local tumo and share a drink with the guys there,awesome. The best trip wíth marshall was the trip to the birdcave, where we saw the Atiu swiftlet and then coud take a swim down in Another part o of the Cave. Difficult walk and climbs but Worth every moment of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Well where do we start!! We had the priviledge of enjoying Marshall's warm hospitality when we stayed with him for 5 nights in the second week of October 2012. Marshall was the perfect host, providing a very well kept residence with that home away from home feeling about it. Nothing was too much trouble and his knowledge about island life was invaluable. He conducts various island tours which are well organised and highly informative at a very reasonable price. His home cooked meals are sumptuous and recommendations on what to do and see while on Atiu are well worth while. If you want very reasonably priced accommodation, in a lovely location with a brilliant host look no further. Our only regret was that we didn't get to meet Jeanne (Marshall's wife) as she was on Rarotonga at the time attending to babysitting duties! We hope you enjoyed the Pimms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atiu
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,076 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atiu Villas
Atiu Villas
#1 of 3 in Atiu
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
878 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atiu Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atiu Homestay

Property: Atiu Homestay
Address: P.O. Box 14 | Areoa, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Atiu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Atiu
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing